Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

The Definitive "Delta - TSA Pre-Check" thread

The Definitive "Delta - TSA Pre-Check" thread

Old Sep 17, 12, 1:47 pm
  #751  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,407
Here's a hint. When you don't get the three beeps it's not good form to act like a 2 year old denied thier favorite toy and scream at the checker... GROW UP! LOL!

(I saw a man at LAX Friday just have a melt down because he wasn't selected for precheck. It would have been funny if I hadn't been afraid he was going haul off and start hitting folks and I was right behind him!)
Orange County Commuter is offline  
Old Sep 17, 12, 1:54 pm
  #752  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MCO
Programs: DL-DM/1MM, HILTON-DIA, .HYATT-DIA/GLOB , IHG-PLT,HERTZ 5*, NATIONAL ES
Posts: 8,690
Was denied at MCO this morning. Went over to the CLEAR Line. The attendant said they have been seeing a lot of denials lately.
Crazyhotelguy is offline  
Old Sep 17, 12, 5:41 pm
  #753  
FlyerTalk Evangelist & Ambassador: China
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: DEN
Programs: DL DM/MM, UA 1K, AA Exp, HH Dia, WOH Glob, IHG Plat, Marriott Gold, NA EE, Hertz PC
Posts: 17,226
Originally Posted by Crazyhotelguy View Post
Got the dreaded single beep this morning at LAX. I am at about 90%...
Originally Posted by smithsonga View Post
I am about 80% of out ATL.

I flew an award flight to DTW. I got the triple beep on the outgoing in ATL but single beep returning in DTW.

BTW, I flew back from PDX last week and they have precheck but it is in the A-B-C gate security line only. And the D-E line doesnt have a sign until you are all the way to the front. Stupid. (edit: I do see on the TSA site you can see what airports and where in that airport has the precheck. I will use that next time) http://www.tsa.gov/what_we_do/escreening.shtm
Goes to show that this isn't a 100% guarantee.
mnredfox is offline  
Old Sep 17, 12, 6:51 pm
  #754  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 120
Originally Posted by OrangeCountyCommuter View Post
Here's a hint. When you don't get the three beeps it's not good form to act like a 2 year old denied thier favorite toy and scream at the checker... GROW UP! LOL!

(I saw a man at LAX Friday just have a melt down because he wasn't selected for precheck. It would have been funny if I hadn't been afraid he was going haul off and start hitting folks and I was right behind him!)
Seriously. Having a melt down is a sure fire way to get yourself a more vigorous patdown if you skip the scanner, or selected for one even if you don't opt out.

Last time through PDX the agent must have been new because he tried to put me through the PreCheck lane because of my GE card even without the triple-beep. His supervisor stopped him. At least I still got to WTMD.
kreneskyp is offline  
Old Sep 18, 12, 2:57 am
  #755  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Some place in this wonderful world (usually at 39,000 ft in seat 1C)
Programs: CO Gold Elite / NW Gold Elite
Posts: 13,747
Originally Posted by 14940674 View Post
[Bolding Mine]

PHX does have PreCheck, but only for US.
if they have precheck and if he received 3 beeps he./she could have used the Precheck at the other security checkpoint
socrates is offline  
Old Sep 18, 12, 5:53 am
  #756  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NYC, MSY
Programs: DL DM, MM, NEXUS, SC Lifetime, Admirals Club Lifetime, LVC everywhere
Posts: 4,185
Does JFK have Pre for DL.

TSA web site doesn't show it and search of this thread doesn't indicate that it does.
SuperG1955 is offline  
Old Sep 18, 12, 5:28 pm
  #757  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: WAS
Programs: AMEX Platinum, Global Entry, Priority Pass, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold
Posts: 1,593
Originally Posted by SuperG1955 View Post
Does JFK have Pre for DL.

TSA web site doesn't show it and search of this thread doesn't indicate that it does.
No; the only PreCheck at JFK is in T8.
14940674 is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 6:28 am
  #758  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: RDU
Programs: DL DM, HHonors Diamond, Marriott Platinum, etc etc etc
Posts: 2,341
GM and TSA Pre Check

I just made GM and was wondering does delta still send out the email to join TSA Pre Check? If they do how long does it usually take them to do so?
vincentharris is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 7:02 am
  #759  
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,345
Originally Posted by vincentharris View Post
I just made GM and was wondering does delta still send out the email to join TSA Pre Check? If they do how long does it usually take them to do so?
To answer your question...not sure about timing. But, what you might want to try is the next time you're at a PreCheck airport. Just go up to the PreCheck podium and have them scan your BP. I've had some medallions not know if they were eligible or if they had been opted-in and the scan showed them to be in the system and eligible to use PreCheck.
OHDL1 is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 7:25 am
  #760  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: JAX
Programs: DL GM, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 89
Double check your Profile Info.

Make sure that your information on Delta's website on the profile page is accurate. A box at the bottom of the page should also be checked to allow Delta to store our data and pass it on to TSA for PreCheck.
rnlevi is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 7:31 am
  #761  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MKE
Posts: 37
Agree with previous replies. Additionally, I never received an email and am at 100% as a GM.
tony_w is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 7:38 am
  #762  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Florida
Programs: Delta PM, Marriott Plat, National Exec
Posts: 117
Originally Posted by OHDL1 View Post
Just go up to the PreCheck podium and have them scan your BP.
This is new to me as well. So the PreCheck has its own podium? Is there a sign?
Jonas36 is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 7:38 am
  #763  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: RDU
Programs: DL DM, HHonors Diamond, Marriott Platinum, etc etc etc
Posts: 2,341
I know people mention the beeps when they scan. How many beeps means I go to Pre check?
vincentharris is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 7:39 am
  #764  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 3,755
Originally Posted by tony_w View Post
Agree with previous replies. Additionally, I never received an email and am at 100% as a GM.
There is no way to "join" the Pre-Check program. The only thing you can do is if you are a Global Entry customer, you can put your trusted traveler number in your profile.

If you're just a GM/PM/DM, you just have to roll the dice and see if you get the 3 beeps or not - I think it is random.

Being a Global Entry guy, I have had 100% success rate though
FlyAO2 is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 7:49 am
  #765  
LBJ
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 13,290
Originally Posted by FlyAO2 View Post
There is no way to "join" the Pre-Check program. The only thing you can do is if you are a Global Entry customer, you can put your trusted traveler number in your profile.

If you're just a GM/PM/DM, you just have to roll the dice and see if you get the 3 beeps or not - I think it is random.

Being a Global Entry guy, I have had 100% success rate though
Having GE does not guarantee a 100% success rate. Both invited and GE members of Pre-Check may be randomly rejected at times for Pre-Check access. I got GE after being invited in the program, but have never bothered to enter my number. I have 100% success rate on domestic itineraries.

As far as email notification, it seems that DL only sent out notices of the program to invited members who lived in the Atlanta and Detroit areas back when it was initially rolled out in those airports.
LBJ is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: