European Novice-Routing questions

Old May 15, 19, 11:45 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Programs: DL DM & 2MMô, Lifetime HHonors Diamond, Cholula General Member
European Novice-Routing questions

I am a domestic pro but a European novice. Mostly looking at departing IND but could do CVG.

So, my question is routing to Munich. Looks like it will mostly be 763 in D1 no matter where I connect. Looks like my one stop connections are DTW, ATL and CDG. There may be others. Assuming the price (in this case mileage) is the same (and it isn't for my experimental days), which is the best option?

On the return, I am looking at going out of Nice. One stops are CDG (763), JFK (764),.There may be others. I can two stop it on a 787, A350, 777....and there may be others.

If the price in miles isn't the same, would any particular routing or aircraft justify a premium in your opinion?

Last edited by indufan; May 15, 19 at 12:25 pm
Old May 15, 19, 12:00 pm

The 763 isn't awful if you can get row 1 bulkhead, but I would take a two stop connection to avoid if the price is the same if it meant a more comfortable flight. AMS is a better connection point than CDG. The KL 787 was nice and that would be my first choice. The DL A330 is a comfortable option as well. DL 777 may be fairly worn out if they have not been reconfigured yet and I would avoid the 777 on KL/AF. My first A350 D1 flight is coming up soon, so can't speak to that yet.
Old May 15, 19, 12:09 pm

Programs: FlyingBlue Gold; Skymiles Platinum
Originally Posted by indufan View Post
I am a domestic pro but a European novice.

So, my question is routing to Munich. Looks like it will mostly be 763 in D1 no matter where I connect. Looks like my one stop connections are DTW, ATL and CDG. There may be others. Assuming the price (in this case mileage) is the same (and it isn't for my experimental days), which is the best option?