Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Upgrade Question - LAX - JFK Dec. 26

Search this Thread

Old Dec 19, 2015, 1:47 pm
Original Poster

Programs: DL DM, UA Gold, Marriott Plat Prem., Hilton Gold, National Exec Elite.

Hi all, I'm new to Delta so don't really know how things work. I am Gold and flying from LAX to JFK on Dec. 26, and was wondering how I can go about upgrading? I know that no one gets complimentary upgrades on that route now, but is there a good chance that I can purchase an update on the day of the flight? Usually, the Delta App gives me a chance to purchase upgrades as soon as a week out. I am willing to pay $300-$400. Any chance that will be the price of an upgrade?

Thanks
Old Dec 19, 2015, 1:51 pm

Programs: AA EXP, DL FO, Marriott Titanium
Originally Posted by Tedgrrrr
Hi all, I'm new to Delta so don't really know how things work. I am Gold and flying from LAX to JFK on Dec. 26, and was wondering how I can go about upgrading? I know that no one gets complimentary upgrades on that route now, but is there a good chance that I can purchase an update on the day of the flight? Usually, the Delta App gives me a chance to purchase upgrades as soon as a week out. I am willing to pay $300-$400. Any chance that will be the price of an upgrade?

Thanks
If you want to upgrade with miles, you have to purchase a K fare or higher, and it's 12.5K miles each way.

In terms of an FCM upgrade, it's really a tossup, and is not something that should be expected or planned for. The prices are somewhat unpredictable, but $300-400 is probably as low as they would go.
Old Dec 19, 2015, 2:00 pm

Programs: DL DM/2MM, MR Ambassador, National EE