Wiki Posts
Search

DCA-JFK shuttle experiences?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 2, 2007, 8:09 am
Original Poster

Programs: KE Skypass, Morning Calm
DCA-JFK shuttle experiences?

I apologize if this question has been asked and answered before, but my searches haven't really turned up the information that I'm looking for. (The search function is airport code unfriendly.)

A couple of times a year I use the AA DCA-JFK shuttle to connect to international flights. That has been a mixed affair - sometimes my checked bag makes it onto the ERJ, but if the flight is rather full, sometimes it doesn't. (But it has always left on time.) I've never tried the Delta shuttle before but am considering it. I'd be grateful for any observations comparing the two shuttles or just about how the flight is in general, including timeliness (they would be morning flights) and if the Delta shuttle has checked luggage issues similar to the AA flights.

Again, thanks for your indulgence.
Old Apr 2, 2007, 8:15 am

Programs: Delta GM, Hilton Gold, Marriot Silver
DCA - JFK isn't a shuttle. It's a regular Delta flight... albeit a Delta Connection flight. It's runs on CRJ's I believe. You shouldn't have any trouble getting your bag to transfer.
Old Apr 2, 2007, 8:28 am

Programs: DL DM
Yes; however, Comair into and out of JFK is a disaster. I would allow at least two hours for a connection, minimum if you are connecting to DL international, as if you miss it you have to wait for the next day.
Old Apr 2, 2007, 8:38 am

Programs: UA Premier 1K: PlAAtinum; DL SM, MM; Marriott Gold; CO Plat Emeritus; NW Plat Emeritus
These flights are amongst the most delayed in the nation, month after month. Avoid at all costs.
Old Apr 2, 2007, 9:22 am

Programs: Delta DM/3 MM; Hertz PC; National EE; Amtrak GR; Bonvoy Silver; Via Rail Préférence
The Aircraft Come from Other Cities