Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Mco based medallion question

Search this Thread

Old Aug 13, 2015, 3:19 pm
Original Poster

Mco based medallion question

I'm new to Florida market moving here recently and switching to delta. Trying to figure out upgrade likelihood for plat from mco-atl mon am to Thursday pm. I have option of mco or mlb. Mlb is DM heavy on those flights so won't ever get there from mlb so trying to see rates from mco. I'm on 455pm flight today atl-mco and got upgraded at window as GM (almost plat that's why I ask for that) and 1 seat not taken right now as we taxi. Last week same flight I was 15th or higher on list when i boarded. Same plane (757). Only thing i can think of is fewer people visiting Mickey so maybe higher upgrade rate in non summer? Is this just a fluke or is it worth booking more flights through mco?

Know lots of variables but looking for any advice/experience you can provide!!
Old Aug 13, 2015, 4:01 pm

Programs: DL Gold; Bonvoy Gold; HHonors Diamond; Avis Preferred, Hertz PC
I'm PM and the likelihood of an upgrade between ATL & MCO especially on those dates are pretty low. Yes, there are a lot of seats since DL flies nearly hourly service. However, all the times I've done this the board has shown 20+ people waiting for 2 seats.
Old Aug 13, 2015, 4:14 pm

Programs: Delta GM/1.5MM ~ United Silver ~ Marriott Lifetime Titanium
As a GM recently moved from BUF to MCO, I'm 100% perfect on my MCO flights going through JFK or LGA, and 1 of 2 going through MSP, and the MSP flight I missed was booked 1 day in advance and I had zero choice on the flight.

As for Hotlanta, I've stayed away since I've had such good success with JFK/LGA/MSP.

If you can book around 6 days before you go, take a good look at the seat map (yeah, I know, it's not perfect), but not only check first class but also check comfort plus. If you see first "open" as well as few seats sold in comfort plus, you're generally good to go.