Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

The Definitive "Delta - TSA Pre-Check" thread

The Definitive "Delta - TSA Pre-Check" thread

Old Oct 18, 12, 2:52 pm
  #841  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: halfway between JFK and LGA
Posts: 976
I am a GM and was 0% success at precheck

I decided to get GE since it was free with my Amex platinum card. I was approved for GE last Saturday, updated my delta profile, and got the three beeps for the first time today.

It doesn't seem that GM gets it for you automatically. I'll be PM on miles after my flight next Monday.
squatch is offline  
Old Oct 18, 12, 8:31 pm
  #842  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MCO
Programs: DL-DM/1MM, HILTON-DIA, .HYATT-DIA/GLOB , IHG-PLT,HERTZ 5*, NATIONAL ES
Posts: 8,690
Originally Posted by squatch View Post
I am a GM and was 0% success at precheck

I decided to get GE since it was free with my Amex platinum card. I was approved for GE last Saturday, updated my delta profile, and got the three beeps for the first time today.

It doesn't seem that GM gets it for you automatically. I'll be PM on miles after my flight next Monday.
My partner is GM and is at 50% without GE. YMMV,
Crazyhotelguy is offline  
Old Oct 19, 12, 3:21 am
  #843  
FlyerTalk Evangelist & Ambassador: China
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: DEN
Programs: DL DM/MM, UA 1K, AA Exp, HH Dia, WOH Glob, IHG Plat, Marriott Gold, NA EE, Hertz PC
Posts: 17,218
Originally Posted by DCBob View Post
Are you traveling exclusively domestically? I am a GE and a Platinum Medallion member. On both DL and UA, I have received TSA pre-check (3 beeps and LLL) 100% of the time on domestic itineraries and 0% on international itineraries (whether on a domestic flight connecting to an international flight or international flight without a domestic segment).
I was told by last TSA officer that "often" no PC for those coming or going on international itins.
mnredfox is offline  
Old Oct 20, 12, 9:00 am
  #844  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ATL
Programs: DL Scattered Smothered Covered Medallion, Some hotel & car stuff, Kroger Plus Card
Posts: 10,252
Originally Posted by sethb View Post
Pre is available in D, I don't know about C (I always go to D, the bus connection is very short).

The GlobalEntry number should suffice. You should also check that the name is exactly correct.
No Pre in C the last time I was there (maybe 3 weeks ago). The cabbie accidentally went up the wrong ramp and I ended up taking the landside bus back to D after asking if there was a Pre lane and being told no.

And the airside buses are definitely a quicker overall transfer than the landside ones, even counting the walk down that ramp in D. Plus it's kind of cool to weave around the planes by those gates.
gooselee is offline  
Old Oct 20, 12, 9:44 am
  #845  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NYC, MSY
Programs: DL DM, MM, NEXUS, SC Lifetime, Admirals Club Lifetime, LVC everywhere
Posts: 4,131
Originally Posted by Blumie View Post
Sorry if this has been asked and answered:
I am no longer a regular DL flyer and do not currently have status.
I have been using pre-check extensively when flying on AA.
I am flying LGA-MSY-LGA next week on DL.
Is pre-check available ex-LGA? [Edited to add: ok, I read enough of this thread to see that pre-check is available ex-LGA!]
I edited my profile at delta.com to add my Global Entry number. Is this all I need to do to be pre-check eligible on DL?
(BTW, I haven't flown DL ex-LGA since they took over the US terminal. Does the LGA-MSY flight always depart from the same terminal, or do I need to check that morning to see which terminal to go to? I feel like such a newbie!!)
Pre is C only for now.

Check for terminal. We fly MSY at least once a month and have had BP's printed at check in show a "C" gate. We've always departed and arrived at a "D" gate.

You GE Number is sufficient. Make sure your name is exactly the same both places.
SuperG1955 is offline  
Old Oct 20, 12, 9:06 pm
  #846  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Central US
Programs: UA Lifetime GS, AA EXP 1 MM, Delta Diamond, Hilton Diamond, SPG Plat, Hyatt Gold, Hertz 5Star PC
Posts: 181
I don't know if this is the way the program is supposed to work or not, but in several cases I have used my Global Entry card and Passport card as my identification and the TSA agents at the appropriate airports (where pre-check is available) automatically shunted me to that line. Have 100% success so far. The Global Entry ID picture is horrible but the Passport ID card photo is better. I am still unsure about the TSA pre-check as I have heard different things, but so far so good.

Other day in Seattle (as I posted on AA forum), the pre-check line was so long that I used the elite line at a regular security checkpoint and it was just as fast.
pharmalady is offline  
Old Oct 20, 12, 11:01 pm
  #847  
LBJ
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 13,290
Originally Posted by pharmalady View Post
I don't know if this is the way the program is supposed to work or not, but in several cases I have used my Global Entry card and Passport card as my identification and the TSA agents at the appropriate airports (where pre-check is available) automatically shunted me to that line. Have 100% success so far. The Global Entry ID picture is horrible but the Passport ID card photo is better. I am still unsure about the TSA pre-check as I have heard different things, but so far so good.

Other day in Seattle (as I posted on AA forum), the pre-check line was so long that I used the elite line at a regular security checkpoint and it was just as fast.
I don't believe that is the correct procedure and they are supposed to always scan your BP and base admittance on the 3 beeps.
LBJ is offline  
Old Oct 21, 12, 1:35 am
  #848  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: TUS/PDX
Programs: WN CP/A-List, AS MVPG75K
Posts: 5,779
SEA Changes

Just a heads up for anyone going through SEA. PreCheck is moving from the N checkpoint to the central checkpoint. This hopefully will make everything a bit faster and less crowded.

From Alaska's PreCheck page:

On October 21, 2012 the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) will move the PreCheck lane from the North checkpoint to the Central checkpoint at the Seattle-Tacoma International Airport. Look for airport signage that will guide you to the Central checkpoint PreCheck lane.
tusphotog is offline  
Old Oct 21, 12, 6:50 am
  #849  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: halfway between JFK and LGA
Posts: 976
Originally Posted by Crazyhotelguy View Post
My partner is GM and is at 50% without GE. YMMV,
yeah, i was at 0%. i tried every time after hitting GM and never got the three beeps until i added GE.

for those in NY or those who transit JFK regularly and are interested in GE, the interview schedule at JFK has LOTS of empty space on it. it was less than two weeks between applying for GE and being approved after my interview.

since i travel through LGA and MCO every week and both have PreCheck, it should have been no-brainer to get GE. i should have done it sooner.

i just decoded my BP for tomorrow and it has the '3' on it, so i'm 2-for-2 since adding my GE number.
squatch is offline  
Old Oct 21, 12, 7:32 am
  #850  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MSP
Programs: Delta PM, 1MM
Posts: 3,702
Originally Posted by tusphotog View Post
Just a heads up for anyone going through SEA. PreCheck is moving from the N checkpoint to the central checkpoint. This hopefully will make everything a bit faster and less crowded.

From Alaska's PreCheck page:
This is a definite improvement!
CarmenOM is offline  
Old Oct 21, 12, 7:38 am
  #851  
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: DL DM 1MM, Marriott Platinum,Avis First
Posts: 182
Originally Posted by CarmenOM View Post
This is a definite improvement!
Hopefully this also means it will be open past 8pm - the lines at the south checkpoint for the red eyes have been killer again lately.
planecrazy63 is offline  
Old Oct 21, 12, 6:56 pm
  #852  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, MM, NR; HH Diamond, Bonvoy Titanium, Hyatt Explorist, others
Posts: 11,690
Originally Posted by SuperG1955 View Post
Pre is C only for now.
ITYM "D only".

And it was broken on Friday afternoon.
sethb is offline  
Old Oct 21, 12, 7:02 pm
  #853  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: MSY
Programs: DL PM, LY Silver
Posts: 520
Originally Posted by Blumie View Post
Sorry if this has been asked and answered:
I am no longer a regular DL flyer and do not currently have status.
I have been using pre-check extensively when flying on AA.
I am flying LGA-MSY-LGA next week on DL.
Is pre-check available ex-LGA? [Edited to add: ok, I read enough of this thread to see that pre-check is available ex-LGA!]
I edited my profile at delta.com to add my Global Entry number. Is this all I need to do to be pre-check eligible on DL?
(BTW, I haven't flown DL ex-LGA since they took over the US terminal. Does the LGA-MSY flight always depart from the same terminal, or do I need to check that morning to see which terminal to go to? I feel like such a newbie!!)
I don't know about LGA, but they appear to be working on the PreCheck entry at Concourse D at MSY. Perhaps, it will be up by the time you return.
GMill is offline  
Old Oct 22, 12, 8:24 am
  #854  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ATL
Programs: DL-PM, SPG-Gold; HH-Dia
Posts: 41
PIT precheck line

Flew out of PIT for the first time since the summer, and the TSA situation is just fuglier and fuglier...that would now be because of the TSA pre-check present at main security.

alternate security now how has fixed "rush hour" open times, and precheck has it's own line. So the script is you can walk up to the empty precheck line...if you don't get the beep-beep-beep you can cut the entire sky priority/first line.

Data point: my first time through last week saw the pre-check and didn't get my hopes up, just because PIT is the most retarded airport on the ground. I'm GE and DL GM, but randomizer denied me lol. was flying PIT-MSP-NRT and asked the obvious "I'm here to explain why everyone is 'cutting the line'" guy if he was certain it wasn't because of my int'l itinerary and he confirmed what I expected to hear it could clear for my domestic leg to MSP.

Anyway glad its @PIT now but GE is almost as bad as the SkyClub now @JFK (NRT-JFK-PIT).

So for PIT: I'm 0 for 1
LAX I think I'm 1 for 2 but precheck wasn't open one the second attempt.
Don't remember for JFK, LGA, ATL I dont think remember if its at S. Security checkpoint

Last edited by rayjr13; Oct 22, 12 at 8:40 am
rayjr13 is offline  
Old Oct 22, 12, 9:36 am
  #855  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: I don't know
Programs: Marriott Ambassador, UA Premier
Posts: 14,421
Originally Posted by rayjr13 View Post
Data point: my first time through last week saw the pre-check and didn't get my hopes up, just because PIT is the most retarded airport on the ground. I'm GE and DL GM, but randomizer denied me lol. was flying PIT-MSP-NRT and asked the obvious "I'm here to explain why everyone is 'cutting the line'" guy if he was certain it wasn't because of my int'l itinerary and he confirmed what I expected to hear it could clear for my domestic leg to MSP.
Not exactly clear from your post, but if you have an international leg on your PNR, you should not get PreCheck. Doesn't matter if your first leg is domestic.
mersk862 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: