1:05 Transfer at CDG -- Doable?

Old May 13, 16, 6:44 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Programs: DL DM/MM
Posts: 1,905
Question 1:05 Transfer at CDG -- Doable?

Hi All,

I just booked a trip where I fly from DUB-CDG-SEA, and I only have 1:05 to transit in CDG. It's been awhile since I've flown through CDG, and I was wondering whether this connection is doable. DUB-CDG is on AF City Jet, and then I connect from CDG to SEA on DL.

I don't plan on checking luggage. I know that there's the whole pre-screening process before you get to the gate area for all US-bound flights. Other than that, am I crazy for attempting this?

Thanks all!
UVAhoo06 is offline  
Old May 13, 16, 6:48 pm
  #2  
formerly B7e7US
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep. / Washington, DC
Programs: AA/DL PLT, Priority Pass, Marriott Gold, Thalys Gold, JetBlue Mosaic, Hertz PC, Other shiny cards
Posts: 4,170
You will arrive at T2E and will depart from T2E. No immigration is involved. The pre-screening process is at AMS and not at CDG, however, you will have the security screening questions at the gate before boarding. 1:05 is doable if your flight departs on-time.
SDQBound is offline  
Old May 13, 16, 6:50 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Anywhere but home
Programs: UA 1K/MM, AA PP, DL SM/MM, HH Dia, All Plat, PC Plat, MR Gold
Posts: 4,295
Here are some threads you were searching for. If your arriving flight is on time, you should be fine.
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/delta...ve-thread.html
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/air-f...-possible.html
FlytheTail is offline  
Old May 13, 16, 6:51 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Programs: DL DM/MM
Posts: 1,905
Originally Posted by SDQBound View Post
You will arrive at T2E and will depart from T2E. No immigration is involved. The pre-screening process is at AMS and not at CDG, however, you will have the security screening questions at the gate before boarding. 1:05 is doable if your flight departs on-time.
Phew! Thanks for letting me know. Is it common for City Jets (an Avro jet) to deplane at a remote stand? And if so, does it seem like I should still be okay? Thanks a ton
UVAhoo06 is offline  
Old May 13, 16, 6:53 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Programs: DL DM/MM
Posts: 1,905
Originally Posted by FlytheTail View Post
Thanks for the link. Could the moderator please merge my thread into that one? I appreciate all the info thus far.
UVAhoo06 is offline  
Old May 13, 16, 8:35 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: IND
Programs: DL DM, Marriott PE
Posts: 353
Certainly possible, but if anything goes wrong then who knows.
huskerchad is offline  
Old May 13, 16, 9:17 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hands of Fate
Programs: MR LT(!)TE, DL PM MM, HTZ PC, 2V Fanboi, CBP GE, Uber Gold
Posts: 4,803
Originally Posted by huskerchad View Post
Certainly possible, but if anything goes wrong then who knows.
Yeah, I think this is the issue... what's your risk tolerance? If on time, 1:05 is fine. If the inbound is late for whatever reason, how many other CDG-SEA routings are there that day (including via JFK, ATL, etc)?
bennos is offline  
Old May 13, 16, 9:21 pm
  #8  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 90,497
I don't think DL will do it any more (I know DL won't rebook to Asia through Europe) but I wonder whether AF would be willing to route you through Asia to get from CDG to SEA in IROPs. That could be fun.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old May 13, 16, 11:28 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Programs: DL DM MM
Posts: 1,807
Originally Posted by UVAhoo06 View Post
Hi All,

I just booked a trip where I fly from DUB-CDG-SEA, and I only have 1:05 to transit in CDG. It's been awhile since I've flown through CDG, and I was wondering whether this connection is doable. DUB-CDG is on AF City Jet, and then I connect from CDG to SEA on DL.

I don't plan on checking luggage. I know that there's the whole pre-screening process before you get to the gate area for all US-bound flights. Other than that, am I crazy for attempting this?

Thanks all!
I've done this with 1:15 to make the transit and it was tight, even with Acces #1 which I hope you have. The Avro jets have docked at a gate but I still had to go through the security check (regardless of whether it is the same non-Schengen terminal for arrival and departure). I had only carry-on but my bag was opened and unpacked, as were the bags of people ahead of me. You may be ok, but personally I would rebook, particularly if you don't have Acces #1 (J travel or Sky Elite Plus).
NotHamSarnie is offline  
Old May 13, 16, 11:53 pm
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Programs: DL DM/MM
Posts: 1,905
Originally Posted by NotHamSarnie View Post
I've done this with 1:15 to make the transit and it was tight, even with Acces #1 which I hope you have. The Avro jets have docked at a gate but I still had to go through the security check (regardless of whether it is the same non-Schengen terminal for arrival and departure). I had only carry-on but my bag was opened and unpacked, as were the bags of people ahead of me. You may be ok, but personally I would rebook, particularly if you don't have Acces #1 (J travel or Sky Elite Plus).
I'm a DM, so I should have access to Aces #1. I assume that I simply need to show my BP and that should get me into the line, right? In terms of security, is it not simply an X-ray machine with secondary screening (i.e., bag search) if there's an issue? I will only have carry-on items. It seems strange that connecting from non-Schengen to non-Schengen requires additional security.
UVAhoo06 is offline  
Old May 14, 16, 12:46 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Programs: DL DM MM
Posts: 1,807
Originally Posted by UVAhoo06 View Post
I'm a DM, so I should have access to Aces #1. I assume that I simply need to show my BP and that should get me into the line, right? In terms of security, is it not simply an X-ray machine with secondary screening (i.e., bag search) if there's an issue? I will only have carry-on items. It seems strange that connecting from non-Schengen to non-Schengen requires additional security.
Correct, DM should get you in the line. The line can be long and the screening takes time. If you're taking the 9:05 from DUB then you'll be in the same position as I was (I've done this itinerary twice). The line wasn't very long but I wasn't traveling at very busy times. Now that I check again, my connection time was actually 1:25. I arrived at the gate for ATL after boarding had started and I walk very quickly. I would not have been comfortable with 20 minutes less in transit. There is an earlier Avro flight from DUB (hideously early) but if I were you, I would take it.
NotHamSarnie is offline  
Old May 14, 16, 1:05 am
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Programs: DL DM/MM
Posts: 1,905
Originally Posted by NotHamSarnie View Post
Correct, DM should get you in the line. The line can be long and the screening takes time. If you're taking the 9:05 from DUB then you'll be in the same position as I was (I've done this itinerary twice). The line wasn't very long but I wasn't traveling at very busy times. Now that I check again, my connection time was actually 1:25. I arrived at the gate for ATL after boarding had started and I walk very quickly. I would not have been comfortable with 20 minutes less in transit. There is an earlier Avro flight from DUB (hideously early) but if I were you, I would take it.
I'm actually departing from DUB at 6:25 AM flight connecting to the DL flight that departs at 10:30 for SEA. I arrive in CDG at 9:25 AM. Is that not usually a busy time? (It has been a long, long time since I've transited through CDG.)
UVAhoo06 is offline  
Old May 14, 16, 1:13 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Programs: DL DM MM
Posts: 1,807
Originally Posted by UVAhoo06 View Post
I'm actually departing from DUB at 6:25 AM flight connecting to the DL flight that departs at 10:30 for SEA. I arrive in CDG at 9:25 AM. Is that not usually a busy time? (It has been a long, long time since I've transited through CDG.)
Oh yikes you're already on the early flight. Sorry, I haven't done the T2E security at 9:25 recently. My DUB flight arrived at 12:05. I'm sure I've connected around your time before but things have got significantly better at CDG since the bad old days. My two Avro flights arrived at a gate rather than in Belgium + bus. The good news is that you probably have other options to the US arriving that early e.g., The ATL flight leaves at 13:30.
NotHamSarnie is offline  
Old May 14, 16, 12:13 pm
  #14  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Programs: DL DM/MM
Posts: 1,905
Originally Posted by NotHamSarnie View Post
Oh yikes you're already on the early flight. Sorry, I haven't done the T2E security at 9:25 recently. My DUB flight arrived at 12:05. I'm sure I've connected around your time before but things have got significantly better at CDG since the bad old days. My two Avro flights arrived at a gate rather than in Belgium + bus. The good news is that you probably have other options to the US arriving that early e.g., The ATL flight leaves at 13:30.
My hesitation to fly through CDG for the longest time has been the terrible layout of the airport. I think that I'm going to stick with the 1:05 connection because (a) there are no other earlier alternatives out of DUB and (b) I'm going to trust that there are plenty of other flights to get me home, I think.

That said, if I do misconnect, who exactly is responsible for taking over the ticket and getting me back? The first segment is an AF City Jet flight. If they're delayed and I miss my connection, will AF take care of everything? I don't want to be in a situation where AF tells me that I need to contact DL, and I wind up being the rag doll that gets tossed back and forth. I hope that being a DM/STE+ helps here...
UVAhoo06 is offline  
Old May 14, 16, 1:04 pm
  #15  
formerly B7e7US
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep. / Washington, DC
Programs: AA/DL PLT, Priority Pass, Marriott Gold, Thalys Gold, JetBlue Mosaic, Hertz PC, Other shiny cards
Posts: 4,170
The layout at 2E is not terrible. 3 concourses linked by an automated people mover or a bus. AF (which also handles DL operations) will get you rebooked if your flight is late or you misconnect.
SDQBound is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: