AIrshow Map Delta

 

Old Dec 7, 07, 1:48 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Traveling the World
Posts: 5,026
AIrshow Map Delta

Will I see Airshow on my MD 90 and Boeing 737-800 flights? Does Delta use the standard Airshow like on international flights. Do they add advertising in between the maps? Also is there something different about Delta's AIrshow map? Where can I find the seatrmap where video monitors are located? I cannot seem to find it If I an in seat 23A on a MD 90 and 25 A on the 737-800 can I see the video monitor?
danielonn is offline  
Old Dec 7, 07, 7:00 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Madison, NJ
Programs: DL PM, Marriot Gold, SPG Gold, Hyatt Platinum
Posts: 2,548
I have not seen air show on the 737's or MD-88's on DL. In fact, a very limited airshow is on the 757 transcons now in which there is no maps but just speed, time to destination and head wind. In fact, it hasn't worked on my last couple of flights correctly. So, I think your chances are slim. Plus I thought the MD-88's had no IFE system of anykind... not even drop down tv monitors like the 737's have.
GoCanes is offline  
Old Dec 7, 07, 7:26 am
  #3  
mk1
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Programs: KE Morning Calm
Posts: 296
I've seen the airshow on 737s before, but it was really hit or miss. Can't say about the MD-90 though.
mk1 is offline  
Old Dec 7, 07, 7:35 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere today, somewhere tomorrow!
Programs: Delta DM
Posts: 6,768
Some of the 738's have them, I could be wrong but the one's with the Winglets and the extra seats should be getting them in the seat back's.
iCorpRoadie is offline  
Old Dec 7, 07, 9:48 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Programs: Delta SkyMiles, WF GoFar Rewards
Posts: 1,591
On the 737-800s, it is generally hit or miss. Unlike on the domestic 767-400ERs, the Airshow feature must be turned on manually on the 737-800s, as the 737-800 IFE system is a Panasonic/MAS system, not a Rockwell Collins system like on the domestic 767-400ERs.

However, the new Panasonic eFX AVOD system features a similar feature known as iXPLOR that is integrated into the system.
Delta 764 is offline  
Old Dec 7, 07, 1:15 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: ORD/NYC
Programs: AS MVP 75K; UA Plat MM; Hyatt Globalist; Starwood, Marriott, Hilton Gold.
Posts: 5,093
And it's the iXPLOR that is malfunctioning. There have been maps recently, but not route lines, and no indication of local times, time remaining, or anticipated arrival time.
Buster CT1K is offline  
Old Dec 7, 07, 3:23 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 212
.....

Last edited by underattack; Oct 20, 09 at 7:13 pm
underattack is offline  
Old Dec 7, 07, 3:34 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: IND
Programs: DL DM & 2MMô, Lifetime HHonors Diamond, Cholula General Member
Posts: 19,831
Originally Posted by underattack View Post
make your own map.. a small bluetooth GPS receiver in the overhead bin, and a laptop or handheld to plot the map is all that's needed. Sometimes it even works with the GPS receiver in checked luggage (on large planes, the BT usually doesn't reach to the front of the plane.. so overhead bin is safer)
How does the GPS receiver plan on getting a signal?
indufan is offline  
Old Dec 7, 07, 4:31 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Programs: DL DM MM, Marriott Plat, Hyatt Plat, IHG Spire Elite
Posts: 913
I'm kind of a nerd, but I always ask the FA's to turn the map on when it isn't on. On a flight from JFK-SLC on the 737-800, the movie and the TV programs ended, and they just turned the system off. We still had over an hour left on the flight so I asked them to turn it on. There should be a basic set of guidelines for when it's on, and if there is, the FA's don't follow it.

On the 737s, they can't show the airshow during take off because I've heard the drop down screens need to be up for take off and landing, but it should come on right after the wheels lift off of the ground, and turn off when the landing gear goes down (and of course for the movies). Although it's simple, and most people don't care, it's things like this that make Delta appear to have better planes than companies like Southwest.
DLmedalliongold is offline  
Old Sep 11, 08, 1:06 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Programs: Rapid Rewards/AAdvantage
Posts: 1,246
Gps

Originally Posted by underattack View Post
make your own map.. a small bluetooth GPS receiver in the overhead bin, and a laptop or handheld to plot the map is all that's needed. Sometimes it even works with the GPS receiver in checked luggage (on large planes, the BT usually doesn't reach to the front of the plane.. so overhead bin is safer)
Maybe I shouldn't dig up this old thread, but does Delta currently allow GPS to be used in flight?
john398 is offline  
Old Sep 11, 08, 8:06 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,688
Originally Posted by john398 View Post
Maybe I shouldn't dig up this old thread, but does Delta currently allow GPS to be used in flight?
Technically you can't use Bluetooth in flight because it's sending a signal. Of course, no one will likely know.
DaDaDan is offline  
Old Sep 11, 08, 9:04 pm
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Programs: American Airlines AAdvantage, Rapids Reward
Posts: 33,281
Originally Posted by danielonn View Post
Will I see Airshow on my MD 90 and Boeing 737-800 flights? Does Delta use the standard Airshow like on international flights. Do they add advertising in between the maps? Also is there something different about Delta's AIrshow map? Where can I find the seatrmap where video monitors are located? I cannot seem to find it If I an in seat 23A on a MD 90 and 25 A on the 737-800 can I see the video monitor?
No, there is no airshow moving map on MD90. I knows which aircraft are on the airshow moving map is 73W. 738, 73H, 757, 763, 763ER, 777, 764 aircraft. I knows which DL fleets is using the airshow moving map is 777, 764, 763ER. Otherwise, DL does not have airshow moving map on MD80s or MD90 series.
N830MH is offline  
Old Sep 11, 08, 9:10 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KDEN
Programs: WN CP & A-list, Marriott Silver
Posts: 98
Originally Posted by john398 View Post
Maybe I shouldn't dig up this old thread, but does Delta currently allow GPS to be used in flight?
Have done it many times myself. Love having an "all time record speed" on my Nuvi of 625 mph.

GPS can be used "...while the plane is at the gate with the doors open, after the plane has taken off and reached its cruising altitude and before it begins to descend for landing, and after the plane has landed and is taxiing to the gate."

http://www.delta.com/traveling_check....jsp#sometimes
V1-Vr-V2 is offline  
Old Sep 11, 08, 10:09 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Wayne, PA USA
Programs: DL MM, Marriott/SPG Lifetime Platinum Premier, HHonors Gold
Posts: 6,857
Sigh... I've tried using the GPS on my iPhone, just for grins (and yes, I know the Map application won't work right while in the air because there's to pull the maps from, but even on the ground, when I have a good 3G signal...) and I can't get a GPS location unless i hold my iPhone directly up to a window. If i'm sitting in an aisle seat - forget it. I don't see how people who are putting their GPS receivers in the overhead bins are able to get decent GPS reception.
jimrpa is offline  
Old Sep 12, 08, 9:22 am
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: IND
Programs: DL DM & 2MMô, Lifetime HHonors Diamond, Cholula General Member
Posts: 19,831
Originally Posted by V1-Vr-V2 View Post
Have done it many times myself. Love having an "all time record speed" on my Nuvi of 625 mph.
Mine, before it broke, was 731.
indufan is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread