Any SkyTeam flights to Doha (DOH)?

Old Aug 2, 17, 6:13 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Programs: DL DM | 1 Million Miler
Posts: 144
Any SkyTeam flights to Doha (DOH)?

My boss just asked me to fly to Qatar.

I might have to decline because there are no flights out of Boston to Doha on any SkyTeam partners.

Any hints or advice before I turn my boss down? If he asks why, I'll tell him my wife said no. .

Maybe I can fly to Amsterdam and then fly on a different airline?
mfong is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 6:18 pm
  #2  
formerly B7e7US
Hyatt Contributor BadgeMarriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep. / Washington, DC
Programs: AA/DL PLT, Priority Pass, Marriott / Hilton Gold, JetBlue Mosaic, Hertz Presidents Circle, Amex Plat
Posts: 4,236
Originally Posted by mfong View Post
My boss just asked me to fly to Qatar.

I might have to decline because there are no flights out of Boston to Doha on any SkyTeam partners.

Any hints or advice before I turn my boss down? If he asks why, I'll tell him my wife said no. .

Maybe I can fly to Amsterdam and then fly on a different airline?
BOS-CDG-AMM-DOH with the short AMM-DOH on either RJ or QR.

BOS-CDG-BEY-DOH with AF and MEA - All Skyteam
SDQBound is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 6:32 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: RDU
Programs: DL SM, AAdvantage, SPG
Posts: 1,162
Originally Posted by SDQBound View Post
BOS-CDG-BEY-DOH with AF and MEA - All Skyteam
I was about to suggest this option as well (DL could also work for BOS-CDG).

Even though it fits OP's wish, the layover in BEY seems lengthy on the outbound. But if your wife doesn't want you to go...
FlyerWx is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 7:12 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Programs: DL DM | 1 Million Miler
Posts: 144
Thanks guys.

For some reason Delta/Google Flight/and Concur don't show those routes. Maybe I can sweet talk both Concur and my wife to see if they can fly me those routes.
mfong is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 7:35 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Programs: delta diamond, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 342
Originally Posted by mfong View Post
My boss just asked me to fly to Qatar.

I might have to decline because there are no flights out of Boston to Doha on any SkyTeam partners.

Any hints or advice before I turn my boss down? If he asks why, I'll tell him my wife said no. .

Maybe I can fly to Amsterdam and then fly on a different airline?
I recently flew SEA-AMS-Doha. The AMS Doha flight was on KLM. Flew business class and the AMS-Doha seats were angled lie flat...not the best. The flight from Doha left around 11:00pm and got into Ams early in the morning.
tbeard is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 7:39 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Programs: DL DM | 1 Million Miler
Posts: 144
Originally Posted by tbeard View Post
I recently flew SEA-AMS-Doha. The AMS Doha flight was on KLM. Flew business class and the AMS-Doha seats were angled lie flat...not the best. The flight from Doha left around 11:00pm and got into Ams early in the morning.
Thanks for sharing. That would be perfect. I'm going to see how frequent the flights are so I can line it up with my arrival from Boston.
mfong is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 7:40 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ/New York, NY/ATL
Programs: DL DM MM, BIS 2.1MM, EK Gold, SQ Silver, Marriott Gold, HH Gold,
Posts: 4,649
Why not fly the myriad of far superior and more comfortable carriers? EK/EY/QR etc that operate to DOH?
DLATL777 is online now  
Old Aug 2, 17, 7:43 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: IND
Programs: DL DM, UA & AA Peeon, Hilton/Starwood Gold
Posts: 850
I think AMS-DOH is 4x weekly.

BEY is a decent airport, was there last month, but a word of caution, the Cedar Lounge there is undergoing major renovation and is not a place you'd want to spend lots of time.
CGNC is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 7:43 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Programs: DL DM | 1 Million Miler
Posts: 144
Originally Posted by DLATL777 View Post
Why not fly the myriad of far superior and more comfortable carriers? EK/EY/QR etc that operate to DOH?
Because I'm barely going to hold onto Diamond this year.
mfong is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 7:51 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: RDU
Programs: DL SM, AAdvantage, SPG
Posts: 1,162
Originally Posted by mfong View Post
Thanks for sharing. That would be perfect. I'm going to see how frequent the flights are so I can line it up with my arrival from Boston.
To my knowledge, these flights don't exist anymore on KLM -- which kinda screws up the frequency

On commencement of its 2017 summer schedule, KLM Royal Dutch Airlines will be adjusting its schedule for flights between Schiphol and four Gulf States. KLM will also suspend direct service to Doha (Qatar) from 26 March 2017. This service has proven unprofitable since Qatar Airlines launched direct service to Schiphol in June 2015. Discontinuing service to Doha brings an end to KLM’s 33-year presence in Qatar. KLM’s flights to Dubai remain unchanged.
Source: http://news.klm.com/klm-adjusts-sche...o-gulf-states/
FlyerWx is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 7:56 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: DCA
Programs: AA Gold, DL PM, UA Silver, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 5,967
Looks like the last SkyTeam partner at DOH is Middle East Airlines (Lebanon).

You might be able to assemble some bizarre BOS-CDG-BEY-DOH routing, but honestly, just take Qatar or Turkish.
KDCAflyer is online now  
Old Aug 2, 17, 8:02 pm
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Programs: DL DM | 1 Million Miler
Posts: 144
Originally Posted by WWads View Post
Looks like the last SkyTeam partner at DOH is Middle East Airlines (Lebanon).

You might be able to assemble some bizarre BOS-CDG-BEY-DOH routing, but honestly, just take Qatar or Turkish.
I might do that if my company gives me some uplifts and $$$. There's a nonstop on Qatar Airlines from BOS - DOH.
mfong is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 8:06 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: DCA
Programs: AA Gold, DL PM, UA Silver, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 5,967
Originally Posted by mfong View Post
I might do that if my company gives me some uplifts and $$$. There's a nonstop on Qatar Airlines from BOS - DOH.
Another option is to fly SkyTeam as far as possible, to IST most likely. Then take another airline on a separate ticket.

Again though, that Qatar flight is best.
KDCAflyer is online now  
Old Aug 2, 17, 8:07 pm
  #14  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Programs: DL DM | 1 Million Miler
Posts: 144
Originally Posted by WWads View Post
Another option is to fly SkyTeam as far as possible, to IST most likely. Then take another airline on a separate ticket.

Again though, that Qatar flight is best.
Yeah my plan was to fly to AMS, then I saw that CDG is the better option.

I'll see what pans out when the plans firm up. I also have to see if Concur would let me book that route through BEY.
mfong is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 8:09 pm
  #15  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SEA
Programs: UA Silver, BA Gold, DL Gold
Posts: 9,779
Originally Posted by DLATL777 View Post
Why not fly the myriad of far superior and more comfortable carriers? EK/EY/QR etc that operate to DOH?
Ummm... EK and EY do not currently operate to DOH. And EY doesn't fly to BOS.
pbarnette is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: