Plat Upgrades to Delta One?

Old Feb 13, 20, 10:04 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA Exec Play, Marriott/SPG Lifetime Plat
Plat Upgrades to Delta One?

I'm pretty new to Delta so apologies if this is a basic question. We are flying international BOS-LHR, Delta tickets in coach, Delta plan out and Virgin coming back, for booking reasons we are on two itineraries, three on mine (I am Plat) two on another with no status. As of now the plane shows 100% full in Coach and Comfort Plus, about a dozen empty seats in Delta One. What are the chances of getting upgraded? From what I understand there are no automatic upgrades on international, is that so? Is there a chance they may bump people with status up to make way for standby passengers in coach?

The app is offering upgrades for $4,600 - might go so far as to pay that for two but not for five passengers!
Old Feb 13, 20, 10:11 am
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Close to zero. International upgrades to D1 for free are not a program benefit. Moreover, if the plane is oversold in coach, DL tends to give OPUPs to DMs rather than PMs.
Duke787 likes this.
Old Feb 13, 20, 10:18 am
Original Poster

I figured Diamond's would top the list, was just curious if it was a "no, never ever" or maybe maybe. Mostly I hope not as upgrading the three on my reservation would create an issue for the two on the other one!
Old Feb 13, 20, 10:45 am

Programs: DL DM(segs)/MM, Hilton DM, Marriott Ti (life Pt), TSA Opt-out Platinum
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
Close to zero. International upgrades to D1 for free are not a program benefit. Moreover, if the plane is oversold in coach, DL tends to give OPUPs to DMs rather than PMs.
I was with a PM colleague who got the OPUP a few years ago. I also got the OPUP but I was DM.
Old Feb 13, 20, 10:53 am
Original Poster