Delta App 5.01 - Opinions

Old Oct 9, 19, 7:47 pm
  #31  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 16,414
Originally Posted by cmd320 View Post
I don't mind it overall, I agree that the seat map contrast could be better. The one thing that really annoys me though is that you have to tap through 4 screens just to access the seat map. On the old app this was not the case.
How so? I'm able to pull up seat maps exactly the same way.

I dont mind the new colors on the eBP. However they screwed up with the harsh white that everything else seem to be now.
flyerCO is offline  
Old Oct 9, 19, 7:48 pm
  #32  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Programs: DL PM
Posts: 2,919
For me, the worst part of this update is the color codes for seats on the seat map - extremely hostile to those of us who have less than perfect color vision.
mnbp is offline  
Old Oct 9, 19, 7:54 pm
  #33  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: OKC
Programs: DL DM/2.5MM, Global Entry, PL_Marriott, GHertz
Posts: 6,154
I have not had time to worry about the colors because when I go to "My Trips" the app keeps trying to update now for over 2 days.

Will that cause me grief when I want to get eBP this weekend? I am able to see individual flights on the next week of travel.
Xeno is offline  
Old Oct 9, 19, 8:09 pm
  #34  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: MCO
Programs: AA, B6, DL, EK, EY, QR, SQ, UA, Amex Plat, RC/MR/SPG Plat, HHonors Gold
Posts: 6,263
Originally Posted by flyerCO View Post
How so? I'm able to pull up seat maps exactly the same way.

I dont mind the new colors on the eBP. However they screwed up with the harsh white that everything else seem to be now.
I used to only have to tap on the trip and there was an option for seat selection. Now I have to tap the trip once, tap it again, then choose seat selection. Is it a big deal? No not really. Iím just not sure why I have to tap the same trip two times before being taken to the menu. Seems redundant.
cmd320 is offline  
Old Oct 10, 19, 12:15 am
  #35  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: ANC
Programs: DL Gold
Posts: 445
Not a fan either of the update - the app is now way too bright, text is small/difficult to read, and the colors are horrendous. I don't really see any added functionality, but won't be able to test the "today" page for another 2 weeks. I wasn't a fan of the website update either. In fact, I have been going to the old search page to book lately (by removing the "2" in the URL, thanks FT!). The new design is uncomfortable on the eyes and also very glitchy (had the CC processor error out multiple times the other night, switched to the old booking engine and worked great!). DL, if you are listening, the new app update is a fail.

Also, the cabins are color coded. On trips that are all Y or all F the colors work fine. But on reservations that are a mixture of cabin classes the color coded seat assignment block tends to switch colors randomly not reflecting the true cabin class.
GagaPilot is offline  
Old Oct 10, 19, 12:28 am
  #36  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Programs: DL PM, Hyatt Top Tier, SPG Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz PC
Posts: 2,034
Too white, too bright, with text that is too small and difficult to read.
Peatisback is offline  
Old Oct 10, 19, 3:50 am
  #37  
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 4,813
Are people who don't like the new version complaining to DL or leaving reviews in the play store or app store? Does DL read this forum?
richarddd is offline  
Old Oct 10, 19, 6:33 am
  #38  
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: CVG
Programs: DL Diamond, Marriott Bonvoy Titanium, HHonors Silver
Posts: 47
New glitch - this morning the app returned an error when I was trying to add a boarding pass to the wallet.
zulu1128 is online now  
Old Oct 10, 19, 10:17 am
  #39  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 114
Originally Posted by richarddd View Post
Are people who don't like the new version complaining to DL or leaving reviews in the play store or app store? Does DL read this forum?
I sent feedback and link to thread to Twitter team
richarddd likes this.
Tine Rod is offline  
Old Oct 10, 19, 6:34 pm
  #40  
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Programs: DL GM, HHG, MG
Posts: 46
Seatmaps not pulling up for an upcoming flight, working just fine on website....anyone else have these issues?
Dutch101 is offline  
Old Oct 10, 19, 9:11 pm
  #41  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rolling Lakes Yacht Club
Posts: 4,531
It still shows my itineraries from 2017 when i open it, and just as in previous versions I have to refresh to get my current list. Lipstick in a pig, imho.
DataPlumber is offline  
Old Oct 11, 19, 11:19 am
  #42  
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: MSY
Programs: Delta Platinum, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 557
Glitch for me... I am getting a FCM offer on the app for $74 for the entire trip for my next itinerary. When I go to purchase it, I discover that it is referring to one segment only and not the entire trip. The website shows the correct offer that it is only for one particular segment.
hhdl likes this.
Smaug is offline  
Old Oct 12, 19, 9:50 am
  #43  
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle, WA;HH Diamond, Avis PS, DL PM & 1MM ... back to travelling the globe consulting aerospace engineering
Posts: 685
on my iPhone it takes about a minute to open my itinerary, about twice as long as it used to.

My biggest grip is that it now takes over 6 minutes (you read that right SIX MINUTES!!) to open the seat map for a flight, even when I have two bars of cell coverage and am connected via Wi-Fi

I work in the software industry, and if I delivered this kind of 'performance enhancement' to one of my customers, I'd be out looking for a job right now
Tine Rod likes this.
goldmedallionflyer is offline  
Old Oct 12, 19, 12:50 pm
  #44  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: SFO/SJC, BWI
Programs: :rolleyes:, DL DM, Mlife Plat, TR 7*, SPG/MR Plat, UA 1K
Posts: 10,387
Originally Posted by goldmedallionflyer View Post
on my iPhone it takes about a minute to open my itinerary, about twice as long as it used to.

My biggest grip is that it now takes over 6 minutes (you read that right SIX MINUTES!!) to open the seat map for a flight, even when I have two bars of cell coverage and am connected via Wi-Fi

I work in the software industry, and if I delivered this kind of 'performance enhancement' to one of my customers, I'd be out looking for a job right now
Same on Android. "My Trips" frequently comes up alarmingly empty, and even when it doesn't (refreshing it can take a minute or more) tapping into an itinerary to view the details sometimes also takes 1-2 minutes before the info comes up.

Fortunately it does appear that once the info is loaded, it is locally cached for a while, but that cache also expires seemingly at random -- it would suck for this to happen as you were getting ready to board a flight. I'm going with screenshots or paper BPs (use the back side of old printouts of stuff to kill fewer trees)

From the outside looking in it seems like maybe whatever service provides itinerary info must be running slow/degraded, although the idea that DL's system is using a modern microservices architecture is fairly amusing.
hhdl likes this.
Zorak is online now  
Old Oct 12, 19, 3:09 pm
  #45  
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 13
Originally Posted by Zorak View Post
From the outside looking in it seems like maybe whatever service provides itinerary info must be running slow/degraded, although the idea that DL's system is using a modern microservices architecture is fairly amusing.
Monolith all the way (probably J2EE). Singletons like there's no tomorrow.
hhdl is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread