delta.com now has live chat

Old Jan 24, 15, 12:03 am
  #1  
Original Poster
IHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: PHX
Programs: AA EXP, IHG Spire, IC Amb
Posts: 4,202
delta.com now has live chat

Just checking airfares and a box popped up asking if I wanted to chat with a live agent.

FYI, FT....
355F1 is offline  
Old Jan 24, 15, 5:40 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Land of 10,000 Upgrades
Posts: 9,465
This is news?
UpgradeMe is offline  
Old Jan 24, 15, 6:31 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central FL
Programs: DL Gold; Bonvoy Gold; HHonors Gold; Avis Preferred, Hertz PC
Posts: 543
More like annoying. If I wanted a live chat, I'd have called.
jalves is offline  
Old Jan 24, 15, 6:45 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ireland, UnderH20, AUA, WNY (ROC)
Programs: Delta Charter KM, RW, PM, SC, SkyBonus; HH Diamond, IHG Plt Amb, Global Ent, TWIC
Posts: 2,191
That "function" has been there for some time now.
jackplum is offline  
Old Jan 24, 15, 6:47 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The OC LAX-SNA
Programs: BA Gold, AF/KL Gold, AA LT PLT 2mm, TP Gold *G
Posts: 19,954
Originally Posted by jalves View Post
More like annoying. If I wanted a live chat, I'd have called.
In flight at 35,000 ft.?
SFO777 is offline  
Old Jan 24, 15, 7:36 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 1/2 way between FNT,DTW
Programs: DL Plat, US Gold
Posts: 694
The live chat box that occasionally shows up on website has been available at least since the merger with Northwest. Probably longer. I have used it before when I could not get a ticket to purchase online. It took way too much time and I would have been better off just calling.
kss5555 is offline  
Old Jan 24, 15, 7:47 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: MSP
Posts: 482
Originally Posted by 355F1 View Post
Just checking airfares and a box popped up asking if I wanted to chat with a live agent.

FYI, FT....
That is why a "X" is provided. You can close that pop up. You aren't forced to chat.
jacobac00 is offline  
Old Jan 24, 15, 8:14 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: KUL/TPA/OTP
Programs: UA1k, DL
Posts: 3,136
Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 8_1_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/600.1.4 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/8.0 Mobile/12B436 Safari/600.1.4)

Been there for well over a year, if not more.
Denolloyd is offline  
Old Jan 24, 15, 8:18 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: KUL/TPA/OTP
Programs: UA1k, DL
Posts: 3,136
Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 8_1_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/600.1.4 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/8.0 Mobile/12B436 Safari/600.1.4)

Originally Posted by jalves
More like annoying. If I wanted a live chat, I'd have called.
Many folks would prefer to stay within their channel of choice. Why not offer folks who are online, the ability to service online. Moving from digital to phone is not what many want to do. Sure, some are stuck with wanting to call, but lot's want to continue browsing, or whatever else they were doing, while getting the help they need. The digital servicing option is a plus, providing the chat agents are empowered to service customer needs.
Denolloyd is offline  
Old Jan 24, 15, 8:58 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: RDU, Gate C1
Programs: DL Diamond, HHonors Diamond, AA, UA, WN, E+ Gold
Posts: 261
Originally Posted by jacobac00 View Post
That is why a "X" is provided. You can close that pop up. You aren't forced to chat.
Maybe something to do with Explorer but I routinely have trouble making the chat popup go away. Irritating when it's blocking the selection calendar.
Crossin Jordan is offline  
Old Jan 24, 15, 9:11 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: ORD / MDW / FLL
Programs: DL DM/1MM, AA EXP, SPG Platinum, Hyatt Platinum, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 2,145
Does this connect you to DL's oh-so-lovely, efficient and helpful IT support department?
SOBE ER DOC is offline  
Old Jan 24, 15, 9:28 am
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bye Delta
Programs: AA EXP, HH Diamond, IHG Plat, Hyatt Plat, SPG Gold, MR Gold, Nat'l Exec Elite, Avis Presidents Club
Posts: 15,424
They've had this for years... And unless something has changed, it is useless. Anything involving working with your actual itineraries and they tell you to call. As far as I can tell, they're basically there to help if you don't know how to click through the website to book your ticket.
javabytes is offline  
Old Jan 24, 15, 9:36 am
  #13  
Original Poster
IHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: PHX
Programs: AA EXP, IHG Spire, IC Amb
Posts: 4,202
I agree it is annoying. But I have never ever seen it pop up in my life. Last night was the first time so I figured it was new.
355F1 is offline  
Old Jan 24, 15, 9:46 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Programs: HH Diamond, MR Plat, HY Globule
Posts: 2,466
Haven't noticed it but in theory you could use it in flight, without paying for Gogo...? Not sure about Twitter.
xooz is offline  
Old Jan 24, 15, 8:23 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Nashville -Past DL Plat, FO, WN-CP, various hotel programs
Programs: DL-MM, AA, SW w/companion,HiltonDiamond, Hyatt PLat, IHF Plat, Miles and Points Seeker
Posts: 9,710
More and more companies do this.

So far, anytime I have done it, I got some low level suport that could not do a damn thing to help. I had to help them.
NoStressHere is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: