Delta Wifi?

Old Nov 1, 21, 1:37 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 223
Delta Wifi?

So I always watch whatever tv show/movies that is available. But you can also use wifi? But that you have to pay for right? And if so, how much is it?
jerry90210 is offline  
Old Nov 1, 21, 1:59 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: MCO
Programs: DL PM, UA Silver, Marriott Titanium, Hertz Presidents Circle
Posts: 3,899
Originally Posted by jerry90210 View Post
So I always watch whatever tv show/movies that is available. But you can also use wifi? But that you have to pay for right? And if so, how much is it?
Yes WiFi is available on all DL aircrafts with the exception of the CR2. The price depends on the specific WiFi provider is on your aircraft. If you are on an A321 or select 739s and 752s, the WiFi provider is ViaSat which is a flat $5 for the entire flight. If you are on any other aircraft type, the WiFi provider is GoGo which has variable pricing depending on your route (Its never consistent in my experience but its more expensive than ViaSat $5 flat fee.)
MCO Flyer is offline  
Old Nov 3, 21, 7:26 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 272
$30 for wifi!!!
TastyPlaneEats is offline  
Old Nov 3, 21, 7:30 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Programs: DL Diamond, Aeroplan Elite 75K
Posts: 2,177
Originally Posted by TastyPlaneEats View Post
$30 for wifi!!!
Good riddance GoGo. Luckily the new Delta Wi-Fi is only $5 per flight.
DLASflyer is offline  
Old Nov 3, 21, 10:00 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: MSP (Or FAR if I stay another night at the lake)
Programs: Delta DM (no bag tags), United Silver, Spirit - one and done, IHG Spire, Hertz PC, Avis- owes me one
Posts: 72
And the $5 wifi is actually usable. Usually pre-Covid if I paid the $29.95 for the no-go wifi it would take half the flight just to send an email.

That being said isnt there some connection between Gogo and Viasat? I thought I saw footprints leading to a gogo site on one of the web redirects when connecting. Despite that, it actually worked pretty good.
champus likes this.
Ringer909 is offline  
Old Nov 3, 21, 10:33 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Programs: DL Diamond, Aeroplan Elite 75K
Posts: 2,177
Originally Posted by Ringer909 View Post
And the $5 wifi is actually usable. Usually pre-Covid if I paid the $29.95 for the no-go wifi it would take half the flight just to send an email.

That being said isnt there some connection between Gogo and Viasat? I thought I saw footprints leading to a gogo site on one of the web redirects when connecting. Despite that, it actually worked pretty good.
Gogo was recently acquired by Intelsat, which will be the new name for that service. Not to be confused with Viasat, the new Delta Wi-Fi provider.
DLASflyer is offline  
Old Nov 3, 21, 11:37 pm
  #7  
ryw
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: ATL
Programs: WN A, DL GM, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 1,103
Can you still buy a Gogo all day internet pass and use it on a Delta flight (as long as the plane is using Gogo as it’s WiFi provider)?
ryw is offline  
Old Nov 4, 21, 2:59 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: SEA
Posts: 135
Originally Posted by ryw View Post
Can you still buy a Gogo all day internet pass and use it on a Delta flight (as long as the plane is using Gogo as its WiFi provider)?
Yes, this still works as expected. I did this twice in the past month.
weaseltown is offline  
Old Nov 8, 21, 5:11 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Programs: DL PM, HH Diamond, Hertz PC
Posts: 164
I flew this past weekend and could not log into my GoGo account when i was prompted to. Keep saying an error (account is in good order) but was able to pay the $5 using Viasat,

Was this just a issue this weekend? or i need to do something different? create a new account with Viasat?
OneHourPhoto is offline  
Old Nov 8, 21, 9:58 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Programs: DL Plat, Bonvoy Titanium
Posts: 200
I couldn't get Gogo to work at all on 2 of my 3 flights last week that had Gogo. I could use the onboard entertainment, but trying to buy a pass / use the T-Mobile option just got stuck. Tried two different iPhones.

The VIASAT flight worked great - $5 flat fee and got 20+ Mbps download speeds. No account creation required - just a one-time credit card purchase.

I have suffered through dozens of NY<-->LAX flights over the past several years, paid Gogo a couple of thousand dollars in fees, and won't miss them one bit when they are gone!
High Technology is offline  
Old Nov 9, 21, 5:08 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 5
does viasat purchase code as delta or viasat? what about delta wifi sub coding?
ylc13 is offline  
Old Dec 9, 21, 4:55 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: PHX
Programs: AA Ex Platinum & 1MM, DL PLT, Marriott Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 2,483
Originally Posted by OneHourPhoto View Post
I flew this past weekend and could not log into my GoGo account when i was prompted to. Keep saying an error (account is in good order) but was able to pay the $5 using Viasat,

Was this just a issue this weekend? or i need to do something different? create a new account with Viasat?
Had the same problem on Tuesday-requested a refund from Viasat after I was on the ground & got it w/in 12 hrs.
txrus is offline  
Old Dec 10, 21, 12:02 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: RDU
Programs: DL(PM), UA(Silver), Marriott(Ti), HH(Gold), Hertz(PC)
Posts: 2,425
Originally Posted by ylc13 View Post
does viasat purchase code as delta or viasat? what about delta wifi sub coding?
In my case it did not code as Delta.
fliesdelta is offline  
Old Dec 10, 21, 2:57 pm
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Programs: Sometimes known as [ARG:6 UNDEFINED]
Posts: 25,535
The T-Mobile "free" wifi is free wifi...for one hour.
DenverBrian is offline  
Old Dec 10, 21, 3:07 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Programs: Delta Platinum Medallion, Hyatt Explorist, Wyndham Diamond
Posts: 238
Originally Posted by DenverBrian View Post
The T-Mobile "free" wifi is free wifi...for one hour.

While true, those with the max plan have unlimited free wifi.
dtwtransport likes this.
xjaehyun is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread