ATL-LAX on NOV 29; 7 BE Aircraft. 3 777s, 2 764, 2 763.

Old Sep 16, 09, 11:28 am
Original Poster

Programs: DL DM MM, BIS 2.1MM, EK Gold, SQ Silver, Marriott Gold, HH Gold,
ATL-LAX on NOV 29; 7 BE Aircraft. 3 777s, 2 764, 2 763.

I was looking over some schedules today and noticed that on November 29th, for ATL-LAX (not LAX-ATL), almost every single aircraft on that day has been switched to one with BE . On this day, there are 3 777's (2 LR's, 1 ER), 2 767-400ER's with the new seats, and 2 767-300ER's. I assume this has something to do with coping with the weekend-after-thanksgiving demand, but I cannot ever remember seeing such wide(r)-body presence on this route, and I have been flying it once or twice a week for 3 years.

Last edited by DLATL777; Sep 16, 09 at 2:57 pm
Old Sep 16, 09, 11:31 am

IIRC Sunday initially is scheduled as the day that the GRU 763 was to go back to JFK. They may be sending it back to ATL instead.

Another point, the domestic 767's have been getting parked more & more often so routes like this that require heavy lift will have intl birds going on them because the domestic options aren't there.
Old Sep 16, 09, 2:57 pm
Original Poster

Programs: DL DM MM, BIS 2.1MM, EK Gold, SQ Silver, Marriott Gold, HH Gold,
Originally Posted by WBurcham View Post
IIRC Sunday initially is scheduled as the day that the GRU 763 was to go back to JFK. They may be sending it back to ATL instead.

Another point, the domestic 767's have been getting parked more & more often so routes like this that require heavy lift will have intl birds going on them because the domestic options aren't there.
While this may be true, every single aircraft I reported above is literally traveling ATL-LAX; I did not even look at LAX-ATL.