Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

The Definitive "Delta - TSA Pre-Check" thread

The Definitive "Delta - TSA Pre-Check" thread

Old Sep 14, 12, 1:33 pm
  #736  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: CVG
Programs: DL Diamond 2MM, Starwood Platinum for Life, Hilton Diamond, SAMs club member
Posts: 12
I was 100% since re-entering middle name. Just launched at CVG (home airport) last week and got the dreaded single beep monday am. So 100% on the road. 0/1 at home.
youngda5 is offline  
Old Sep 15, 12, 6:55 am
  #737  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY
Programs: Delta GM, SPG Gold
Posts: 157
Delta TSA Pre-Check

Got PreCheck this morning at LGA and brought my travel companion's luggage through PRE to save time. After bags went through and companion met me airside, got lectured by TSA to never do this again. Oh well
chipahoy82 is offline  
Old Sep 15, 12, 5:35 pm
  #738  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: WAS
Programs: AMEX Platinum, Global Entry, Priority Pass, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold
Posts: 1,593
I had a chance to stop by IAD today, and I found the upcoming PreCheck checkpoint to be quite substantial. The checkpoint is still under construction, but is mostly complete. It is located in the center of the departures level of the Main Terminal, near the Harry's Tap Room. Four baggage screening lines are present, along with three WTMDs, and space for a fourth. There is no AIT in sight. Farther east on that level, between check-in zones 3 and 4, is an information desk about GE and PreCheck. One of the TSOs working at the desk said that the checkpoint would open on 9/25.

We have yet to see how the checkpoint will be staffed and operated, but, from what I have seen today, I must say well done to the TSA and MWAA.
14940674 is offline  
Old Sep 15, 12, 6:52 pm
  #739  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York and Vienna
Programs: PA WorldPass Platinum, AA, DL, LH. GHA Black, SPG and HHonors Gold
Posts: 3,826
Originally Posted by 14940674 View Post
I had a chance to stop by IAD today, and I found the upcoming PreCheck checkpoint to be quite substantial. The checkpoint is still under construction, but is mostly complete. It is located in the center of the departures level of the Main Terminal, near the Harry's Tap Room. Four baggage screening lines are present, along with three WTMDs, and space for a fourth. There is no AIT in sight. Farther east on that level, between check-in zones 3 and 4, is an information desk about GE and PreCheck. One of the TSOs working at the desk said that the checkpoint would open on 9/25.

We have yet to see how the checkpoint will be staffed and operated, but, from what I have seen today, I must say well done to the TSA and MWAA.
So it sounds from your description (thanks by the way) that this is completely separate and we would simply go to this checkpoint (similar to the DTW checkpoint all the way to the left but better, I guess).
jspira is offline  
Old Sep 15, 12, 7:05 pm
  #740  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: WAS
Programs: AMEX Platinum, Global Entry, Priority Pass, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold
Posts: 1,593
Originally Posted by jspira View Post
So it sounds from your description (thanks by the way) that this is completely separate and we would simply go to this checkpoint (similar to the DTW checkpoint all the way to the left but better, I guess).
You are correct. This checkpoint is even on a different floor than the main checkpoint.
14940674 is offline  
Old Sep 15, 12, 9:31 pm
  #741  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Now in SLC
Programs: DL DM 1MM, MR LT Titanium
Posts: 2,971
I was through IAD yesterday and saw the same thing--the PreCheck area will be where the Black Diamond security area was. There is a direct entrance from the baggage claim area, which will be very useful for people coming from hotel/rental car shuttles that aren't checking luggage. And the scanner at the checkpoint I went through beeped 3 times when it scanned by BP as if I was PreCheck approved.
LoganFlyer is online now  
Old Sep 15, 12, 9:50 pm
  #742  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: WAS
Programs: AMEX Platinum, Global Entry, Priority Pass, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold
Posts: 1,593
Originally Posted by LoganFlyer View Post
I was through IAD yesterday and saw the same thing--the PreCheck area will be where the Black Diamond security area was. There is a direct entrance from the baggage claim area, which will be very useful for people coming from hotel/rental car shuttles that aren't checking luggage. And the scanner at the checkpoint I went through beeped 3 times when it scanned by BP as if I was PreCheck approved.
This is not true. The PreCheck checkpoint will be on the Departures level, not on Arrivals. There are no plans for using the area once occupied by the Diamond checkpoint.
14940674 is offline  
Old Sep 15, 12, 11:57 pm
  #743  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MCO
Programs: DL-DM/1MM, HILTON-DIA, .HYATT-DIA/GLOB , IHG-PLT,HERTZ 5*, NATIONAL ES
Posts: 8,690
Got the dreaded single beep this morning at LAX. I am at about 90%...
Crazyhotelguy is offline  
Old Sep 16, 12, 5:50 am
  #744  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 642
Got precheck yesterday at BOS after same-day confirming to the original flight, so I don't think that SDC matters (I was actually concerned I'd get randomly selected for a full screen having SDC'd and based on the way the very nice screener told me I'd qualified for precheck.) Was a little confused because I've signed up for nexus but have not yet had a chance to go for the interview and I'm only silver on DL. Holdover from when I was gold?

For what it's worth, when I travel with husband (plat) and toddler, at MSP they usually send us all through precheck.
kersie is offline  
Old Sep 16, 12, 3:41 pm
  #745  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Some place in this wonderful world (usually at 39,000 ft in seat 1C)
Programs: CO Gold Elite / NW Gold Elite
Posts: 13,747
Originally Posted by kersie View Post
Got precheck yesterday at BOS after same-day confirming to the original flight, so I don't think that SDC matters (I was actually concerned I'd get randomly selected for a full screen having SDC'd and based on the way the very nice screener told me I'd qualified for precheck.) Was a little confused because I've signed up for nexus but have not yet had a chance to go for the interview and I'm only silver on DL. Holdover from when I was gold?

For what it's worth, when I travel with husband (plat) and toddler, at MSP they usually send us all through precheck.
SDC doesn't matter...I repeatedly get the 3 beeps after I SDC
socrates is offline  
Old Sep 16, 12, 3:45 pm
  #746  
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold, Marriott Silver, Starwood Platinum
Posts: 3,656
Tried precheck for the first time in LAX yesterday and loved it!
zsmith2 is offline  
Old Sep 17, 12, 12:57 pm
  #747  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NYC
Programs: DL PM as of 12/8/2016
Posts: 1,858
Last night I flew out of PHX on a red eye and I got the 3 beeps when I scanned by BP at security. Obviously the beeps meant nothing as PHX doesn't have TSA Pre-Check but I thought it was strange that the beeps are there even when Pre-Check doesn't exist. oh well. I wish I'd get pre-check when I can actually use it. It's only happened once out of LGA so far. *shrug*
mridley2 is offline  
Old Sep 17, 12, 1:19 pm
  #748  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: WAS
Programs: AMEX Platinum, Global Entry, Priority Pass, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold
Posts: 1,593
Originally Posted by mridley2 View Post
Last night I flew out of PHX on a red eye and I got the 3 beeps when I scanned by BP at security. Obviously the beeps meant nothing as PHX doesn't have TSA Pre-Check but I thought it was strange that the beeps are there even when Pre-Check doesn't exist. oh well. I wish I'd get pre-check when I can actually use it. It's only happened once out of LGA so far. *shrug*
[Bolding Mine]

PHX does have PreCheck, but only for US.
14940674 is offline  
Old Sep 17, 12, 1:33 pm
  #749  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 70
I am about 80% of out ATL.

I flew an award flight to DTW. I got the triple beep on the outgoing in ATL but single beep returning in DTW.

BTW, I flew back from PDX last week and they have precheck but it is in the A-B-C gate security line only. And the D-E line doesnt have a sign until you are all the way to the front. Stupid. (edit: I do see on the TSA site you can see what airports and where in that airport has the precheck. I will use that next time) http://www.tsa.gov/what_we_do/escreening.shtm
smithsonga is offline  
Old Sep 17, 12, 1:33 pm
  #750  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NYC
Programs: DL PM as of 12/8/2016
Posts: 1,858
Good to know. Though it wasn't in operation yesterday late morning. Airport was pretty slow. Sky Priority security had one person in front of me so it didnt' matter anyway.. Thx
mridley2 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: