Does Delta only use T4 at JFK?

Old Apr 10, 21, 2:10 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Virginia USA
Posts: 147
Does Delta only use T4 at JFK?

All else equal, I'm going to let the better lounge determine which flight I book, but that lounge is only any good if I can actually get to it easily. Does Delta really only use T4 at JFK, or might I end up in T2? I thought they were also in T2 for some reason.
flyerfirsts is offline  
Old Apr 10, 21, 2:13 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NYC
Programs: DL PM; AA 1MM
Posts: 3,512
In normal times, Delta uses T2 and T4. Due to the reduction in flights with the pandemic, T2 is currently closed and all DL flights are departing/arriving at T4.
bgriff likes this.
ty97 is offline  
Old Apr 10, 21, 3:54 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: MCO
Programs: AA, B6, DL, EK, EY, QR, SQ, UA, Amex Plat, Marriott Tit, HHonors Gold
Posts: 11,707
Right now you won't end up in T2 and in all likelihood you'll never go there again.

What are the two lounge options?
cmd320 is offline  
Old Apr 10, 21, 4:22 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NYC
Programs: DL PM; AA 1MM
Posts: 3,512
Originally Posted by cmd320 View Post
Right now you won't end up in T2 and in all likelihood you'll never go there again.
Unless they build out T4A, DL will need to reopen 2 eventually when slot exemptions end. They just don't have the space at 4 for all flights, do they?
ty97 is offline  
Old Apr 10, 21, 4:47 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NYC/DTW/LAX
Programs: DL PM
Posts: 149
Originally Posted by ty97 View Post
Unless they build out T4A, DL will need to reopen 2 eventually when slot exemptions end. They just don't have the space at 4 for all flights, do they?
They're expanding the A side of T4 with new gates, and it will have a DL snapchat as well. So those new gates will replace T2
Crossinator is offline  
Old Apr 10, 21, 5:17 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Virginia USA
Posts: 147
Originally Posted by cmd320 View Post
Right now you won't end up in T2 and in all likelihood you'll never go there again.

What are the two lounge options?
Centurion in JFK in T4 or the Sky Club (I guess B Concourse?) in ATL. downside to Sky Club is if my dad catches a flight that has the same second leg (we will meet in the destination but not leave from the same city), he wouldn't be able to come into the sky club without paying $39.

But the flight is in August, so I guess that makes JFK a wild card still.
flyerfirsts is offline  
Old Apr 10, 21, 6:06 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NYC
Programs: DL PM; AA 1MM
Posts: 3,512
Originally Posted by Crossinator View Post
They're expanding the A side of T4 with new gates, and it will have a DL snapchat as well. So those new gates will replace T2
I know that's been the plan for a while, but is it anywhere near fruition?
ty97 is offline  
Old Apr 10, 21, 6:16 pm
  #8  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 92,712
The Centurion lounge at JFK is far from the DL gates, although it's in the same TSA airport security airside area. There's a large SC that's in the middle of the DL gates, although there still can be long walks.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Apr 10, 21, 6:17 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Programs: AA Gold AAdvantage Elite, Rapids Reward
Posts: 35,773
My guess Southwest Airlines will take T2. They will announce it. Replace old Delta T2.
N830MH is offline  
Old Apr 10, 21, 7:28 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: MCO
Programs: AA, B6, DL, EK, EY, QR, SQ, UA, Amex Plat, Marriott Tit, HHonors Gold
Posts: 11,707
Originally Posted by ty97 View Post
Unless they build out T4A, DL will need to reopen 2 eventually when slot exemptions end. They just don't have the space at 4 for all flights, do they?
I think itís pretty unlikely traffic will rebound in a way that would make T2 necessary before T4 is yet again expanded.

Originally Posted by flyerfirsts View Post
Centurion in JFK in T4 or the Sky Club (I guess B Concourse?) in ATL. downside to Sky Club is if my dad catches a flight that has the same second leg (we will meet in the destination but not leave from the same city), he wouldn't be able to come into the sky club without paying $39.

But the flight is in August, so I guess that makes JFK a wild card still.
Centurion Lounge is better. I would just go straight there personally.

Originally Posted by N830MH View Post
My guess Southwest Airlines will take T2. They will announce it. Replace old Delta T2.
Iíd give this a 0% of happening. The only way WN will ever serve JFK is if every other NY airport is permanently closed.
cmd320 is offline  
Old Apr 10, 21, 8:24 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NYC
Programs: DL PM; AA 1MM
Posts: 3,512
Originally Posted by cmd320 View Post
I think itís pretty unlikely traffic will rebound in a way that would make T2 necessary before T4 is yet again expanded.
I'm not sure what the schedule is for expansion of T4A so I can't say about traffic rebounding. But at some point, the PANYNJ is going to make airlines start using (or lose) their slots again, even if the airlines would prefer not to.
ty97 is offline  
Old Apr 11, 21, 5:56 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Programs: Delta Skymiles Gold Card holder, JetBlue Trueblue, HiltonHonors, Hertz #1 Club Gold
Posts: 247
Do you think they will still be using only T4 in May? Flying in from FLL and back there.
WolfieG is offline  
Old Apr 11, 21, 7:17 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NYC/DTW/LAX
Programs: DL PM
Posts: 149
Originally Posted by WolfieG View Post
Do you think they will still be using only T4 in May? Flying in from FLL and back there.
100%. The future expansion/reopening of T2 is not gonna take place until 2022 probably
Crossinator is offline  
Old Apr 12, 21, 4:37 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 19,694
Originally Posted by N830MH View Post
My guess Southwest Airlines will take T2. They will announce it. Replace old Delta T2.
WN isn't coming to JFK. ISP/LGA serves WN much better than JFK ever could. EWR will return before JFK is considered.
ExArkie likes this.
flyerCO is offline  
Old Apr 12, 21, 5:05 am
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brighton. UK
Programs: BA Silver / VS /IHG Spire & Ambassador
Posts: 12,339
Originally Posted by N830MH View Post
My guess Southwest Airlines will take T2. They will announce it. Replace old Delta T2.
Well you guessed wrong.

As per the masterplan DL will stop using T2 once they have completed the work on expanding T4 (by early 2023 according to the plans) and T2 will then be demolished and the site subsumed (along with the site of previous T3) into the new mega T1 that is being developed.
flyerCO, ysolde, cmd320 and 2 others like this.
UKtravelbear is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: