T-Mobile - Free Viasat Wifi

Old Jun 21, 22, 6:38 am
  #16  
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Mexico City
Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, Marriot Platinum, IHG Platinum, Choice Platinum, Wyndham Gold
Posts: 2,803
T-Mobile is also offering Free AAA for a year

T-Mobile Free AAA for a year
hurnik likes this.
Global Adventurer is offline  
Old Jun 21, 22, 6:51 am
  #17  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Midwest USA
Programs: AA EXP, HH Diamond, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 574
I actually switched from my grandfathered One Plus Plan to Magenta Max for this since you also get 5GB of international high speed data too in +210 countries. I often do 5-6 international trips a year and this would come in VERY handy!
Points Scrounger likes this.
ceebee100 is offline  
Old Jun 21, 22, 7:08 am
  #18  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Programs: Sometimes known as [ARG:6 UNDEFINED]
Posts: 25,283
Originally Posted by Global Adventurer View Post
T-Mobile is also offering Free AAA for a year

T-Mobile Free AAA for a year
...and apparently extends any current AAA membership for an additional year. I'm liking T-Mobile lately.
Points Scrounger and hurnik like this.
DenverBrian is online now  
Old Jun 23, 22, 10:25 am
  #19  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
IHG Contributor BadgeMarriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: RSW
Programs: Delta - Silver; UA - Silver; HHonors - Diamond; IHG - Spire Ambassador; Marriott Bonvoy - Titanium
Posts: 14,003
As a One customer I have wifi for my three hour flight it seems, but no mention of using "one of four" of these anywhere. Out of curiosity, I had clicked on the $15 purchase link to log in.
Points Scrounger is offline  
Old Jun 23, 22, 5:02 pm
  #20  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 180
Originally Posted by High Technology View Post
Delta is slowly upgrading their Wi-Fi on the flights. They went from slow, ground based Gogo Wi-Fi, to satellite based Gogo, and have been rolling out Viasat on newer planes. The way you can usually tell which system your flight has:
- flights with no live TV are generally ground-based Gogo
- flights with live TV are mostly Gogo satellite based (and you’ll get a Gogo splash screen / routed to Gogo as you log in)
- flights with flat $5 internet are Viasat. These often show “New Wi-Fi” in the online booking portal / app booking portal.

T-Mobile provided free Wi-Fi or 1 hour, depending on your T-Mobile plan only on Gogo. The login screen shows this free option on phones only, not on most tablets and not on laptops.

Now, they appear to be rolling it out on Viasat as part of this enhancement. I did not see this option on Friday on my two Viasat flights. In each case I paid $5 for a flight pass, which I didn’t mind but free is always better.
At mainline the only ground based wifi (ATG) is the 717 fleet.

Then you have the satellite Ku Band Gogo which activates at 10K feet

Satellite 2Ku Gogo which is gate to gate

and finally Viasat.

Obviously the 717s don’t offer Seatback IFE and the live tv has been on a mix of Ku and 2Ku aircraft in my experience.
Flyer0889 is offline  
Old Jun 24, 22, 6:44 am
  #21  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Either at the shooting range or anywhere good beer can be found...
Posts: 48,618
Originally Posted by ceebee100 View Post
I actually switched from my grandfathered One Plus Plan to Magenta Max for this since you also get 5GB of international high speed data too in +210 countries. I often do 5-6 international trips a year and this would come in VERY handy!
I switched to T-Mobile years ago because I didn't have to pay for texts and data (speeds weren't great) when traveling internationally. I'm excited to try the "high speed" data and see if there is a difference.
kipper is offline  
Old Jun 24, 22, 7:04 am
  #22  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Midwest USA
Programs: AA EXP, HH Diamond, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 574
Originally Posted by kipper View Post
I switched to T-Mobile years ago because I didn't have to pay for texts and data (speeds weren't great) when traveling internationally. I'm excited to try the "high speed" data and see if there is a difference.
There is a huge difference! I used to pay for the 5GB plan ($30 or something) when I travel and it's way faster than the normal 3G speeds you get for free. Sometimes it's 4G LTE or 5G depending on the country. Now that's included so more $30 plans for me when I go overseas.
I'll see if it works on Mon. Going to UK, France and Italy so it will be a good test for all those countries.
ceebee100 is offline  
Old Jun 24, 22, 7:07 am
  #23  
Moderator: Hawaii-based airlines & Hawai'i forums
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ka ʻĀpala Nui, Nuioka
Programs: NEXUS/Global Entry, Delta, United, Hyatt, IHG, Marriott, and Hertz
Posts: 17,199
Thanks for posting the link to the AAA offer; it was very easy to add it to my existing account. I've also been using the free WiFi on Delta flights for a few years (mostly domestic) and it's been a nice benefit.
FlyinHawaiian is offline  
Old Jun 25, 22, 9:22 pm
  #24  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: Delta Silver, Marriot Gold
Posts: 245
Originally Posted by Points Scrounger View Post
As a One customer I have wifi for my three hour flight it seems, but no mention of using "one of four" of these anywhere. Out of curiosity, I had clicked on the $15 purchase link to log in.
I did not see this either when I used it last wed on my way to DUB.
Points Scrounger likes this.
Synapseturquoise is offline  
Old Jun 26, 22, 6:04 am
  #25  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Either at the shooting range or anywhere good beer can be found...
Posts: 48,618
Originally Posted by ceebee100 View Post
There is a huge difference! I used to pay for the 5GB plan ($30 or something) when I travel and it's way faster than the normal 3G speeds you get for free. Sometimes it's 4G LTE or 5G depending on the country. Now that's included so more $30 plans for me when I go overseas.
I'll see if it works on Mon. Going to UK, France and Italy so it will be a good test for all those countries.
Thanks. I didn't realize I could upgrade speeds before.
kipper is offline  
Old Jun 26, 22, 6:21 am
  #26  
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Programs: DL, UA, AA (the airline)
Posts: 795
Originally Posted by ceebee100 View Post
There is a huge difference! I used to pay for the 5GB plan ($30 or something) when I travel and it's way faster than the normal 3G speeds you get for free. Sometimes it's 4G LTE or 5G depending on the country. Now that's included so more $30 plans for me when I go overseas.
I'll see if it works on Mon. Going to UK, France and Italy so it will be a good test for all those countries.
5GB is a data limit. 5G is s different technology.

So I'm not sure I understand the comment in that context.

5G will depend on if your phone is compatible, right?
Goodoldflyer is online now  
Old Jun 26, 22, 7:23 pm
  #27  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Midwest USA
Programs: AA EXP, HH Diamond, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 574
Originally Posted by Goodoldflyer View Post
5GB is a data limit. 5G is s different technology.

So I'm not sure I understand the comment in that context.

5G will depend on if your phone is compatible, right?
Allow me to clarify. You now get 5 gigabytes of international data with up to 5G speeds. The old plan I had was limited to 3G speeds unless you paid extra for the travel data plan. Now, you get 5G speed for free, assuming your phone is 5G capable and the country you are visiting has 5G.
ceebee100 is offline  
Old Jun 27, 22, 1:49 am
  #28  
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Programs: DL, UA, AA (the airline)
Posts: 795
Originally Posted by ceebee100 View Post
Allow me to clarify. You now get 5 gigabytes of international data with up to 5G speeds. The old plan I had was limited to 3G speeds unless you paid extra for the travel data plan. Now, you get 5G speed for free, assuming your phone is 5G capable and the country you are visiting has 5G.

I suppose I'm wondering if your phone has to be 5G compatible for that to be the case. May not work for my iphone 7...
Goodoldflyer is online now  
Old Jun 27, 22, 4:41 am
  #29  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Midwest USA
Programs: AA EXP, HH Diamond, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 574
Originally Posted by Goodoldflyer View Post
I suppose I'm wondering if your phone has to be 5G compatible for that to be the case. May not work for my iphone 7...
Your IPhone 7 is not 5G compatible. https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT211828
ceebee100 is offline  
Old Jun 27, 22, 5:48 am
  #30  
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Programs: DL, UA, AA (the airline)
Posts: 795
Originally Posted by ceebee100 View Post
Your IPhone 7 is not 5G compatible. https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT211828
My point exactly. Likely only helpful if one has a 5G phone. May not be so useful for those of us without.
Goodoldflyer is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread