Book on DL, flying VS

Old Sep 12, 16, 8:14 pm
Original Poster

Programs: DL GM 2 Million Miler, UA, AA, FN, Marriott Gold, Holiday Inn Plat, Hyatt Plat
Book on DL, flying VS

Embarrassing question ... I have been flying for 40 years and have 2 MM with DL but have a question that only this group of friends can answer (hopefully in kindness).

I am booked on DL on Sept. 24 but flying on Virgin from ATL to LHR. First time on Virgin, looking for a little different experience. Do I check in at the international terminal with DL (surely VS does not have desk for one or two flights a day) or is there a VS desk?

If I check in with VS (assuming they have an agent) should I check in online with the DL app or download the VS app and use it for check in? I'm flying Premium Economy (with carry-on luggage) so hoping for a more pleasant experience than my DL Economy+ seats to Moscow and CDG.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old Sep 12, 16, 8:36 pm

Programs: UA, SPG, Hilton Gold, Hyatt (Lifetime Diamond downgraded to Explorist)
From the VS ATL page "Counter check in: You’ll find our check in desks in Row 3 (door 2) of the International Terminal. Check in opens at 14:30 and closes at 16:30. Once we’ve got you checked in it’s a good idea to head straight through security and immigration, as the check in area can get busy."
VS PE is a good product. Comfortable seating & good entertainment.
Old Sep 12, 16, 9:16 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge

Programs: DL DM, AA EXP, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
You checkin using the airline operating your flight. This means if using an app, use the VS app. Yes VS normally has its own checkin, even at JFK they have their own checkin positions. DL may man the positions with DL agents in VS uniforms at some locations.

DL currently has no PE product. C+ is simply a slightly elevated level of service in the main cabin. It's one of the reasons I feel DL misrepresents C+ as PE with the change to W fares.