Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

New delta medallion, flying jfk-vce w wife. Tips?

Old Aug 24, 17, 4:38 am
Original Poster

Hi all,

I'm sorry to post such a newbie question but I could use tips/experience/help. I'm new to status flying, and have earned delta gold status already this year (good thru all of 2018).

I'm flying JFK-VCE w my wife and I was hoping to make that special in whatever way possible. I booked the trip before reaching any status and am wondering what, if any, benefits I should/could take advantage of. I guess I am not complimentary upgrade eligible? Is that accurate? Can I become upgrade eligible or otherwise get an upgrade? I am open to using points to upgrade within reason.

Details: flight #s DL 474/475. Fare V,X

In addition to Delta status I also have Amex Platinum and Delta Reserve cards and several other lounge/status memberships.

Thank you very much.
Old Aug 24, 17, 5:48 am
LBJ
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: DL DM
No, long-haul international is not complimentary upgrade eligible. Unless you can make Diamond status at which point you can choose 4 one-way Global Upgrade Certificates as a choice benefit. For international mileage upgrade awards, you need a K fare or higher. A V and X fare are the two lowest fare classes (above Basic Economy) and are not eligible for mileage upgrades.
Old Aug 24, 17, 5:49 am

Programs: UA, DL-PM
Welcome to the forum! Unfortunately, you are correct...complimentary upgrades generally do not exist on International flights. Others can weigh in on the "using points" approach, but in general, I don't believe that the V,X fares you are booked in can be upgraded with points. Generally, you have to book a higher-price "upgradeable" fare in order to then apply your points and apply for the upgrade. Venice, no matter how you get there, is lovely, so enjoy!
Old Aug 24, 17, 6:14 am

Programs: Delta PM, 1MM