Silver status check in

Old Jun 2, 12, 9:49 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Nottingham, UK
Programs: HHonors - Diamond, AA - EXP
Posts: 150
Silver status check in

Can silver use the business class check in desks when flying Y? BHX - SIN via DXB of course, later today.
robofski is offline  
Old Jun 2, 12, 9:52 am
  #2  
y2s
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mumbai, India and Bloomington, IN
Programs: Skywards Silver, AF Flying Blue Silver, JP Blue Plus
Posts: 26
Yes you can.
y2s is offline  
Old Jun 2, 12, 9:54 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Nottingham, UK
Programs: HHonors - Diamond, AA - EXP
Posts: 150
Smile

Thank you for the super quick reply! At least that's one queue that should be shorter!
robofski is offline  
Old Jun 2, 12, 11:05 am
  #4  
y2s
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mumbai, India and Bloomington, IN
Programs: Skywards Silver, AF Flying Blue Silver, JP Blue Plus
Posts: 26
No Problem, You will also benefit from priority boarding and lounge access at gate 122 in DXB.
y2s is offline  
Old Jun 2, 12, 11:53 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Exile
Posts: 14,862
It depends if there is a separate counter for Skywards Elite members. A number of stations have gone the horrid way of combining Online Checkin with Skywards Gold/Silver and thus denying access to the Business Class desks for the Skywards Elites. If there is no separate counter, you can use the Business Class desks, otherwise you must use the designated counter.
B747-437B is offline  
Old Jun 2, 12, 2:49 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SFO
Programs: Marriott Ambassador, Skywards Platinum
Posts: 3,043
Originally Posted by B747-437B View Post
It depends if there is a separate counter for Skywards Elite members. A number of stations have gone the horrid way of combining Online Checkin with Skywards Gold/Silver and thus denying access to the Business Class desks for the Skywards Elites. If there is no separate counter, you can use the Business Class desks, otherwise you must use the designated counter.
I think if someone is travelling from anywhere should have a printout of this page.

http://www.skywards.com/standardpopu...ource=Standard

It clearly says that anywhere except for DXB the elite member can use the business class line.
LovetoTravel83 is offline  
Old Jun 2, 12, 3:13 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Exile
Posts: 14,862
Originally Posted by LovetoTravel83 View Post
I think if someone is travelling from anywhere should have a printout of this page.


Do you really think that some security goon in Guangzhou or Istanbul or Accra cares what printout you are carrying? You go where you are told.
B747-437B is offline  
Old Jun 2, 12, 10:56 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Nottingham, UK
Programs: HHonors - Diamond, AA - EXP
Posts: 150
Originally Posted by B747-437B View Post
It depends if there is a separate counter for Skywards Elite members. A number of stations have gone the horrid way of combining Online Checkin with Skywards Gold/Silver and thus denying access to the Business Class desks for the Skywards Elites. If there is no separate counter, you can use the Business Class desks, otherwise you must use the designated counter.
For the record BHX has desks for:
Business and Gold
Online and Silver
Everyone else

Considering it was a full to the brim flight and I turned up 2 hours before departure it was a breeze, no queue at online/silver.

Now sat in the lounge at gate 122 using the slowest Internet connection ever, but the G&T at 8am is going down well!
robofski is offline  
Old Jun 2, 12, 11:16 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SFO
Programs: Marriott Ambassador, Skywards Platinum
Posts: 3,043
Originally Posted by B747-437B View Post


Do you really think that some security goon in Guangzhou or Istanbul or Accra cares what printout you are carrying? You go where you are told.
Never been to one of those places so can't comment, although I would've give it a little push.
LovetoTravel83 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: