Search

Delta Wants To Be 797 Launch Customer

Search this Thread

Old Feb 18, 2018, 3:51 pm
Suspended
Original Poster

Programs: Delta SkySponge ExtraAbsorbent, SPG Gold
Originally Posted by apolloms
sure. I'm a major airline pilot. I've flown with countless other pilots that have flown both. It makes no difference which one you fly first. The hardest part of the transition is the completely different FMS. Someone that has spent 10 years on a boeing transitioning to airbus is going to have the exact same problems as someone that has spent 10 years on an airbus switching to boeing.
Airbus is the odd man out with their non-responsive flight sticks, throttles, and flight envelope system. Most every pilot has used a convention flight control column before getting into an Airbus. With Boeing, Embraer, Bombardier (except C SERIES), Cessna, Gulfsfream, Beech, etc. all using pretty much the same system it stands to reason that an Airbus pilot has previous flying experience with it. That's why I said I would think it would easier for an Airbus pilot to transition to Boeing as they almost certainly have precious experience in similar aircraft.
Old Feb 18, 2018, 4:03 pm
Suspended
Original Poster

the forum you linked is general aviation pilots who even admitted they have never flown either...not a stellar source. Had you said that about MD88 training i'd absolutely agree with you.
I first saw it on a blog from a Jetblue pilot going from the E190 to the A320. I'll see if I can find it for you. I'm not sure why some of you take Airbus so personally. I like Boeing but I even said that Delta should move to an all Airbus fleet to achieve better efficiency since they will have so few Boeings in the fleet in a few years.
Old Feb 18, 2018, 4:41 pm

Programs: DL PM, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Plat, Hilton Diamond
Originally Posted by readywhenyouare