Search

Best seat on A380 (Y)

Search this Thread

Old Sep 7, 2013, 11:20 am
Original Poster

Programs: VA Silver, IHG Platinum
Best seat on A380 (Y)

Hi

I just book a flight with miles in a short hop from BKK-HKG-BKK. However I would like some idea about which seat is best in Y class as this is my first time on this aircraft.

Thanks
Old Sep 7, 2013, 2:23 pm

Programs: EK, BA, EY, SQ, IHG, HH, SPG
Best seat on A380 (Y)

Bulk head 41/43 c depending on the aircraft or G or 67 also bulk head would be my choice. I prefer 41/43 although some might not like too many people. Gathering at front during flight.
Old Sep 9, 2013, 3:41 am

Programs: EK Plat, HHonors Gold
Try 68 A/K or 81A/K - oodles of legroom as no seat in front.
Old Sep 9, 2013, 6:47 am

Programs: EK Skywards silver Miles and Smiles Hilton Honours Hyatt Priority Club Kestrel A
Originally Posted by jackiedada
Try 68 A/K or 81A/K - oodles of legroom as no seat in front.
Everyone says this but every time I've tried to prebook them they are blocked?
Old Sep 9, 2013, 6:49 am

Originally Posted by daisymay2
Everyone says this but every time I've tried to prebook them they are blocked?
Marked as exit row seats. Go to the airport early and grab them...
Old Sep 9, 2013, 7:05 am

Programs: EK Skywards silver Miles and Smiles Hilton Honours Hyatt Priority Club Kestrel A
Thanks!
Old Sep 9, 2013, 12:47 pm

"Early" as in 3 hours +- I have managed to snag these seats on several occasions but you have to be there very early. On DXB transfers go to the transfer desk upon arrival and get it assigned if you are +-3h to next flight. Anything less you chances are slim.

I have had both 68A and 81A and to be honest you want to to aim for row 68 (A or K) as there are only bathrooms ahead, in row 81 the galley is ahead and can be very noisy on an overnight flight.

Also...the check in agent has to call the controller to get these seats released as they are not available for general release at check in.

Good luck!