Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

Is this right? Zero Skymiles when flying Virgin?

Is this right? Zero Skymiles when flying Virgin?

Old Oct 25, 19, 12:00 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Is this right? Zero Skymiles when flying Virgin?

Is this right? The website says this about earning on Virgin: Virgin Atlantic-marketed flights in the following fare classes are eligible for accrual based on the percentages in the table below, multiplied by the flight distance (as determined in Delta or the partner carrierís sole discretion)

But, I got zero miles for my London to Seattle flight. No MQMs, no base miles, no segment credits. Nothing. If I don't get any mileage for flights like this I'm going to start using a different airline.

I would post a screen shot but when I try this forum says, "You are not allowed to post URLs until you have at least 5 posts"
Craig Rowland is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 12:02 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: LHR / BHX / MAN / ATL
Programs: DL DM MM - IHG Spire
Posts: 3,883
What was your VS fare class?
ecaarch is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 12:07 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 19,002
How was the flight coded? If you booked it with an AF/KL code you don't earn. Only VS/DL coded VS operated flights earn.

Also did you upgrade? If so this causes a known issue. Flights get reported as being flown in G, which is a non-revenue (award) class. You'll need to contact DL to manually reprocess.
bgriff likes this.
flyerCO is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 12:16 pm
  #4  
Marriott 5+ Badge
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn
Programs: Delta Diamond, Bonvoy something good; sometimes other things too
Posts: 4,071
On top of the potential reasons in the previous post, what does your account activity say under reason? If you just flew recently sometimes it will say "Still processing, will update in 24 hours" in which case there's a good chance it will update to earn miles (unless it's one of the cases in the previous post) within another day or two.
bgriff is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 12:26 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
How would I know? I don't see this listed anywhere on my itinerary.
Craig Rowland is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 12:35 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: JFK
Posts: 351
Originally Posted by Craig Rowland View Post
How would I know? I don't see this listed anywhere on my itinerary.
Did you fly Economy light, classic, delight, etc?
Also, did you have you skymiles # entered when you made the reservation?
rsqrott is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 12:40 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 19,002
Originally Posted by Craig Rowland View Post
How would I know? I don't see this listed anywhere on my itinerary.
What is the flight number on your receipt? Does it show KL4841, AF9904, DL4348, or VS105? Only DL4348 or VS105 earn, even though all are same flight.
flyerCO is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 12:41 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Wish this site would let me upload a screen shot.

My Itineray has the following:

DL 4348
Operated by:Virgin Atlantic
Aircraft: Boeing 787Distance: 4782 miles

E-Ticket

Cabin: Premium Select (A)Meal: Lunch


Cabin: Premium Select (A)
Air Frequent Flyer Number:DL-XXXXXXXXX
Craig Rowland is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 12:41 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 19,002
Originally Posted by rsqrott View Post
Did you fly Economy light, classic, delight, etc?
Also, did you have you skymiles # entered when you made the reservation?
The names have nothing to do with earning. Only the flight marketing and fare class matter.
flyerCO is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 12:45 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 19,002
Originally Posted by Craig Rowland View Post
Wish this site would let me upload a screen shot.

My Itineray has the following:

DL 4348
Operated by:Virgin Atlantic
Aircraft: Boeing 787Distance: 4782 miles

E-Ticket

Cabin: Premium Select (A)Meal: Lunch


Cabin: Premium Select (A)
Air Frequent Flyer Number:DL-XXXXXXXXX
This should earn based on $ spent (base fare plus carrier surcharges).

What does it show in the field for method of earning? Does it say, still processing?
flyerCO is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 12:45 pm
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by flyerCO View Post
How was the flight coded? If you booked it with an AF/KL code you don't earn. Only VS/DL coded VS operated flights earn.

Also did you upgrade? If so this causes a known issue. Flights get reported as being flown in G, which is a non-revenue (award) class. You'll need to contact DL to manually reprocess.
Perhaps that is the issue. I think I was upgraded. I was in a Premium seat I believe.
Craig Rowland is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 12:48 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: JFK
Posts: 351
Originally Posted by flyerCO View Post
The names have nothing to do with earning. Only the flight marketing and fare class matter.
Yes. But the names can help to indicate the fare class if the OP doesn't know it.
rsqrott is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 1:17 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Programs: DL PM, MR Titanium/LTP, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 8,199
When was your flight? Are we talking like 2 days ago or like 2 months ago?

Partner flights can take some time to post (even if on DL flight numbers, my recent ICN - BKK flight on KE metal but DL flight numbers took longer to post than my KE flight a week later on SIN - ICN). It will show as all 0's for a period of time and if you hover over the reason code it will say "still processing..."

Have you reached out to DL at all? There is a mileage request form on their website where you can upload ticket details including ticket number and a copy of the boarding pass if you have it -- alternatively you can call in, the folks on the phone will be able to do more than anyone on this forum can.
Duke787 is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 2:05 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Programs: SPG LT Gold, DL DM360 1MM
Posts: 602
There is no class (A) listed on delta's earn with miles; if you were upgraded from economy to premium you may show up now as an A but you booked into something else. You'll need to find that detailed reservation and send a request to get the miles per your original booking.

Very hard to find anything on google about VS' A class
http://v-flyer.com/toolbox_fare_codes.php?code=A would say that it doesn't exist
mayhem is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 2:17 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 275
Originally Posted by mayhem View Post
There is no class (A) listed on delta's earn with miles; if you were upgraded from economy to premium you may show up now as an A but you booked into something else. You'll need to find that detailed reservation and send a request to get the miles per your original booking.

Very hard to find anything on google about VS' A class
http://v-flyer.com/toolbox_fare_codes.php?code=A would say that it doesn't exist
Itís listed as Premium Select on a DL flight number. Itís a Delta fare class and earns according to normal Delta rules.

i think it usually takes me about a week to get credit for VS flights? Canít re,e,her for sure. In any case, either there was some system hiccup or more likely the OP is just impatient or got worried when the flight showed up in his Skymiles page but hadnít updated to include the miles yet.
gregsfortytwo is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: