Security lines at SFO?

Old May 17, 16, 7:04 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NYC
Programs: DL Platinum, AA EXP, UA Silver, Hyatt Globalist, Bonvoy Plt / LTG, Amtrak Select+
Posts: 854
Security lines at SFO?

I just found out a client meeting is going to be starting an hour later than I expected. I won't be able to leave until 1pm and will be getting to SFO ~ 1:30pm for a 2:10pm SFO to JFK flight.

I have pre-check and skypriority. Will I be able to make my flight? Am I cutting it short? How have the pre-check lines usually been at SFO for the transcon?
uppereastsider is offline  
Old May 17, 16, 7:29 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Programs: DL GM, Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 8,073
Assuming you don't have to check luggage, I think you will be ok. I would not get there any later than 1:30, and boarding may have already started. SFO is typically a very quick and easy airport.
jdrtravel is offline  
Old May 17, 16, 8:02 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NYC
Programs: DL Platinum, AA EXP, UA Silver, Hyatt Globalist, Bonvoy Plt / LTG, Amtrak Select+
Posts: 854
Thank you! I'm not checking any bags... and hoping I can leave my meeting at 12:45. But 1:30 is definitely the latest I'll be there
uppereastsider is offline  
Old May 17, 16, 8:11 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Northern California
Programs: DL DM Charter, 2.9MM; 2019 PM and falling; Kettle everywhere else
Posts: 243
Another thing working in your favor is that the departure gates are really close to security so you won't have a long hike no matter which gate is used.
lbcnu is offline  
Old May 17, 16, 8:23 pm
  #5  
was WWads
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: DCA
Programs: DL PM, UA Silver, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold
Posts: 5,802
In addition, you won't have to deal with the TSA work stoppage, since SFO has private security.
KDCAflyer is offline  
Old May 17, 16, 10:56 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: ATL
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Gold, AA EXP, UA Silver, former DL DM
Posts: 1,964
Cutting it slightly close but you should still be fine, assuming you have your boarding pass before you get there.
lamont2718 is offline  
Old May 18, 16, 9:13 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NYC
Programs: DL FO, SPG Plat100
Posts: 61
Did the JFK-SFO transcon 2x weekly for 8 months last year. You should be completely fine with the timing you mentioned above. Never had to wait more than 10 minutes in the TSA Pre security line at the Delta terminal.
DrCordell is offline  
Old May 18, 16, 11:02 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: San Francisco
Programs: DL PM
Posts: 31
i regularly get to SFO with 30 minutes to spare (because i'm reckless) and with pre-check, I am at the gate within 5-6 minutes. SP doesn't have a bearing on security if you're pre-check here.
dLo GSR is offline  
Old May 18, 16, 11:18 am
  #9  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Programs: Delta skymiles DM + 1MM
Posts: 8,144
plane will be mostly fully boarded by the time you get to the gate so hopefully your not counting on using OHB space
DL2SXM is offline  
Old May 18, 16, 4:02 pm
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NYC
Programs: DL Platinum, AA EXP, UA Silver, Hyatt Globalist, Bonvoy Plt / LTG, Amtrak Select+
Posts: 854
Thank you, everyone. Got to SFO at 130 and had one person on pre check lane. Made it to the gate while they were still boarding premium.. Where the gate agent called my name and gave me the upgrade! It's been a great travel day so far
uppereastsider is offline  
Old May 18, 16, 5:53 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Programs: DL GM, Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 8,073
Originally Posted by uppereastsider View Post
the gate agent called my name and gave me the upgrade! It's been a great travel day so far
Did you use a certificate/mileage upgrade or was it an op-up because coach was full?
jdrtravel is offline  
Old May 18, 16, 6:13 pm
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NYC
Programs: DL Platinum, AA EXP, UA Silver, Hyatt Globalist, Bonvoy Plt / LTG, Amtrak Select+
Posts: 854
Originally Posted by jdrtravel View Post
Did you use a certificate/mileage upgrade or was it an op-up because coach was full?
I used a RUC. Was 3/3 for 1 seat, but apparently #1 and #2 were a couple so they gave up their request because they didn't want to split up
uppereastsider is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: