Skymiles excessive!!

Old Sep 18, 09, 9:01 am
Original Poster

Skymiles excessive!!

I'm fairly new to the frenquent flyer program. Last time I used my miles (2 yrs ago) it cost 30,000 to go Jamacia. At that time I believe it was a set amount for flights .. U.S .. international .. Today I went to there site and it had a "NEW" way of booking with Low, Med, & High on a calander with miles that vary. I tried to book a trip to Jamacia from Michigan I clicked on the med for both outbound and return, result 100,000 miles for ONE round trip ticket!!!! I thought I did something wrong and tried again, same result!! Needless to say I could not believe the amount of miles they are requiring. Does this seem right?? If so I will be cutting my skymiles card up into little pieces!!
Old Sep 18, 09, 10:25 am

Please follow this thread over at SkyMiles.
Old Sep 18, 09, 10:29 am
fti
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Lots of programs, dirt on all of them!
Welcome to Flyer Talk and welcome to the "new" Delta. Unfortunately seeing is believing and it has been discussed a lot on this forum - just take 5 minutes to glance at the first few pages of the forum.

Originally Posted by tntnardo View Post
Does this seem right?? If so I will be cutting my skymiles card up into little pieces!!
That is what a lot of people have been doing - defecting to other airlines.

John
Old Sep 18, 09, 10:30 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: DL PM, HH Diamond, Fairmont Prem, SPG Gold, Priority Club Plat/IC Amb, AmEx Plat
Welcome to FT.

Yes, this is how Delta has setup the SkyMiles program. It is different from what you experienced years ago. I must say though, DL also gives out miles like it is candy so it is easier to accumulate more miles.
Old Sep 18, 09, 10:30 am
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Location: Watchlisted by the prejudiced, en route to purgatory
Programs: Just Say No to Fleecing and Blacklisting
Originally Posted by tntnardo View Post