Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

DL to Hawaii - No upgrades avail and crazy 1st class pricing?

Old Oct 25, 18, 12:10 am
Original Poster

Programs: MVPG75K

I am asking more because I am curious than anything else. I will admit I am not an expert on upgrades, using miles or ticket pricing (but clearly may of the people on this forum spend a significant amount of time understanding this stuff... so figured you might have answers.) I am a DM and have been for many years... not via a CC or any mileage runs, etc. I earn my status the old fashioned way of sitting on airplanes as I travel for work. Anyway, every March I take my wife to Maui for a week. I usually purchase a SEA-OGG RT ticket in coach for each of us and then use some miles to upgrade. Usually the tickets are $600-$700 each and then I use 50-70k miles each to upgrade. This year I booked the tickets but there is no option to upgrade with miles.. the option on the website is just gone. First is wide open, but no way to use miles to get upgraded. I called the DM line and the agent said she would figure it out and she came back after trying 5 different things and said she has not idea why but she can't do anything either (she said the option to use miles should be there any she had never seen it not show up.) I also had the option of using GUC or domestic upgrades but she said that wasn't avail either and there was already a long wait list. Every option the agent tried to find a way to get us up to 1st wasn't available. And again... 1st is wide open, only 2 seats taken (the agent kept telling me this.) So I figured okay, I will just purchase 1st class tickets this time thinking DL is just holding back any upgrades in hopes to sell 1st tickets. Well that's where it gets a little puzzling... Delta want's $4k per person for an RT 1st class ticket (so $8k total) from SEA->OGG->SEA (on a flight that is wide open in 1st.) What is