Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

Connecting through CDG: looking for first timers practical advice

Connecting through CDG: looking for first timers practical advice

Old Mar 27, 12, 10:15 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: STL
Programs: HHONORS, AA, Delta, Southwest, Avis, Emerald Club
Posts: 120
Connecting through CDG: looking for first timers practical advice

Well the long and short of it is that in May I am on a PRG-CDG-ATL itinerary, and my connection time in CDG is 1h35m. My PRG-CDG is a DL code share on AF iron. It arrives at Terminal 2d and my CDG-ATL flight departs 2E.

I was told that a domestic EU flight shouldn't have probs with that connection time, but a fellow traveler told me on my last trip (FRA-ATL) that CDG is a zoo and I should expect problems with that connection time and that of course has me a little worried.

So I am looking for practical advice as to the best way to navigate the airport to best ensure I connect. I am SkyTeam Elite+ and I've heard there is an express security/customs line, but that's about as much that I could dig up for transiting CDG quickly.

Thanks for anything you can offer..... I've delved I to the CDG threads, but they are so long that it's challenging to weed out the nuggets of useful information from the "CDG is a toilet" and "CDG is not that bad" comments.
SporkLover is offline  
Old Mar 27, 12, 10:19 pm
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 89,825
Originally Posted by SporkLover View Post
Well the long and short of it is that in May I am on a PRG-CDG-ATL itinerary, and my connection time in CDG is 1h35m. My PRG-CDG is a DL code share on AF iron. It arrives at Terminal 2d and my CDG-ATL flight departs 2E.

I was told that a domestic EU flight shouldn't have probs with that connection time, but a fellow traveler told me on my last trip (FRA-ATL) that CDG is a zoo and I should expect problems with that connection time and that of course has me a little worried.

So I am looking for practical advice as to the best way to navigate the
airport to best ensure I connect. I am SkyTeam Elite+ and I've heard
there is an express security/customs line, but that's about as much that I could dig up for transiting CDG quickly.

Thanks for anything you can offer..... I've delved I to the CDG threads, but they are so long that it's challenging to weed out the nuggets of useful information from the "CDG is a toilet" and "CDG is not that bad" comments.
AF iron? Unless you mean Aeroflot, the plane should be largely made
from aluminum or composite with smaller amounts of titanium, etc. I don't know when Western aircraft were made of iron.

Seriously, the better line should be labeled as "Access No. 1" and you will need either your physical DL FF card or a boarding pass where SkyTeam ElitePlus is printed to use the special line, ideally both to prove that you're entitled. The same applies to CDG lounge access if you have time after you get near your departure gate. If you need to check in or get a boarding pass at CDG, look for SkyTeam Elite Plus counters or "Affaires" (for business class) in the AF system. You cannot use the ground handling for AF FC, labeled probably as "Espace Premiere."
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Mar 27, 12, 10:36 pm
  #3  
In memoriam, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PIT
Programs: DM life is over 2MM PM now & NW MillionAir Wyndham Rewards Plat -Hotels.com Silver -Accor Silver
Posts: 15,408
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
AF iron?
I think he means AF metal?
davetravels is offline  
Old Mar 27, 12, 10:37 pm
  #4  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 89,825
Obviously, I know, but it was fun to give the OP just a bit of a hard time here in a friendly joking way. I'm still giggling a bit as I try to imagine an iron airplane.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Mar 27, 12, 10:46 pm
  #5  
In memoriam, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PIT
Programs: DM life is over 2MM PM now & NW MillionAir Wyndham Rewards Plat -Hotels.com Silver -Accor Silver
Posts: 15,408
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
Obviously, I know, but it was fun to give the OP just a bit of a hard time here in a friendly joking way. I'm still giggling a bit as I try to imagine an iron airplane.
I figured that you knew, but we don't usually tease FT newbies with only 3 posts, do we?

Whoops! 54 posts!! That was another thread I was chiming in on!

(It was funny to me, too!)

Anyway . . .

Originally Posted by SporkLover View Post
I am on a PRG-CDG-ATL itinerary
Do you hafto go thru immigration/customs when flying PRG/CDG?

Regardless, if you're STE+, you will definitely be able to use the Acces No1 lanes everywhere you see then - - They're have a kind of burnt orange color signage.

95 minutes should be plenty at CDG, but, time can be eaten up very quickly by seemingly stupid things, like a shuttle bus driving all around the airport to get to the terminal, tram rides, etc. There was a bomb threat when I was there! Good Lord! It was a NUTHOUSE!
davetravels is offline  
Old Mar 27, 12, 11:07 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: STL
Programs: HHONORS, AA, Delta, Southwest, Avis, Emerald Club
Posts: 120
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
AF iron? Unless you mean Aeroflot, the plane should be largely made
from aluminum or composite with smaller amounts of titanium, etc. I don't know when Western aircraft were made of iron.

Seriously, the better line should be labeled as "Access No. 1" and you will need either your physical DL FF card or a boarding pass where SkyTeam ElitePlus is printed to use the special line, ideally both to prove that you're entitled. The same applies to CDG lounge access if you have time after you get near your departure gate. If you need to check in or get a boarding pass at CDG, look for SkyTeam Elite Plus counters or "Affaires" (for business class) in the AF system. You cannot use the ground handling for AF FC, labeled probably as "Espace Premiere."
I can take the ribbing, but I meant what I said. Many of us in the military community refer to our aircraft as iron. I.E...The Kentucky Guard is a good choice for domestic disaster response because they have their own Crisis Response Group (aerial porters), search and rescue, and iron (c-130's). Different aviation community terminology


Thanks for the tips though.
SporkLover is offline  
Old Mar 27, 12, 11:09 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: STL
Programs: HHONORS, AA, Delta, Southwest, Avis, Emerald Club
Posts: 120
Originally Posted by davetravels View Post
I figured that you knew, but we don't usually tease FT newbies with only 3 posts, do we?

Whoops! 54 posts!! That was another thread I was chiming in on!

(It was funny to me, too!)

Anyway . . .



Do you hafto go thru immigration/customs when flying PRG/CDG?

Regardless, if you're STE+, you will definitely be able to use the Acces No1 lanes everywhere you see then - - They're have a kind of burnt orange color signage.

95 minutes should be plenty at CDG, but, time can be eaten up very quickly by seemingly stupid things, like a shuttle bus driving all around the airport to get to the terminal, tram rides, etc. There was a bomb threat when I was there! Good Lord! It was a NUTHOUSE!
I don't think I have to go through customs, as I'm coming from another EU country. Hopefully another person can answer definitively.
SporkLover is offline  
Old Mar 27, 12, 11:45 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 59
You will have to clear customs, and depending on the time there may be huge lines. However, there is a separate line for FF Medallion, that is speedier.
houflier is offline  
Old Mar 27, 12, 11:54 pm
  #9  
In memoriam, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PIT
Programs: DM life is over 2MM PM now & NW MillionAir Wyndham Rewards Plat -Hotels.com Silver -Accor Silver
Posts: 15,408
Originally Posted by houflier View Post
You will have to clear customs, and depending on the time there may be huge lines. However, there is a separate line for FF Medallion, that is speedier.
Are you sure? Arriving into Paris from Prague?
davetravels is offline  
Old Mar 27, 12, 11:55 pm
  #10  
Moderator: Flying Blue (Air France & KLM), France and TravelBuzz!
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Paris, France, AF F+ Rouge pour toujours, Flying Blue whatever, LH FTL, HHonors Gold, formerly proud SCC Executive, now IC Ambassador, BA down to nobody, Grand Voyageur Le Club
Posts: 12,257
Originally Posted by davetravels View Post
Do you hafto go thru immigration/customs when flying PRG/CDG?
- no customs check, as the flight is within the EU
- no immigration check, as the flight is intra-Schengen

You do need to clear immigration for the CDG-ATL segment.
JOUY31 is offline  
Old Mar 28, 12, 12:05 am
  #11  
In memoriam, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PIT
Programs: DM life is over 2MM PM now & NW MillionAir Wyndham Rewards Plat -Hotels.com Silver -Accor Silver
Posts: 15,408
Originally Posted by JOUY31 View Post
- no customs check, as the flight is within the EU
- no immigration check, as the flight is intra-Schengen
That's what I thought. Germany I do a lot via CDG/AMS. Some countries confuse me! Euro/EC/Schengen totally confuses me!

Anyway, I didn't think so, because, I remember taking the train from Berlin to Prague 2 times. The first time, years ago, the immigration officers boarded the train in both countries in both directions - stamped passports - the whole shebang. More recently, but still a few years ago, you could see that the guard houses at the border crossing were abandoned, and the train zipped past.
davetravels is offline  
Old Mar 28, 12, 2:24 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Greater CDG Area
Programs: DL DM; *A-Gold
Posts: 814
transfer at CDG is easy, JOUY31 is correct

but be aware, that there is a size check for cabin baggage at PRG airport when passing through security; if I remember correctly, they only check 2 measures, no check of the length of your bag.
MarLim is offline  
Old Mar 28, 12, 2:52 am
  #13  
formerly B7e7US
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep. / Washington, DC
Programs: AA/DL PLT, Priority Pass, Marriott Gold, Thalys Gold, JetBlue Mosaic, Hertz PC, Other shiny cards
Posts: 4,170
Make your way to 2E as fast as you can. Lately, 2E immigration lines have been very long, including the premium one.
SDQBound is offline  
Old Mar 28, 12, 2:56 am
  #14  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Look up - On a ✈ DELTA ✈ jet NOW!
Programs: Blogger & Delta Diamond Medallion Million Miler
Posts: 4,178
Talking

Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
Obviously, I know, but it was fun to give the OP just a bit of a hard time here in a friendly joking way. I'm still giggling a bit as I try to imagine an iron airplane.
Does this one count? Kinda a one man plane (his 1st cave suite was iron right?)
Renes Points is offline  
Old Mar 28, 12, 8:40 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SDF
Programs: DL Silver, DL Million Miler
Posts: 280
What's strange about an iron plane? I heard about a lead zeppelin once.
Policypeddler is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: