Search

Fares not published online

Search this Thread

Old Aug 29, 2017, 9:48 am
TTT
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: DL DM MM, HH Diamond
Originally Posted by techie
I am not an expert in these things, but I would have thought that the fare must be published in some way, shape or form for it to be bookable via Expedia online.
The individual fares are published. When doing this you are buying a JAX-ATL fare and a ATL-TPA fare. Separate fares for each segment.

Delta does not publish a JAX-TPA fare.
Old Aug 29, 2017, 12:47 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Delta Diamond, United 1K, BA Blue, Marriott Titanium, Hilton Gold, Amex Platinum
Originally Posted by 3Cforme
That's not a problem of Delta failing to serve a viable market. That's a problem of failing to understand U.S. geography at a level taught to sixth-graders.

https://books.google.com/books?id=g6...20maps&f=false

Enjoy a Silver Airways Saab 340 non-stop scheduled at 67 minutes.
Actually, I will "enjoy" AA's CRJ/Airbus/Embraer via either CLT or MIA.
Originally Posted by LBJ
Contrary to the agent's assertion, this trip can be found and booked as a single ticket on the website simply by using multi-city search. There is no DL published fare for this route, so the ticket consists of two separate one-way fares combined on a single ticket. The delta.com one-way search will sometimes price out broken fare options, but not always (and it may not always be the cheapest). Other websites are more capable of piecing together broken fare options which is why you were able to find it on them. Your cheapest option is two X fares (fare code XAVNL0MB) for $220 total. Even though they share the same fare code these are actually two different fare filings with separate pricings (one for JAX-ATL and one for ATL-TPA). There are some slightly cheaper one-way E, V, X fares available, but they cannot be combined on a single ticket because of the following fare rule in the combinability section --