Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

Int'l > Domestic Bag Recheck at Ohare T5

Int'l > Domestic Bag Recheck at Ohare T5

Old Jul 24, 22, 6:12 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Programs: UA GS>1K>Nothing; DL GM 2MM; AS 75K>Nothing
Posts: 9,099
Int'l > Domestic Bag Recheck at Ohare T5

Anybody know if Delta has a baggage recheck for international to domestic in Terminal 5 at O'Hare. I have separate tickets for international and domestic flights.
5khours is offline  
Old Jul 24, 22, 6:14 pm
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 99,759
If both tickets are DL or DL plus a close partner, DL will check bags through on separate tickets, assuming no MCT violations.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Jul 24, 22, 6:23 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, AC 75K, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 24,082
Originally Posted by 5khours View Post
Anybody know if Delta has a baggage recheck for international to domestic in Terminal 5 at O'Hare. I have separate tickets for international and domestic flights.
DL doesn't have international flights at ORD.
flyerCO is offline  
Old Jul 24, 22, 7:29 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Programs: Marriott, IHG, Delta, United
Posts: 485
How soon are you flying? I think Sept 10, 2022 is the rumored date for when DL moves its domestic operations to ORD T5. As pointed out, DL has no international flights on their own metal from ORD.
kavok is offline  
Old Jul 24, 22, 7:39 pm
  #5  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 99,759
There are international DL codeshares, but OP is an experienced traveler and presumably would be aware of this and aware also that the bag would be checked with the operating carrier for the first segment.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Jul 24, 22, 8:59 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Programs: UA GS>1K>Nothing; DL GM 2MM; AS 75K>Nothing
Posts: 9,099
Thanks for the replies. I'm aware that DL does not fly internationally out of ORD and that they currently do not fly domestic out of T5. What I would like to know is if if they have a baggage recheck facility (like many other airlines) outside of customs in T5.

If anyone knows for sure.... tks in advance.
5khours is offline  
Old Jul 24, 22, 10:44 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Programs: UA GS>1K>Nothing; DL GM 2MM; AS 75K>Nothing
Posts: 9,099
I think I found the answer.

https://www.flychicago.com/ohare/myf...s/default.aspx
5khours is offline  
Old Jul 25, 22, 3:05 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: MSP
Programs: DL Platinum, 1 MM
Posts: 1,180
Transferring baggage at Ohare is at your own responsibility, even if your bag tags have the final destination on them. I have done this from KLM and AF flights to Delta flights, the last time about 16 months ago. You have to take your bags through customs and then onto the tram that links the international terminal to wherever your Delta flight is leaving from, stand in line and re-check it there. Delta at the time did not have a way to re-check bags at the international terminal. It was a BIG pain to lug skis and stuff, I have been avoiding international ORD transfers ever since.
drminn is offline  
Old Jul 25, 22, 5:24 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 752
Originally Posted by 5khours View Post
Thanks for the replies. I'm aware that DL does not fly internationally out of ORD and that they currently do not fly domestic out of T5. What I would like to know is if if they have a baggage recheck facility (like many other airlines) outside of customs in T5.

If anyone knows for sure.... tks in advance.
At this moment, they do not. As posted by others you will need to claim your baggage then use the ATS over to T2 and recheck. This issue goes away once DL moves over to T5 in a few months.
ords is offline  
Old Jul 25, 22, 6:29 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: ATL
Programs: DL DM, 2 MM, UA Silver (thanks Marriott!), Marriott Ambassador
Posts: 172
I did this in March - KL AMS - ORD - then immediately connected DL ORD - ATL... 2 separate tickets. They DO NOT have any sort of recheck possibilities; believe me, I looked high and low because I was traveling by myself with lots of baggage, and it was a real pain in the a$$..

When I left the customs hall. I immediately went to both AA and UA's counter and asked. Nothing - also asked a skycap in the area and he told me to check with AA because they would recheck for DL (which was totally false..). I ended up having to somehow manage to get my bags onto the train and over to the DL terminal.

However, on the outbound - ATL- ORD - AMS it worked fine to thru check (even on 2 sperate tickets) - agent in ATL entered the second KL ticket info and printed tags all the way to my final destination. No problem and DL transferred the bags to KL . It just wont work when entering the US through ORD and connecting onward on DL. AT least not in March 2022. Good luck
resolute is offline  
Old Jul 25, 22, 6:51 am
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Programs: UA GS>1K>Nothing; DL GM 2MM; AS 75K>Nothing
Posts: 9,099
Tks for the replies everybody. Guess I'll book the domestic leg on UA or AA, but definitely not DL. No interest in schlepping my bags onto the train.
5khours is offline  
Old Jul 25, 22, 9:18 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NYC/DTW/ORD/LAX
Programs: Delta PM
Posts: 271
Can't wait for DL to move into a brand new T5 at ORD! Does anyone have an update on the opening day?
Crossinator is offline  
Old Jul 25, 22, 9:24 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 19,386
Originally Posted by Crossinator View Post
Can't wait for DL to move into a brand new T5 at ORD! Does anyone have an update on the opening day?
As noted above, the most recent updates indicate they will be moving into T5 on September 10th (move will occur the night of Sep 9th). There's a consolidated thread on ORD T5 remodel and move. The gates DL will be using aren't really "brand new" as they are just doing some remodeling on them for DL. The new DL Sky Club (which will serve as consolidated Skyteam lounge) will be brand new though.
Delta Terminal 5 ORD - Remodel Consolidated Threads



FYI, Southwest now looks to be using M14-M16 gates at T5. Below appears to be the last WN arrival into M4-M6 gates before they closed gates for remodeling --
https://flightaware.com/live/flight/...325Z/KDAL/KORD

F9 moved their domestic flights over to MDW a few months ago.

Last edited by xliioper; Jul 25, 22 at 10:00 am
xliioper is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread