Community
Wiki Posts
Search

D1 Purchase Waitlist

Search this Thread

Old May 15, 2019, 8:00 am
Original Poster

D1 Purchase Waitlist

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to upgrades, pls excuse me if this is a dumb question -- flying for work next week but D1 is completely sold out, currently in C+ and the agent put me on the wait list to purchase a D1 seat if one becomes available. I'm wondering how this wait list is prioritized against other comp'd status upgrades, award upgrades, UCs, etc? I would think that a cash purchase would be ahead, but I'm not sure. Thanks in advance!
Old May 15, 2019, 8:23 am

Programs: DL GM 1MM, MR LT Titanium
I've never heard of such a thing in 10+ years of flying DL. I have a feeling the agent made something up to try to make you happy. You'll need to keep checking yourself to see if any D1 seats are for sale. You could also set an alert through ExpertFlyer to tell you when a D1 seat opens up.
Spiff, hi55us, crjtraveler and 2 others like this.
Old May 15, 2019, 8:25 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

The only D1 flights that have comp upgrades for Medallions are domestic D1 flights. Medallions will get bumped up from time-to-time for operational reasons (sold out coach seats) on international D1, but they have no rights or priority over paying customers or customers using upgrade certs or miles to upgrade. In the majority of cases where there open D1 seats on international flights, Medallions who are in coach will not get upgraded and the seats will go out empty.
jbeans likes this.
Old May 15, 2019, 8:28 am
Original Poster

This is for D1 on SFO-JFK. I've never heard of such a wait list either! But the receipt from my company travel portal shows I'm wait listed for fare classes D, C, and J.

I will continue to monitor for availability myself as well. Thanks @LoganFlyer for the reminder, I've just set up an alert on expertflyer.

Last edited by jbeans; May 15, 2019 at 8:33 am
Old May 15, 2019, 8:56 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist