Here we go again; schedule change & seats disappear

 
Old Jul 3, 05, 12:49 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Orleans (for now)
Programs: DL PM, WN, SC, various other programs of lowly status
Posts: 1,629
Here we go again; schedule change & seats disappear

Why oh why do they not get a programmer to fix that? This is the second time for both itineraries, Italy & France in Sept, Hawaii in March. The schedule changes by a few minutes and the seat assignments disappear. You can't even select them online, you have to call and get them to do it.

At one time this only happened when you used miles to upgrade and hadn't yet had the miles removed from your account. Now it happens regardless and I can't understand the reason behind it.

There. I feel better.
Marylou is offline  
Old Jul 3, 05, 4:43 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, DL DM since inception, 2+ MM, SPG-Gold
Programs: DL, UA, AA, HH, SPG
Posts: 1,785
And while the programmer is at it, I would like him/her to fix what seems to be an increasing quirk affecting me: namely that the outbound flight doesn't clear very fast so I can't check-in on-line to my home-bound flight without first calling and have them manually delete the outbound, completed, segment. On flights with around 24 hour turn-around (of which I have many) it seems to happen more often than not - and it is irritating that I have to call to fix it!
Flying_Duck is offline  
Old Jul 3, 05, 5:09 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 277
Our January schedule from ATL to LAS changed in early June; we lost our seat assignments and I had to phone to get seats re-assigned.

I see today that the same flight time has again changed by a few minutes, but our same seat assignments still show in our itineraries!
scoobiedo is offline  
Old Jul 3, 05, 5:29 pm
  #4  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: 33.9929N 83.4207W
Programs: DL Skymiles
Posts: 644
When our ATL-HNL flight schedule changed and our seat assignments dissapeared I called to inquire but the agent still showed my original seats reserved on the new flight. It just didn't appear on delta.com. Has that been anyone else's experience or has anyone actually lost their original seat requests?
The Juiceman is offline  
Old Jul 3, 05, 6:17 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta & San Francisco
Programs: DL 2MM DM & My Wife is a DL 3MM DM
Posts: 2,773
Originally Posted by The Juiceman
When our ATL-HNL flight schedule changed and our seat assignments dissapeared I called to inquire but the agent still showed my original seats reserved on the new flight. It just didn't appear on delta.com. Has that been anyone else's experience or has anyone actually lost their original seat requests?
My wife and I tend to book way in advance and this constantly happens to us, sometimes several times on the same itinerary before we actually take it. As long as there isn't an equipment change, we have ALWAYS had our exact same seats even though when you first see it online it says "seats not assigned."

Despite this I check our itineraries almost daily and immediately call if there has been a change to get them to update or "clean-up" the records. I like to be able to see those seats we have selected in the online record.

Last edited by atl runner; Jul 3, 05 at 6:25 pm
atl runner is offline  
Old Jul 3, 05, 7:52 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: I don't know
Programs: Marriott Ambassador, UA Premier
Posts: 14,400
I have two itineraries that have changed. My October itinerary has a MHT-ATL flight moved up 5 minutes (but gets into ATL 20 minutes earlier...no complaints here...), while my November itinerary has my ATL-MHT pushed back 8 minutes later, the aforementioned MHT-ATL change, and an ATL-GSO flight moved up 10 minutes and changed from a 737-800 to a MD-88. I'll probably end up giving Delta a call sometime tonight (hey, I have a migraine so no fireworks here...) to fix these and book a Shuttle flight for a few weeks from now (can't get youth fares on the phone...only $113 one way, books into M class so 1.5x MQM...plus the fact that I'm not paying for it makes for a good situation).
mersk862 is offline  
Old Jul 3, 05, 8:47 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Jupiter, FL
Programs: DL PM, Starwood Plat, Marriott Lifetime Plat, Hilton Silver
Posts: 16,912
Thanks for this post. I thought I was going nuts.
I had booked a ticket for my father for PBI-SAN a couple months ago. Sat with him and got his seat assignments.
Brought it up yesterday and no seat assignments. I was sure that we had done those. Thought maybe I was slipping.
This explains it, as there was a slight schedule change. It still wouldn't let me access the first leg to make the seat selection. Not sure why on that one.
pbiflyer is offline  
Old Jul 3, 05, 10:23 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist & Moderator: CommunityBuzz!, OMNI, OMNI/PR, and OMNI/Games
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Southern California
Programs: DL: 3.8 MM Marriott: Lifetime Titanium
Posts: 24,551
Sometimes my seats disappear and sometime they don't. I never know until I call SMS. Like atl runner, we book flights nearly a year in advance. I currently have 7 open itineraries that I monitor from time to time.
And if they disappear from Delta.com, as far as I'm concerned, they've disappeared. I call immediately to have them re-instated to the website as I have lost the occasional plum seat assignment by not checking often enough.

Last edited by Cholula; Jul 3, 05 at 10:31 pm
Cholula is offline  
Old Jul 4, 05, 7:36 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Orlando
Programs: DL 4MM/PM, UA 1MM/Gold, AA Paper
Posts: 1,383
I have an overseas trip booked for October, and this is about the 5th time I will have to call SMS to get my seats re-instated due to schedule changes.

There has to be an easier way. I wonder what this is really costing DL in actual money.
OrlandoFlyer is offline  
Old Jul 4, 05, 7:42 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 781
In each of my experiences with this problem, DL has already assigned the new seats but they simply don't show on the itineraries. Like otheres, I prefer to call to have my record "cleaned-up." I haven't figured out why that can't be done at the time the change is made.
mhbaker is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread