Are IAD / DCA co-terminals?

Old Nov 9, 19, 11:33 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: LAX - BOS - SAN
Programs: United Silver, Marriott Titanium Elite, AMEX Plat
Posts: 20
Are IAD / DCA co-terminals?

I have a ticket booked into Dulles. Does Delta allow changes between IAD and DCA as co-terminals? I am in first with no status on Delta. How can I minimize potential change fees? (wait until check-in, at the airport, etc). With my luck, if I changed, the DCA flight would be delayed 2 hours and the IAD flight would get in on time, so the extra time on the road would cancel out, but I would like to understand what options are available to me.

Thanks
JackieTreehorn is offline  
Old Nov 9, 19, 11:36 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: SFO/SJC, BWI
Programs: :rolleyes:, DL DM, Mlife Plat, TR 7*, SPG/MR Plat, UA 1K
Posts: 10,679
Originally Posted by JackieTreehorn View Post
I have a ticket booked into Dulles. Does Delta allow changes between IAD and DCA as co-terminals? I am in first with no status on Delta. How can I minimize potential change fees? (wait until check-in, at the airport, etc). With my luck, if I changed, the DCA flight would be delayed 2 hours and the IAD flight would get in on time, so the extra time on the road would cancel out, but I would like to understand what options are available to me.

Thanks
Officially, outside of IRROPs you have zero options other than to pay change fee and fare difference. IAD, DCA, and BWI are co-terminal but it doesn't matter unless you are a DM doing an SDC.

In practice, sometimes just asking nicely works.
MSPeconomist likes this.
Zorak is offline  
Old Nov 9, 19, 11:43 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 16,934
If you have no checked bags, simply goto the gate of the flight. If you ask nicely most time the GA wont have a problem as long as isnt full.
Zorak likes this.
flyerCO is online now  
Old Nov 9, 19, 11:45 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: miami, florida
Posts: 1,180
DM only have an unwritten privilege of SDC or SDS at co-terminals.
MSPeconomist likes this.
sydneyracquelle is offline  
Old Nov 9, 19, 1:09 pm
  #5  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 84,937
Co-terminals help everyone if there's a waiver or IROPs.

Otherwise, regular change fees apply and a FC ticket without status doesn't permit someone to SDC/SDS on the day of departure without paying the fee.
BearX220 likes this.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Nov 9, 19, 2:06 pm
  #6  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 43,331
Yes, presuming that your ticket rules permit changes, you may change between DCA and IAD. But, for a typical domestic ticket, the fee is $200 + fare difference.

No, you are not eligible for Same Day Change ($75 + fare difference). While IAD and DCA are co-terminals, that is irrelevant for SDC purposes in your situation.

Do not simply go to the other airport and ask. You are effectively stuck with what may be an expensive answer. Whether you are polite or not, does not really help in the separate airports situation. Asking "nicely" may sometimes work at the same airport, but you are not stuck with a bad answer.
Often1 is offline  
Old Nov 9, 19, 2:15 pm
  #7  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 84,937
Originally Posted by flyerCO View Post
If you have no checked bags, simply goto the gate of the flight. If you ask nicely most time the GA wont have a problem as long as isnt full.
I don't think the OP can get to the gate with a boarding pass for a flight departing from a different (even if co-terminal) airport. There's no practical way to ask the GA.
ExArkie likes this.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Nov 9, 19, 2:20 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 185
I had a mco>dtw>iad flight. Flight to dtw was delayed on the ground in mco for mx. missed connector to iad and they rebooked me next day on a rj to iad. Called gold desk at the time and got on dtw to bwi that night. Not sure that is irops since just me but they allowed that.

i was on a paid F ticket and got F to bwi.
Jon_R is offline  
Old Nov 9, 19, 2:20 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 16,934
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
I don't think the OP can get to the gate with a boarding pass for a flight departing from a different (even if co-terminal) airport. There's no practical way to ask the GA.
The way I read OP, he's flying to DC, not from.

I have a ticket booked into Dulles.
WillBarrett_68 likes this.
flyerCO is online now  
Old Nov 9, 19, 2:24 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 16,934
Originally Posted by Often1 View Post
Yes, presuming that your ticket rules permit changes, you may change between DCA and IAD. But, for a typical domestic ticket, the fee is $200 + fare difference.

No, you are not eligible for Same Day Change ($75 + fare difference). While IAD and DCA are co-terminals, that is irrelevant for SDC purposes in your situation.

Do not simply go to the other airport and ask. You are effectively stuck with what may be an expensive answer. Whether you are polite or not, does not really help in the separate airports situation. Asking "nicely" may sometimes work at the same airport, but you are not stuck with a bad answer.
Reread. OP is flying into, not out of DC area. Asking at whatever hub flying from is very likely to get him what he wants.
flyerCO is online now  
Old Nov 9, 19, 2:29 pm
  #11  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 84,937
Originally Posted by flyerCO View Post
The way I read OP, he's flying to DC, not from.

I have a ticket booked into Dulles.
Sorry but I read the post just above mine (that you quoted above) and focused on the suggestion not to go to the other airport to ask.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Nov 9, 19, 4:54 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 929
Originally Posted by sydneyracquelle View Post
DM only have an unwritten privilege of SDC or SDS at co-terminals.
It's an unwritten rule, so it's hard to say if something is an "exception" to it, but I managed to get a couple of co-terminal SDCs as a PM a few years back.
WillBarrett_68 is offline  
Old Nov 9, 19, 4:55 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 929
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
Co-terminals help everyone if there's a waiver or IROPs.
sort of, but in both of those cases you can (usually) change to airports that aren't co-terminals, too.
WillBarrett_68 is offline  
Old Nov 9, 19, 5:01 pm
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 16,934
Originally Posted by WillBarrett_68 View Post
It's an unwritten rule, so it's hard to say if something is an "exception" to it, but I managed to get a couple of co-terminal SDCs as a PM a few years back.
Originally Posted by WillBarrett_68 View Post
sort of, but in both of those cases you can (usually) change to airports that aren't co-terminals, too.
It's called unpublished, not unwritten. It is indeed part of DLs policy. Just not published externally.

IRROPS can change up to 250 or 300 miles I believe is their rule. YMMV has to how far/close they actually allow. The self rebooking tool I believe goes up to the limit and sometimes farther.
flyerCO is online now  
Old Nov 9, 19, 10:18 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: LHR / BHX / MAN / ATL
Programs: DL DM MM - IHG Spire
Posts: 3,842
OP stated that he/she is in First. If OP is on a true F fare, all of this discussion is moot and OP can have the ticket changed to the most convenient option at no additional charge.
ecaarch is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread