Weird Disrupted Flight Upgrade

Old Mar 20, 13, 8:54 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York, NY
Programs: AA ExPl, DL PM, UA Silver, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Titanium, probably some others
Posts: 1,876
Weird Disrupted Flight Upgrade

Was wondering if anybody had ever seen this one before. Flying MCO->BOS today in Economy (as an FO, 5th in a 9-person list for 2 first-class seats) and my flight was delayed a half hour. On a lark, decided to click the Find Other Flights button on delta.com to see if there was a better mileage route available and was given several options, most of which were in First or Business. Bizarrely, though, one of the options was a First seat on the flight I was currently booked on. I clicked through and was upgraded to a seat in First. Ticket was confirmed and I immediately printed out my boarding pass.

Any idea why I was able to do this? This seems like a really cheap way to jump the upgrade list and get upgraded with even a 20-30 minute delay.
steveholt is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 8:57 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BDL/HPN/JFK/FLL
Programs: DL Diamond Ham Sandwich
Posts: 1,051
See now that is a glitch!
mother- is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 9:02 am
  #3  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Programs: DL FO/KM, AA PLT
Posts: 2,594
I can't wait to see the firestorm this creates!
FlyDeltaJets87 is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 9:10 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Programs: DL Skymiles FO, Marriott Rewards, Hilton HHonors, Hertz #1 Club Gold
Posts: 338
Grab the popcorn!

I can't say I am surprised given how I've observed the performance of the iPhone App rebooking feature, but I agree that this is probably a glitch and shouldn't have happened. Basically it gave your ticket a Y upgrade priority (as I've seen it do for me in the past) and upgraded you immediately to a confirmed F seat. That should normally be fine if it's a different flight that they are reaccommodating you on, but probably should not be happening for the same flight you were originally scheduled on.
WidgetHead is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 9:14 am
  #5  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HKG
Programs: DL FO, UA, AA, AsiaMiles, SPG, HHonors
Posts: 7,982
Originally Posted by mother- View Post
See now that is a glitch!
The first one ever that worked in a DL pax's favor.
HongKonger is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 9:16 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: LAX
Programs: Fallen DL DM (PM) 2MM
Posts: 4,635
Originally Posted by HongKonger View Post
The first one ever that worked in a DL pax's favor.
Was in this pax's favor -- the number two on the upgrade list? Not so much.
TheMadBrewer is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 9:19 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York, New York
Programs: AS MVP ; Free Agent Super Duper Diamond Treasure Chest ;)
Posts: 4,430
Originally Posted by TheMadBrewer View Post
Was in this pax's favor -- the number two on the upgrade list? Not so much.
Number Two would have gotten it for free. The OP paid for it. With miles, as I understand it.
knit-in is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 9:21 am
  #8  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 88,306
Originally Posted by knit-in View Post
Number Two would have gotten it for free. The OP paid for it. With miles, as I understand it.
How do you reason that the OP paid for the upgrade with miles?
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 9:22 am
  #9  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HKG
Programs: DL FO, UA, AA, AsiaMiles, SPG, HHonors
Posts: 7,982
Originally Posted by knit-in View Post
Originally Posted by TheMadBrewer View Post
Was in this pax's favor -- the number two on the upgrade list? Not so much.
Number Two would have gotten it for free. The OP paid for it. With miles, as I understand it.
Where does OP say he paid for it?
HongKonger is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 9:23 am
  #10  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HKG
Programs: DL FO, UA, AA, AsiaMiles, SPG, HHonors
Posts: 7,982
Originally Posted by TheMadBrewer View Post
Originally Posted by HongKonger View Post
The first one ever that worked in a DL pax's favor.
Was in this pax's favor -- the number two on the upgrade list? Not so much.
Well it did work in A pax's favor which is more than can be said of most DL glitches.
HongKonger is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 9:24 am
  #11  
TTT
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 45 North
Programs: DL DM MM, HH Diamond
Posts: 9,753
A guess: if the OP was on an UP eligible fare but at the time of booking A/P was unavailable would the auto-rebooking engine recognize the UP eligible fare and process into F during IROPs?
TTT is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 9:26 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York, New York
Programs: AS MVP ; Free Agent Super Duper Diamond Treasure Chest ;)
Posts: 4,430
Originally Posted by steveholt View Post
Was wondering if anybody had ever seen this one before. Flying MCO->BOS today in Economy (as an FO, 5th in a 9-person list for 2 first-class seats) and my flight was delayed a half hour. On a lark, decided to click the Find Other Flights button on delta.com to see if there was a better mileage route available and was given several options, most of which were in First or Business. Bizarrely, though, one of the options was a First seat on the flight I was currently booked on. I clicked through and was upgraded to a seat in First. Ticket was confirmed and I immediately printed out my boarding pass.

Any idea why I was able to do this? This seems like a really cheap way to jump the upgrade list and get upgraded with even a 20-30 minute delay.
I figured it was a mileage upgrade from the OP's "better mileage route" phrase. Else, I cant figure out how this might have happened.
knit-in is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 9:27 am
  #13  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Programs: DL FO/KM, AA PLT
Posts: 2,594
Originally Posted by TTT View Post
A guess: if the OP was on an UP eligible fare but at the time of booking A/P was unavailable would the auto-rebooking engine recognize the UP eligible fare and process into F during IROPs?
Perhaps OP rebooked himself into a Y fare and then received the upgrade from having the Y fare. That's my guess of what happened. Accurate? I dunno.
FlyDeltaJets87 is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 9:51 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MSP - DL Hub Hell
Programs: Marriott LTPP, UA Silver (via Marriott), WN CP, Choice Platinum
Posts: 641
Originally Posted by FlyDeltaJets87 View Post
Perhaps OP rebooked himself into a Y fare and then received the upgrade from having the Y fare. That's my guess of what happened. Accurate? I dunno.
This is almost certainly what happened - an IROPs Y booking. I've had my same flight show up on the app with FC availability to rebook before, but I've only gotten error messages when trying to do so, which IMO is correct (if the glitch is going to let me see the flight at all, that is). I haven't had IROPs since the new app rolled out to Android, though, so I don't know the behavior now. Good ol' Delta IT.
Carpboy823 is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 10:05 am
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York, NY
Programs: AA ExPl, DL PM, UA Silver, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Titanium, probably some others
Posts: 1,876
To clarify - originally was booked into U. Didn't use miles to upgrade -- when I referenced "better mileage route", I was referring to the possibility of changing my BOS->MCO direct flight to connect through ATL or MSP for additional EQM.

The IROPs moving me into Y makes sense. I also had the ability to upgrade into biz/first on many of the other available flights.
steveholt is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: