Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Emirates | Skywards
Reload this Page >

Making the most of Skywards as a new occasional SkySaver Flyer

Old Jan 23, 12, 12:57 am
Original Poster

Programs: UA Gold / *A Gold

I just joined and booked my first flight on EK, as the airfare was 50% cheaper than *A and 40% less than SkyTeam, which I have silver Status for both. I pretty much giving up any chance to make *A Gold this year to book my cheap EK flight, a worthwhile trade to save $ 600 on this booking alone.

While this is my first time on EK, I imagine I'll only be flying EK again when they are markedly cheaper than *A or Skyteam, so I'd say their is only a small chance I'll make silver, and a very small chance I'll ever be gold. Given this situation, I want to get the most out of EK and Skywards. Sure, I read plenty of complaints about limitations on reward flights, esp. on partner airlines, by long time EQ flyers, but I figure I'd seek advise early on, not just a few months before miles expire.

While in the past, I have been loyal to *A (mostly Continental) and SkyTeam (mostly Delta), as they have a lot of options between New York and Beijing (my most common itinerary). Being self-employed, I have a lot of flexibility on when to fly, so I book the cheapest I can find many months in advance, as any money saved on airfare helps fattens my wallet. Other than OP upgrades, I never sit in business or F, as I can't justify paying so much money for a few hour of added comfort. The most important perks for me is a better chance for an aisle seat, bigger luggage allowances, and being able to check in with business and F customers. The lounge is not a big deal. I want to save money, with the only "pampering" truely sought after is an aisle seat, ideally one with more leg room. Sometimes the US based carriers make me pay $ 130 or so for that on a long haul flights to avoid a middle seat.