Unable to OLCI question

Reply

Old Sep 11, 16, 8:29 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DTW-DCA
Posts: 54
Unable to OLCI question

Hi!

I'm flying FCO-DTW tomorrow on DL, with a ticket booked on KLM, and I can't OLCI.

Should I anticipate any issues at the airport? I have Global Entry, but this is the first time using it.

I have a unique booking, as I arrived in Europe using United points on LH. This return is actually an open jaw, FCO-DTW, with DTW-AMS-MIL next April. I booked this was as it was much cheaper than a one-way and I plan on visiting again next year. I'm rretuning with points on that trip.
Dom Bologna is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 16, 8:46 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central FL
Programs: DL Plat; Marriott Plat; HHonors Gold; Avis Preferred, Hertz PC
Posts: 498
I suspect you'll be subject to additional screening at the gate. Just returned from ZRH last week and one of our 6-person travel party couldn't do OLCI. Found out at the gate that she had been selected for additional screening.
jalves is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 16, 8:56 am
  #3  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 78,707
It could be that DL thinks you need a visa.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 16, 9:33 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DTW-DCA
Posts: 54
Haha, thanks, I figured as much. It's a 1130am flight, and as long as I make my train connection at Roma termini, Ill be at FCO at 915am, which should be plenty of time.
Dom Bologna is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 16, 11:23 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: XXX and sometimes YYY
Programs: DL DM, Hilton DM
Posts: 440
I had a similar experiences. After checking in I saw the sssss on my ticket. Just had to go through additional security. (Flew in on one airline flying back on another.)

Last edited by securesmaskfirst; Sep 11, 16 at 11:23 am Reason: Punctuation matters.
securesmaskfirst is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 16, 11:40 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: CHS
Programs: Delta 360/DM/2MM, UA Gold, AA Gold, Marriott Ambassador Elite/Lifetime Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 114
Originally Posted by Dom Bologna View Post
I'm flying FCO-DTW tomorrow on DL, with a ticket booked on KLM, and I can't OLCI.
FWIW I regularly travel on international codeshare itinerary and frequently cannot check in. If you cannot check in via KLM website, send a direct message to @KLM on Twitter if you have concerns. They are quite responsive, as are Delta.
webmarks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 16, 5:43 pm
  #7  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 78,707
Originally Posted by webmarks View Post
FWIW I regularly travel on international codeshare itinerary and frequently cannot check in. If you cannot check in via KLM website, send a direct message to @KLM on Twitter if you have concerns. They are quite responsive, as are Delta.
The last time OLCI didn't work for me, I called DL where the DM line agent said it's because I needed a visa. I said that this was wrong, but the agent insisted that this was why I couldn't check in. After a frustrating hour on the phone nothing was resolved, but I was concerned about the message to arrive at the airport three hours early.

DL really needs to do something to fix all of the erroneous stuff about passengers needing visas when they do NOT need a visa.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 16, 5:47 pm
  #8  
formerly B7e7US
Marriott Contributor Badge 2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Paris / Santo Domingo / Washington, DC
Programs: AA PLT, DL PLT,SPG, Priority Pass, Accor LeClub Gold, Thalys Gold, JetBlue Mosaic, Other shiny cards
Posts: 3,829
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
DL really needs to do something to fix all of the erroneous stuff about passengers needing visas when they do NOT need a visa.
This. Not long time ago, I had issues while checking in because the system was telling the agent I needed a visa for The Netherlands but not for France, as she specified I had a French resident permit, which allows me to enter or freely move through any schengen state.
SDQBound is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 16, 5:48 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: OKC
Programs: DL DM/2.5MM, Global Entry, GL_Marriott, GHertz
Posts: 5,884
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/delta...enied-gru.html

That thread reports on my recent issue with OLCI and the 'visa' problem. I will know in 30 minutes if the return suffers the same fate.

However, I often have trouble in Europe when returning on AF or KLM so I found it best to use their app for OLCI.
Xeno is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 16, 1:06 am
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DTW-DCA
Posts: 54
I arrived at 800 for a 1130 flight and got the SSSS on my boarding pass. Just about all my stuff is in my checked bag. I just have my electronics and a Miss Frascati cookie for my brother (look it up). I haven't received any extra screening yet, but theyre checking people from the prior flight at the gate. I have Sky priority, so I'll be near the front.

I just got global entry and this is the first time using it. I didn't even get TSA precheck on the way here as LH doesn't participate.
Dom Bologna is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 16, 3:33 am
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DTW-DCA
Posts: 54
Yep, I got the friendly pat down and bag inspection at the gate. Thank you to the posters who said I'd get SSSS. I sped things up by checking most of my stuff!

I wanted to say "Ladies and gentlemen, I implore you." During the pat down
Dom Bologna is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 16, 4:01 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pagus Bracbatensis, Kingdom of the Netherlands
Programs: DL SPlat, KLM Bump, Privium Plus, GOES
Posts: 1,881
Originally Posted by Dom Bologna View Post
I just got global entry and this is the first time using it. I didn't even get TSA precheck on the way here as LH doesn't participate.
They do participate:

Aeromexico
Air Canada
Alaska Airlines
Allegiant Air
American Airlines
Cape Air
Delta Air Lines
Etihad Airways
Hawaiian Airlines
JetBlue Airways
Lufthansa
OneJet
Seaborne Airlines
Southwest Airlines
Sun Country Airlines
United Airlines
Virgin America
WestJet
Grouchy is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 16, 4:56 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: PBI/FLL/MIA
Programs: DL DM/2MM, MR Ambassador, National EE
Posts: 1,613
Originally Posted by Dom Bologna View Post
Hi!

I'm flying FCO-DTW tomorrow on DL, with a ticket booked on KLM, and I can't OLCI.

Should I anticipate any issues at the airport? I have Global Entry, but this is the first time using it.

I have a unique booking, as I arrived in Europe using United points on LH. This return is actually an open jaw, FCO-DTW, with DTW-AMS-MIL next April. I booked this was as it was much cheaper than a one-way and I plan on visiting again next year. I'm rretuning with points on that trip.
I flew MAD-MIA on IB over the weekend and couldn't do OLCI. Called IB and was told that US-bound flights are not OLCI-eligible. Don't do a lot of International travel so I took them at their word and checked in at the airport counter with no issues / additional screening, etc.
krlcomm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 16, 5:59 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, AA EXP, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 14,624
Originally Posted by Grouchy View Post
They do participate:

Aeromexico
Air Canada
Alaska Airlines
Allegiant Air
American Airlines
Cape Air
Delta Air Lines
Etihad Airways
Hawaiian Airlines
JetBlue Airways
Lufthansa
OneJet
Seaborne Airlines
Southwest Airlines
Sun Country Airlines
United Airlines
Virgin America
WestJet
Depends when poster flew. I believe it just went active on the 2nd or so.
flyerCO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 16, 7:41 am
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DTW-DCA
Posts: 54
Originally Posted by flyerCO View Post
Depends when poster flew. I believe it just went active on the 2nd or so.
Correct, I flew out on the 1st; missed it by a day, I guess. I didn't even realize they had been added. Nice to know, though!
Dom Bologna is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread