FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Delta SkyMiles (Pre-WorldPerks Merger) (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/delta-skymiles-pre-worldperks-merger-489/)
-   -   Delta asks pilots to reduce their pay (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/delta-skymiles-pre-worldperks-merger/58414-delta-asks-pilots-reduce-their-pay.html)

mikey1003 Apr 30, 2003 4:43 pm

Delta asks pilots to reduce their pay

http://www.ajc.com/business/content/...3/30delta.html

[ The Atlanta Journal-Constitution: 4/30/03 ]

Delta asks pilots to reduce their pay
Pilots' compensation would be cut by about one-third

By RUSSELL GRANTHAM
The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Delta Air Lines has asked pilots to accept a nearly one-third cut in pay, with possibly more concessions to come next year as the Atlanta airline tries to keep up with cost cuts by its competitors.

Blank Sheet Apr 30, 2003 6:00 pm

BBBBWWWAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHHAHAHAH

If I was a DL pilot, this would be my initial reaction. If my employer was in trouble I would probably agreed to a 10 percent temporary cut not a 22 + 4.5 percent cut. This seems to help prove the point that DL management is clueless.

Ask them to pass on the raise and a 5.5 cut then begin negotiations for further cuts across all labor fronts so you don't alienate just one labor faction.

Sidecarr Apr 30, 2003 9:05 pm

Well, considering pilots' pay and the hours they work each month, I'd say a reduction would be in order. Its a real world now days - not one where $200K or so for 36 or so hours a month is reasonable.

I'm in Dallas and the above figures are based on what we are told AA pilots do and are paid. I think DL's pilots are paid a bit more so I just assume the numbers quoted are in the ball park.

tonypct Apr 30, 2003 9:30 pm

<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by Sidecarr: