Aggravation with the EK booking...

Old Jan 16, 12, 10:23 am
Original Poster

Programs: Skywards Platinum
Aggravation with the EK booking...

This is my first year flying Emirates and so far I have really enjoyed it (then again I have only flown F). I am on track to rack up over 350,000 tier miles in the next 6 months.

The online, and subsequently offline, booking of tickets has been an extremely aggravating process. All went fine for a few weeks while I was able to book around $50k worth of tickets. Then, all of a sudden one day the online site declined my credit card. I called AMEX to find out why and they told me that they hadn't declined anything. I proceeded to try several of my other credit cards and everything was being denied, even though none of my banks were denying any charges. Finally I call Emirates and they are able to manually put through two bookings, but then they also get a denial after that. They then proceed to tell me that after 3 denials in a 24 hour period I must wait 24 hours for the system to unblock my account.

Of course, this is puzzling as none of my credit cards have been declined from any of my banks. 24 hours later I try more bookings, the first goes through, the second gets denied. I call Emirates again and they are able to charge the 2nd one, but any further attempts fail. This goes on for over a week, with me trying the same thing every day.

One thing to note is that this all started happening when the new fare sale came out in late December, and I was buying lots of tickets to take advantage of it. I emailed Skywards and also the customer affairs at Emirates about this credit card issue back around December 30th, asking them to look into it and find out what is going on. It is over 2 weeks later now and I have not received a single response.