Help with upgrade question

Old Apr 20, 19, 9:10 am
Original Poster

Help with upgrade question

Long story short, I have a flight from Hawaii to SLC to ATL and was booked a Comfort plus seat (W) flying alone. On the SLC to ATL, I'm stuck with a middle seat. I am a novice flyer and have no upgrade status. At this time, there are 9 first class seats available. Will it be possible to change my middle seat to a window or aisle seat if someone is upgraded to first class that just so happens to be in Comfort plus? If so how and what should I be on the look out for? Thanks!

Old Apr 20, 19, 9:21 am

Programs: Yes
Certainly possible. Upgrade window for elites opens at 5 days out from flight. Although, depending on how far out your flight is out, there may not be many seats left for upgrades. It's a hub-to-hub route and there are likely a fair number of first class seat purchases. ExpertFlyer has a free seat alert feature -- https://www.expertflyer.com/
Old Apr 20, 19, 9:27 am

At the gate, I have almost perfect success in getting a better seat when I fly confirmed. Itís all about understanding the timeline of gate agent seating changes.

First, continue to monitor the seat map regularly until youíre at the gate.

Once youíre at the gate, simply ask the gate agent about what time theyíll start clearing upgrades. Usually itís D-40.

The nice thing is seat control isnít usually taken until D-30, so you have a 10-minute window when the GA is moving C+ passengers to F while you can also move yourself. When upgrades start clearing, refresh the seat map continuously and try to poach a newly vacant and better seat.

You could also ask the GA to move you when better seats are free, but itís unlikely depending on how busy the GA is.
hortkie and Spiff like this.
Old Apr 20, 19, 9:53 am
Original Poster

Originally Posted by xliioper View Post