Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

New Silver Status - Likelihood of Upgrade?

Old Jan 3, 18, 2:19 pm
Original Poster

I'm new to getting status to an airline. Reached Silver (yes, I know it's not the highest tier).

I'm flying from LAX - JFK towards the end of January. Booked Delta+ Comfort and I check the seats everyday to see how many Delta One seats are available. Seems like a lot.
What is the likelihood I'd get upgraded to Delta One?
Old Jan 3, 18, 2:25 pm

Programs: Delta PM, Marriott Ambassador
Originally Posted by rubytraveler View Post
I'm new to getting status to an airline. Reached Silver (yes, I know it's not the highest tier).

I'm flying from LAX - JFK towards the end of January. Booked Delta+ Comfort and I check the seats everyday to see how many Delta One seats are available. Seems like a lot.
What is the likelihood I'd get upgraded to Delta One?
Day of the week is a factor but still probably be "very low" would be my guess, even if you're on a Saturday flight. Many of these seats probably sell closer to departure and many others may go to Diamonds and Platinums who have Regional Upgrade Certs (RUCs) waitlisted, which may not even clear until right before boarding at the gate.
Old Jan 3, 18, 2:26 pm
LBJ
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: DL DM
Zero -- Domestic D1 flights are not eligible for Medallion Complimentary upgrades until Apr 1.
https://www.delta.com/content/www/en...-upgrades.html

Even after that date, your chances will likely be non-existent for all practical purposes.
Old Jan 3, 18, 2:26 pm
Original Poster

Thanks. It's a Sunday flight to JFK and Thurs night flight back to LAX.
Old Jan 3, 18, 2:28 pm
TTT
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: DL DM MM, HH Diamond
Thanks. It's a Sunday flight to JFK and Thurs night flight back to LAX.
Prime business times I'm afraid. I would expect your chances to be close to zero.
rubytraveler likes this.
Old Jan 3, 18, 2:32 pm