Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

Simultaneous Submit to overcome Z1 inventory

Simultaneous Submit to overcome Z1 inventory

Old Feb 22, 19, 4:05 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 4,494
Simultaneous Submit to overcome Z1 inventory

Trying to get two seats at cheapest J pricing with Z1 inventory.
Anyone have experience with ticketing one in each of two browsers with simulatenous submit?
DL.com and Expedia (via AMEX).
Colin is offline  
Old Feb 22, 19, 4:16 pm
  #2  
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Programs: DL Diamond, UA Silver, HHonors Diamond, Marriott Ambassador
Posts: 845
It won't work. One seat in Z = one seat in Z. You cannot magically make another Z seat appear with this trick...

Whichever browser is second to the finish line will most likely error out with the webpage displaying the fare has gone up.
Often1 likes this.
bj27 is offline  
Old Feb 22, 19, 8:43 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BOS
Programs: DL DM 1MM, Marriott LT Titanium, Hertz PC
Posts: 12,703
Yeah the DL system is smarter/faster than you can be in this case. One of the browsers will win and one will loose.
rylan is offline  
Old Feb 22, 19, 8:52 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere
Programs: Delta FO (I use to be More)
Posts: 2,918
i had a similar issue happen before but I wasn't trying to simultaneously book. I guess I was just the slower of the two people. I called Delta up and they honored the price I was originally quoted. But ymmv
HWGeeks is offline  
Old Feb 22, 19, 9:08 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SLC & NYC
Programs: Diamond Medallion, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 662
Originally Posted by Colin View Post
Trying to get two seats at cheapest J pricing with Z1 inventory.
Anyone have experience with ticketing one in each of two browsers with simulatenous submit?
DL.com and Expedia (via AMEX).
I can't say too much, but having intimate knowledge of how the reservation code works, this is impossible. The inventory column is briefly locked while a reservation is made. First one in wins.
sdadept is offline  
Old Feb 22, 19, 9:14 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Programs: DL PM 1MM
Posts: 3,111
There's nothing that says once a Z ticket is sold, that the airline won't ever decide to add another seat to the Z bucket. Maybe in an hour, maybe in a day, maybe in a week. Maybe.
SquarePeg likes this.
mnbp is offline  
Old Feb 22, 19, 11:20 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,516
If the TA has guaranteed sell then it would overbook Z. I doubt DL gives that to anyone other than maybe partner airlines though.
audio-nut is offline  
Old Feb 23, 19, 4:26 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ATL
Programs: Delta Plat
Posts: 5,843
Originally Posted by rylan View Post
Yeah the DL system is smarter/faster than you can be in this case. One of the browsers will win and one will loose.
Not that it helps OP, but I vote that IE loses 😎
SJC ORD LDR and TheHorta like this.
exwannabe is offline  
Old Feb 23, 19, 5:16 am
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Programs: DL 1 million, AA 1 mil, HH lapsed Diamond, Marriott Plat
Posts: 28,192
Originally Posted by sdadept View Post
I can't say too much, but having intimate knowledge of how the reservation code works, this is impossible. The inventory column is briefly locked while a reservation is made. First one in wins.
I'm interested in that mechanism. I have found itineraries (non-stop, so it's not a married segment thing) found by ITA Matrix that did not find inventory on delta.com or aa.com. But Orbitz has been able to ticket them at the ITA Matrix price, and tickets were honored for travel.
TheHorta likes this.

Last edited by 3Cforme; Feb 23, 19 at 6:49 am
3Cforme is offline  
Old Feb 23, 19, 5:31 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hands of Fate
Programs: MR LT(!)TE, DL PM MM, HTZ PC, 2V Fanboi, CBP GE, Uber Gold
Posts: 4,801
Originally Posted by sdadept View Post
I can't say too much, but having intimate knowledge of how the reservation code works, this is impossible. The inventory column is briefly locked while a reservation is made. First one in wins.
I don't think you have to worry about disclosing proprietary information here, this is how any well written inventory management system (and any ACID compliant database system) will work. When attempting to update inventory, a write lock must be obtained on the inventory counter (and only one request can hold a write lock at any given time), then the value of the counter is verified (this is where Z might now = 0 if an almost simultaneous sale were to take place), then the value of the counter is updated, then the write lock is released and the sale processed.
Spiff, cre95 and Often1 like this.
bennos is offline  
Old Feb 23, 19, 5:36 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hands of Fate
Programs: MR LT(!)TE, DL PM MM, HTZ PC, 2V Fanboi, CBP GE, Uber Gold
Posts: 4,801
Originally Posted by 3Cforme View Post
I'm interested in that mechanism. I have found itineraries (non-stop, so it's not a married segment thing) found by ITA Matrix that did not found inventory on delta.com or aa.com. But Orbitz has been able to ticket them at the ITA Matrix price, and tickets were honored for travel.
There's a difference between searching for available inventory and booking it once found. It's entirely plausible that ITA has better searching algorithms than the airline websites (airline inventory searches are a notoriously difficult computational problem to solve), or that caches got in the way, or that the website had a bug, or that the website implemented a different search algorithm, etc. If for whatever reason the search doesn't find existing inventory then the frontend has no way to know to ask to book it.

Last edited by bennos; Feb 23, 19 at 5:55 am
bennos is offline  
Old Feb 23, 19, 6:42 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Programs: Amtrak Guest Rewards (SE), Virgin America Elevate, Hyatt Gold Passport (Platinum), VIA Preference
Posts: 2,145
Originally Posted by bennos View Post
There's a difference between searching for available inventory and booking it once found. It's entirely plausible that ITA has better searching algorithms than the airline websites (airline inventory searches are a notoriously difficult computational problem to solve), or that caches got in the way, or that the website had a bug, or that the website implemented a different search algorithm, etc. If for whatever reason the search doesn't find existing inventory then the frontend has no way to know to ask to book it.
Book With Matrix actually helped me "shake" a cheaper fare loose a few weeks ago. DL was trying to quote me a higher rate than I was seeing. I called in, they could only see the higher fare, but Book With Matrix led me to the fare in question (which I was then able to book via Delta.com, much to my shock). Someone was probably querying inventory differently.

Of course, another time in the last few weeks I was also able to find a fare on Matrix and the agent was able to see it as well, so there was probably just a gremlin in the system.
GrayAnderson is offline  
Old Feb 23, 19, 6:57 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Programs: DL 1 million, AA 1 mil, HH lapsed Diamond, Marriott Plat
Posts: 28,192
Originally Posted by bennos View Post
There's a difference between searching for available inventory and booking it once found. It's entirely plausible that ITA has better searching algorithms than the airline websites (airline inventory searches are a notoriously difficult computational problem to solve), or that caches got in the way, or that the website had a bug, or that the website implemented a different search algorithm, etc. If for whatever reason the search doesn't find existing inventory then the frontend has no way to know to ask to book it.
Thanks for the comments but I'm talking about the most basic of r/t itineraries: one segment in each direction, same marketing/operating carrier. If aa.com and delta.com can't handle that it's time to go back to marks on a chalkboard. I'm wondering if Orbitz was selling inventory from a cache that AA/DL had exhausted, and the carriers allowed the transactions to go through, anyway.

Last edited by 3Cforme; Feb 23, 19 at 7:17 am
3Cforme is offline  
Old Feb 23, 19, 7:12 am
  #14  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 90,444
Some of these systems use somewhat outdated information for the search and then only verify real time inventory availability during the purchase step. This is why one sometimes sees the message that the fare is no longer available after it appears during a search. The alternative of setting aside inventory during the search would be less desirable, although I see this happening on other types of websites that sell restricted inventory and tell you that it's being held for you for a certain period of time. Starriott Bonvoy shows the time remaining, although apparently doesn't pull the inventory until you go past the search phase and begin to book the room. Eventbrite appears to set aside the tickets at an earlier stage (again showing you have much time you have to complete the transaction), although typically on that website there's no search and consider step as one goes there to purchase a ticket to some particular event.

In the famous "fraudulent" ticketing case of the AA elite who did searches to check likely upgrade availability. It was claimed that AA sets aside inventory and creates a PNR at a much earlier phase than other airline websites generally do.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Feb 23, 19, 7:58 am
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 11,508
Originally Posted by Colin View Post
Trying to get two seats at cheapest J pricing with Z1 inventory.
Anyone have experience with ticketing one in each of two browsers with simulatenous submit?
DL.com and Expedia (via AMEX).
There is no such thing as simultaneous submit in systems. Central database process requests sequentially, even if just by 1/1000000 of a second.
TerryK is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: