Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

The Definitive "Delta - TSA Pre-Check" thread

The Definitive "Delta - TSA Pre-Check" thread

Old Feb 21, 12, 5:59 pm
  #46  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: WAS
Programs: AMEX Platinum, Global Entry, Priority Pass, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold
Posts: 1,593
Originally Posted by Pharaoh View Post
However, for GE, PASSIDs do not need to be in airline profiles. I breezed through precheck in MIA a couple of weeks ago with GE and an ordinary AA boarding pass without any FF on file with AA (and I'm just a peon in their FF program).
How did AA know you were a GE member? Since it wasn't in your profile, did you enter the PASSID when making the booking?
14940674 is offline  
Old Feb 21, 12, 9:46 pm
  #47  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MSP
Programs: Delta PM, Marriott Plat, Hertz Pres
Posts: 3,591
Can someone clarify what the exact 'opt in' process is? I got the email invite saying to fill in personal details in my account profile, which was already filled in. And have flown through a couple airports where the process is already in place, but nothing, is there a way to confirm you have opted in correctly?
xolinlevh is offline  
Old Feb 22, 12, 4:13 pm
  #48  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: CMH and AVL
Programs: Delta DM, Marriott PP and LT PL, National Executive Elite
Posts: 193
Delta TSA Pre-Check

Went through security in SLA this afternoon, they had a Delta TSA Pre-Check line....so of course not know what it was I got in that line...no one in front of me. The TSO checked me in but said I technically was not signed up for Delta Pre-Check and that's can do it on the Delta web site.....can anyone tell me what this is.

Thanks
nabco is offline  
Old Feb 22, 12, 4:14 pm
  #49  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ATL
Programs: Delta DM Reserve; HHonors Diamond; National Executive Elite
Posts: 104
Many topics on this. Google is your friend.

http://www.tsa.gov/what_we_do/escreening.shtm
11psiGSR is offline  
Old Feb 22, 12, 4:16 pm
  #50  
fti
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MN
Programs: Lots of programs, dirt on all of them!
Posts: 11,911
Originally Posted by nabco View Post
Went through security in SLA this afternoon
I seriously doubt the TSA is in Salta, Argentina. Care to try again?

There are several threads about TSA Pre-Check on the DL forum. Here is one:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/delta...-selected.html
fti is offline  
Old Feb 22, 12, 4:22 pm
  #51  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: ATL
Programs: Delta GM, Marriott Platinum, Hertz 5*
Posts: 2,530
Originally Posted by nabco View Post
The TSO checked me in but said I technically was not signed up for Delta Pre-Check and that's can do it on the Delta web site....
If I'm not mistaken, you can NOT sign up on the Delta web site (though you do have to opt-in). If you qualify as an elite medallion then Delta would have sent you an invitation email.

Otherwise, if you want to participate, you have to sign up for one of the DOS programs that pre-screens you with a background check and face-to-face interview (global entry, nexus, sentri).
dcline414 is offline  
Old Feb 22, 12, 4:36 pm
  #52  
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: CVG, DAY, CMH
Programs: DL DM 3MM, HH Diamond, Marriott Plat Elite
Posts: 1,375
The key is to ADD your "Known Traveler Number" to your profile under the Secure Flight Passenger Data section. A Known Traveler Number is a US Government issued unique number related to Global Entry, Nexus, or Sentri.
DL Platinum is offline  
Old Feb 22, 12, 5:08 pm
  #53  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 611
Assume you meant SLC.

And yes, you can "sign up" on the Delta website, but only if you have a known traveller number by virtue of being a Nexus or Global Entry member. You "sign up" on the Delta website by putting said number in your Skymiles profile.
flyerwma is offline  
Old Feb 22, 12, 5:37 pm
  #54  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: CMH and AVL
Programs: Delta DM, Marriott PP and LT PL, National Executive Elite
Posts: 193
Originally Posted by fti View Post
I seriously doubt the TSA is in Salta, Argentina. Care to try again?

There are several threads about TSA Pre-Check on the DL forum. Here is one:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/delta...-selected.html
Sorry..my bad, obviously meant SLC...but WOW quite impressive you knew what SLA was....I'm in awe!!!

Thanks everyone else for the quick response...really appreciate it.
nabco is offline  
Old Feb 22, 12, 6:24 pm
  #55  
LBJ
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 13,290
Originally Posted by flyerwma View Post
Assume you meant SLC.

And yes, you can "sign up" on the Delta website, but only if you have a known traveller number by virtue of being a Nexus or Global Entry member. You "sign up" on the Delta website by putting said number in your Skymiles profile.
As a DM, it's quite possible he was pre-selected by Delta and will not need to enter a Known Traveler Number in his profile. If pre-selected, you just need to enter your name, gender and birthdate in your profile and check the box to allow Delta to share it with TSA. The OP should check his email to see if he's received any correspondence from Delta about it.
LBJ is offline  
Old Feb 22, 12, 7:28 pm
  #56  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Whatever Hotel I'm in
Programs: Delta Gold, Bonvoy Titanium Elite Lifetime
Posts: 451
Originally Posted by LBJ View Post
As a DM, it's quite possible he was pre-selected by Delta and will not need to enter a Known Traveler Number in his profile. If pre-selected, you just need to enter your name, gender and birthdate in your profile and check the box to allow Delta to share it with TSA. The OP should check his email to see if he's received any correspondence from Delta about it.
Thats how I did it as a Plat!
tuono07 is offline  
Old Feb 22, 12, 7:50 pm
  #57  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: ATL
Programs: Delta GM, Marriott Platinum, Hertz 5*
Posts: 2,530
My only complaint is that I was FO when this was rolled out in ATL and didn't get the email from Delta. Since they don't publish what the "elite" threshold is (GM/PM) I never knew id I qualified when I reached GM. Eventually I just paid for global entry rather than try to figure out the qualifications to have Delta submit my name.

Plus I don't know what happens if you reach that threshold after Pre-check is rolled out at your home airport. Eventually DL or the TSA will really need to define these criteria!
dcline414 is offline  
Old Feb 22, 12, 8:58 pm
  #58  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: US
Programs: DL GE
Posts: 1,654
Instead of normally flying through DTW, I will be flying out of DTW to LAS - as a Silver soon.

It has probably been six months since I had enough time to, but I would go outside for a smoke from center A and walk back in from the garage through Sky Priority. I assume everyone is saying this has been moved right above this line upstairs?

As a Silver, will I even have the opportunity to have my pass "scanned" for clearance into this wonderful program? I had received emails from DL last year to "opt-in" and have updated my profile, checked the box, etc...

Would my wife, non-elite on my PNR have this privilege too?
pragakhan is offline  
Old Feb 22, 12, 9:32 pm
  #59  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SDF
Programs: Delta PM, IC Ambassador, Marriott Gold
Posts: 1,195
I've gone through ATL, DTW, and MSP each once since Pre-Check started. I have my Nexus card.

So far I am 0 for 3 on being selected for the Pre-Check line.
SomeGuy is offline  
Old Feb 22, 12, 9:37 pm
  #60  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toledo, OH
Programs: Delta DM & MM, Hilton DM, Marriott gold
Posts: 13,278
Originally Posted by pragakhan View Post
Instead of normally flying through DTW, I will be flying out of DTW to LAS - as a Silver soon.

It has probably been six months since I had enough time to, but I would go outside for a smoke from center A and walk back in from the garage through Sky Priority. I assume everyone is saying this has been moved right above this line upstairs?

As a Silver, will I even have the opportunity to have my pass "scanned" for clearance into this wonderful program? I had received emails from DL last year to "opt-in" and have updated my profile, checked the box, etc...

Would my wife, non-elite on my PNR have this privilege too?
Not sure how it would work out of DTW as an FO if you aren't upgraded before going through security or for a non-elite since you wouldn't have access to the Sky Priority security line. At DTW anyway, there isn't a different line for people for the trusted traveller program. That screening machine and x-ray is the far left lane and is off to the side and you go through the sky priority lane to get there so not sure how that works if you don't have access to the Sky Priority security line (and ever since they closed the Sky Priority line downstairs they have been very strict about enforcing the line upstairs)
jamesteroh is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: