In flight video on DELTA 747 ATL-NRT

 
Old Sep 17, 09, 3:56 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 52
In flight video on DELTA 747 ATL-NRT

I was curious if the Delta 747 from ATL to NRT has individual TVs. It says on Seat guru that they do, BUT the NW 747 never had individual TVs, only the overhead. I was not sure if Delta refurbed them??

thanks
adamfrey is offline  
Old Sep 17, 09, 4:00 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: I don't know
Programs: Marriott Ambassador, UA Premier
Posts: 14,400
BusinessElite has PTVs, coach has overhead monitors.

The interiors are the same as the Northwest ones, and the flights still are operated by Northwest (even though they might have a DL paint scheme; which, given that less than half of the 747s have a DL paint scheme, you could well be on a NW-painted 747 to Tokyo).
mersk862 is offline  
Old Sep 17, 09, 4:02 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Programs: Delta, Hyatt-Plat, Priority Club-Plat, Hilton-Gold
Posts: 1,230
Business Elite, yes....Coach, no, just big projector screens on the bulkheads.
DiscoPapa is offline  
Old Sep 17, 09, 7:58 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
And the quality is very bad, like watching old time movies from betamax tape videos, blurry and old looking screen.

Bring your own video player, from ATL-NRT, NRT-ATL, you will get the worse possible airplane in the world for entertainment (and no priorities for babies!).
cozabayan is offline  
Old Sep 18, 09, 12:16 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Programs: American Airlines AAdvantage, Rapids Reward
Posts: 33,922
Originally Posted by cozabayan View Post
And the quality is very bad, like watching old time movies from betamax tape videos, blurry and old looking screen.

Bring your own video player, from ATL-NRT, NRT-ATL, you will get the worse possible airplane in the world for entertainment (and no priorities for babies!).
Yeah, they will able to bring the DVD players along with them. Once he will entrance into security checkpoint. All electronics device must come off from carryon to put in the bins to separately the x-ray equipment.
N830MH is offline  
Old Sep 20, 09, 1:37 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Programs: DL SkyMiles, RCCL CAS D+, B6 TrueBlue, VX eleVAte, HHonors, SPG, AAdvantage, andAS MilagePlan.
Posts: 987
Originally Posted by cozabayan View Post
And the quality is very bad, like watching old time movies from betamax tape videos, blurry and old looking screen.

Bring your own video player, from ATL-NRT, NRT-ATL, you will get the worse possible airplane in the world for entertainment (and no priorities for babies!).

Of course their the worse possible airplane in the world for entertainment, they came from Northwest.

To the OP:
If you do bring your own DVD player or laptop, also bring some extra batteries... it's a long flight. There's no outlets in Coach.
SkaterJasp is offline  
Old Sep 20, 09, 7:59 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Uncertain
Programs: Korean Air, Lufthansa M&M, SPG ,United Mileage Plus
Posts: 905
theres a fix for that.. when people are sleeping or theres very thin lines at the bathroom, sit in there and plug in to one of the outlets in the lav. and sit in there a while until its charged.... I've done that before on LH A343's or B744's enroute to Europe in the past.

Originally Posted by SkaterJasp View Post
Of course their the worse possible airplane in the world for entertainment, they came from Northwest.

To the OP:
If you do bring your own DVD player or laptop, also bring some extra batteries... it's a long flight. There's no outlets in Coach.
BIMMERKID2 is offline  
Old Sep 20, 09, 10:14 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: KCMH
Programs: Worldperks & Skymiles
Posts: 50
Originally Posted by BIMMERKID2 View Post
theres a fix for that.. when people are sleeping or theres very thin lines at the bathroom, sit in there and plug in to one of the outlets in the lav. and sit in there a while until its charged.... I've done that before on LH A343's or B744's enroute to Europe in the past.
You owe me a new keyboard I just spit soda all over it laughing at that. Now thats classic funny right there.
kcmh is offline  
Old Sep 20, 09, 10:26 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Uncertain
Programs: Korean Air, Lufthansa M&M, SPG ,United Mileage Plus
Posts: 905
Do I? Hey, it gets the job done.. However,once I had an LH F/a knock on the door and wondering if i was ok since she noticed the door locked for over 25-30 min.... and i said back.. nah i fell in
then she was like you need help? I then replied.. no... I'm charging my Laptop and then i heard her laugh and then she walked off.



Originally Posted by kcmh View Post
You owe me a new keyboard I just spit soda all over it laughing at that. Now thats classic funny right there.
BIMMERKID2 is offline  
Old Sep 20, 09, 3:58 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Programs: NW, UA
Posts: 918
Originally Posted by BIMMERKID2 View Post
theres a fix for that.. when people are sleeping or theres very thin lines at the bathroom, sit in there and plug in to one of the outlets in the lav. and sit in there a while until its charged.... I've done that before on LH A343's or B744's enroute to Europe in the past.
please don't do that.. it's inconsiderate and the lavatories aren't there for that function. if more people did this, it'd create a problem. it's immature, selfish and not funny at all.
worldexpress is offline  
Old Sep 20, 09, 4:07 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Programs: DL 1 million, AA 1 mil, HH lapsed Diamond, Marriott Plat
Posts: 28,174
Originally Posted by adamfrey View Post
I was curious if the Delta 747 from ATL to NRT has individual TVs. It says on Seat guru that they do...
The SeatGuru entries for the 747-400 under both DL and NW are correct: they DO NOT claim PTV in coach. So, it's been corrected or the OP had it wrong from the start.
3Cforme is offline  
Old Sep 20, 09, 4:20 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Programs: Delta, United, American
Posts: 195
Originally Posted by BIMMERKID2 View Post
theres a fix for that.. when people are sleeping or theres very thin lines at the bathroom, sit in there and plug in to one of the outlets in the lav. and sit in there a while until its charged.... I've done that before on LH A343's or B744's enroute to Europe in the past.
Um, no... really... No, wait... No... really... No.

How unglamorous is that? I sat on the bathroom for 2 hours on my flight today.

I agree, very funny.
clintonuws is offline  
Old Sep 20, 09, 4:34 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: CMH/CVG
Programs: DL
Posts: 484
Originally Posted by worldexpress View Post
please don't do that.. it's inconsiderate and the lavatories aren't there for that function. if more people did this, it'd create a problem. it's immature, selfish and not funny at all.
I think it's smart and very funny. I mean if someone really needed to get in there is more than one bathroom.
griffey3032 is offline  
Old Sep 20, 09, 4:50 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Enn Why Cee
Programs: DL, CO, LH, BA etc...
Posts: 1,549
there are also some standard US outlets at the floor level by the emergency exit on the 777 (at least on BA's fleet). BA did not have in-seat power so it was a bit of a god-send.

However, I was scolded for using the 'emergency only power port' (?!) but complied nonetheless...

i am not sure if the other 7x7s have it, and there may be a sliding panel over it... but could be worth a shot...
goodandclassy is offline  
Old Sep 20, 09, 4:56 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: AUS
Programs: AA Exec Platinum/MM, DL Silver/MM, Hilton Diamond, Hertz 5* Gold
Posts: 5,793
Originally Posted by BIMMERKID2 View Post
theres a fix for that.. when people are sleeping or theres very thin lines at the bathroom, sit in there and plug in to one of the outlets in the lav. and sit in there a while until its charged.... I've done that before on LH A343's or B744's enroute to Europe in the past.
Also, you would probably have more legroom than your Y seat on the DL 747, and it wouldn't be that much harder on your rear end.
Stripe is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread