Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

Upgrade to First never uses seat preference in my profile!

Upgrade to First never uses seat preference in my profile!

Old Jul 4, 13, 6:36 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: FLL - DL DM MM - HHonors Gold
Posts: 1,093
Upgrade to First never uses seat preference in my profile!

While I am very grateful when I am upgraded to First, the "system" always seems to give me an isle seat even though there are window seats available and my seat preference in my profile is for a window seat.

While manually re-selecting a seat inst really a problem, I just wondered if I was missing something here - is there a First class upgrade seat preference setting I missed somewhere and it's set to "isle".
mikepa is offline  
Old Jul 4, 13, 6:38 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Programs: DL PM; DL AMEX Reserve; HHonors Gold
Posts: 1,885
Perhaps you should change your setting to "aisle" rather than "isle"

But seriously, mine always gives me the right choice... Perhaps a CSR may be able to see something else checked in the system?
DeltaFan4Now is offline  
Old Jul 4, 13, 6:59 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,372
Originally Posted by DeltaFan4Now View Post
Perhaps you should change your setting to "aisle" rather than "isle"

But seriously, mine always gives me the right choice... Perhaps a CSR may be able to see something else checked in the system?
LOL!
emrdoc is offline  
Old Jul 4, 13, 7:53 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: DTW
Programs: DL PM, National EE, Hertz PC
Posts: 879
Mine gets it right most of the time
MarkCron is offline  
Old Jul 4, 13, 8:23 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: BOS
Programs: DL PM(sigh)/2.2MM & a bunch of other programs...
Posts: 691
If an aisle is available, the system gives me my preferred aisle seat. The only time that I don't is if there isn't one available when I clear, or during the gate lottery where the GA just assigns them randomly (it seems to me anyway).
SeaClay007 is offline  
Old Jul 4, 13, 8:29 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MKE
Programs: BA Gold, DL PM, Hilton Gold
Posts: 2,222
If aisle is in your profile, it could be that other elites were upgraded 1st, and they got the aisle. I have window in my pref and I get it 90% of the time.
Davescj is offline  
Old Jul 4, 13, 8:35 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Miramar, FL
Programs: DL Charter DM/3.3 MM, DLAmex Plat, PC Plat, MR Gold, HH Diamond, National Exec Elite, Hertz Gold 5*
Posts: 237
Mine gets it right most of the time too. If I don't, it's because all the aisle seats are gone.
TurfGuy is offline  
Old Jul 4, 13, 8:37 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Programs: DL DM MM, AA EXP, SPG Plat
Posts: 95
Mine seems to get it right most of the time too. Unfortunately what I would really like is to have a seat preference of aisle in coach and window in first. I have it set to aisle because that is a bigger deal than the window.
ksdlflyer is offline  
Old Jul 4, 13, 12:00 pm
  #9  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 91,096
When upgrades are processed before the airport, the highest ranking elites on the upgrade list tend to be assigned the best seats. As a PM, the OP is being given a seat after DMs on the flight have been assigned. IME seats tend to be assigned from front to back with the bulkhead row last.

I almost always get my preferred aisle (even when there's no isle in my itinerary), but I watch delta.dumb around my upgrade window and try to move myself then if I'm not happy.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Jul 4, 13, 12:29 pm
  #10  
IHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: PHX
Programs: AA EXP, IHG Spire, IC Amb
Posts: 4,121
I have "Window" as my preference and the system has always given me a window for an upgrade unless there were none available.
355F1 is offline  
Old Jul 4, 13, 12:43 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 585
Humm, I have a window as my preference but Delta Dumb always upgrades me to an aisle seat for some reason. I always have to go online and manually select a window seat (which is usually available).
fpmurphy is offline  
Old Jul 5, 13, 12:19 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Programs: Handcuffed to Delta and IHG by Concur
Posts: 8,289
Originally Posted by ksdlflyer View Post
Mine seems to get it right most of the time too. Unfortunately what I would really like is to have a seat preference of aisle in coach and window in first. I have it set to aisle because that is a bigger deal than the window.
I would like this option also, especially on aircraft where the coach passengers all bump past you with their overly large carry-on luggage. When I am in coach, I of course want aisle so that I can (hopefully) get off the plane faster. That is not an issue when in F.
amanuensis is offline  
Old Jul 5, 13, 3:22 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Programs: DL Diamond Million Miler, AA Ex-Plat, IHG RA, Marriott PLAT, HERTZ Pres Circle
Posts: 1,220
This is a First World Problem, eh?
randidliyo is offline  
Old Jul 9, 13, 5:56 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: PVU, SLC
Programs: DL Pork Medallion, PP, GE
Posts: 1,652
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
When upgrades are processed before the airport, the highest ranking elites on the upgrade list tend to be assigned the best seats. As a PM, the OP is being given a seat after DMs on the flight have been assigned. IME seats tend to be assigned from front to back with the bulkhead row last.

I almost always get my preferred aisle (even when there's no isle in my itinerary), but I watch delta.dumb around my upgrade window and try to move myself then if I'm not happy.
So in that vein, would it be safe to say that DL is very aware of which seats are "good" and "not so good"? I just booked a G fare and since I was already logged in, I just hit purchase and it took me to the confirmation screen. I then realized I hadn't made a seat selection yet, but on the receipt it said my seat was 2A. On my profile my preferred option is Window seat, the F cabin is completely empty (except for my seat now) and this flight is on a 75U. So I can only assume they know that row 1 has really bad legroom? Interesting.
brocklee9000 is offline  
Old Dec 4, 13, 12:25 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: not at home :sigh:
Programs: DL DM, AA Plat, SPG Plat 100, HH Gold, Hertz 5*
Posts: 78
Originally Posted by randidliyo View Post
This is a First World Problem, eh?
Yes, yes it is, but a problem nonetheless.

Originally Posted by fpmurphy View Post
Humm, I have a window as my preference but Delta Dumb always upgrades me to an aisle seat for some reason. I always have to go online and manually select a window seat (which is usually available).
This.
Every. Single. Time. Always an aisle. And as soon as I get the notice I go online (or in the app) and change it to window. Every. Single. Time. And since I became DM, this is 5 days out with almost the whole cabin open.

Someone solve my issue!! /endhysterics
RockStarLurker is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: