Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

The Definitive "Delta - TSA Pre-Check" thread

The Definitive "Delta - TSA Pre-Check" thread

Old Apr 29, 12, 1:45 pm
  #211  
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta & San Francisco
Programs: DL 2MM DM & My Wife is a DL 3MM DM
Posts: 2,776
Originally Posted by meballard View Post
Checking a bag doesn't seem to make any difference, and I would be very surprised if it did considering you can decide to check a bag after you print your BP.

Random is random, and could result in either way in anytime, of course depending on if there are variables that factor into their random.
We check bags all the time, and that has never been an impediment, so don't have that as a concern.

The thing I would recommend is that 96 hours before each itinerary is set to start, go into your reservation and make sure the information is correct (including your GE number--if you have one) under the "Provide TSA Secure Fight Information" link (just below and to the right of where your seat assignments are shown). I say 96 hours (4 days) because you can't view it within 72 hours--it's already been sent to the TSA. We have found problems where, for some reason, it isn't absolutely correct on a specific reservation. Also, twice Delta's system has dumped my wife's TSA info from her profile, and it happened once to me. We added it back, and check regularly, but also check each reservation (as just stated), right before the info goes to the TSA. Not sure why the system has these hiccups, but that could affect one on any specific trip. And, of course, it could just be the random thing.

Last edited by atl runner; Apr 29, 12 at 1:51 pm
atl runner is offline  
Old Apr 29, 12, 2:43 pm
  #212  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Indianapolis, IN USA
Posts: 1,975
Just experienced it at MSP for the first time (the weird thing is I haven't put anything into my profile for TSA Pre-Check - but went to the Sky Priority checkin and then headed to the TSA line which turned out to be TSA Pre-check (?)).

1. Already had laptop out - TSA layd says you don't need to take it out (start crying with joy);

2. TSA lady says keep shoes and jacket on (again more tears of joy).
bowdenj is offline  
Old Apr 29, 12, 3:34 pm
  #213  
LBJ
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 13,290
Originally Posted by bowdenj View Post
Just experienced it at MSP for the first time (the weird thing is I haven't put anything into my profile for TSA Pre-Check - but went to the Sky Priority checkin and then headed to the TSA line which turned out to be TSA Pre-check (?)).
It is the "Secure Flight Passenger Data" section of your profile. Are you sure you did not fill this in?
LBJ is offline  
Old Apr 30, 12, 12:00 am
  #214  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: LAX
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 31
Just went through the TSA precheck at LAX yesterday.. awesome.. No line and was through within 1 minute.. The regular lines looked to be 20+ minute long.

Finally a program that makes sense..
Jimbo7 is offline  
Old Apr 30, 12, 9:48 am
  #215  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Indianapolis, IN USA
Posts: 1,975
Originally Posted by LBJ View Post
It is the "Secure Flight Passenger Data" section of your profile. Are you sure you did not fill this in?
I did fill it out - but didn't include anything in these two boxes:


If you have a TSA-issued Redress Number or Known Traveler Number
Redress Number Known Traveler Number
bowdenj is offline  
Old Apr 30, 12, 11:03 am
  #216  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: AS MVP, PriorityPass, Global Entry
Posts: 748
Originally Posted by bowdenj View Post
I did fill it out - but didn't include anything in these two boxes:


If you have a TSA-issued Redress Number or Known Traveler Number
Redress Number Known Traveler Number
If you were invited by Delta, you don't need to fill anything into those fields, you just needed to accept the invitation at some point.
meballard is offline  
Old Apr 30, 12, 11:17 am
  #217  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: ATL
Programs: Delta GM, Marriott Platinum, Hertz 5*
Posts: 2,530
Originally Posted by tonypct View Post
Nah. I just filled out all the requests for confidential information, submitted my credit card number to pay the $100 fee and then sat back and waited.
This sounds like a GE application... I believe the other CBP programs are cheaper.

I also completed the GE application, as I will (rarely) use the global benefits, but would likely never benefit from the other programs that participate in the pre-check program.

Also, as an ATL-based GM, I was NEVER selected for pre-check. I reached GM after the program was rolled out in ATL, so perhaps that is why. I have yet to hear of any ATL-based GMs being invited to participate though.

I suspect (but can't confirm) that ATL only invites PM/DM to participate, though other airports may include GM as well.
dcline414 is offline  
Old Apr 30, 12, 11:21 am
  #218  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: AS MVP, PriorityPass, Global Entry
Posts: 748
Originally Posted by dcline414 View Post
This sounds like a GE application... I believe the other CBP programs are cheaper.
NEXUS is cheaper, but the interview has to be done in either the north end of the US or in Canada (combined US/Canada interview). SENTRI is more expensive, and is generally done closer to Mexico.

$100 would be Global Entry.
meballard is offline  
Old Apr 30, 12, 11:47 am
  #219  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, MM, NR; HH Diamond, Bonvoy Titanium, Hyatt Explorist, others
Posts: 11,697
Originally Posted by bowdenj View Post
I did fill it out - but didn't include anything in these two boxes:


If you have a TSA-issued Redress Number or Known Traveler Number
Redress Number Known Traveler Number
Did you check the box saying it's OK to store your info?
sethb is offline  
Old Apr 30, 12, 12:00 pm
  #220  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Washington, D.C.
Programs: UA Premier 1K: PlAAtinum; DL SM, MM; Marriott Gold; CO Plat Emeritus; NW Plat Emeritus
Posts: 4,619
Just had it for the first time at DCA -- ID agent said if you want you can go there. It was GREAT!

Not sure how it happened; I signed up with UA but not DL, which I rarely fly anymore. Someone put 2+2 together somehow?
Alpha Golf is offline  
Old Apr 30, 12, 12:04 pm
  #221  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: ATL
Programs: Delta GM, Marriott Platinum, Hertz 5*
Posts: 2,530
Originally Posted by meballard View Post
NEXUS is cheaper, but the interview has to be done in either the north end of the US or in Canada (combined US/Canada interview). SENTRI is more expensive, and is generally done closer to Mexico.

$100 would be Global Entry.
Thanks for correcting me... I only glanced through the info and quickly realized that GE was the only program that could offer me meaningful benefits beyond TSA pre-check access.
dcline414 is offline  
Old Apr 30, 12, 1:28 pm
  #222  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Indianapolis, IN USA
Posts: 1,975
Originally Posted by sethb View Post
Did you check the box saying it's OK to store your info?
I did store the information (i.e.name / DOB).

Is there any indicator on a boarding pass that TSA checkpoint ID checker verifies before letting you into Pre-Check TSA?
bowdenj is offline  
Old Apr 30, 12, 1:33 pm
  #223  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, MM, NR; HH Diamond, Bonvoy Titanium, Hyatt Explorist, others
Posts: 11,697
Originally Posted by bowdenj View Post
I did store the information (i.e.name / DOB).

Is there any indicator on a boarding pass that TSA checkpoint ID checker verifies before letting you into Pre-Check TSA?
Intentionally, nothing observable. (There might be something indicating Pre membership, but it's still up to the computer whether to let you in Pre this time.)
sethb is offline  
Old Apr 30, 12, 2:49 pm
  #224  
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,621
Pre-Check

Originally Posted by nabco View Post
Went through security in SLA this afternoon, they had a Delta TSA Pre-Check line....so of course not know what it was I got in that line...no one in front of me. The TSO checked me in but said I technically was not signed up for Delta Pre-Check and that's can do it on the Delta web site.....can anyone tell me what this is.

Thanks
Holy Cow, do I love this. I was out on DL at DCA twice last week and did this. They seem to do it from the premium line only and they scan my boarding pass. I think that told them I was a DL and 3MM and, well, rather old from my looks and hair. Just put the bags on the line for a scan, no laptop or liquids out. No coat off, keep things in your pockets. Woo Hoo. I'm lovin' it.
DaddyRabbit is offline  
Old May 1, 12, 8:09 am
  #225  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Programs: DL PM MM, WN A-List, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 959
I loved TSA precheck, but my last three flights I was "randomly" selected to not use the lane. I not so sure it's random. I emailed TSA to see if something might have happened. It sucks at SLC when you're not selected because the elite line takes longer than the regular line the way TSA has it set up now, and they funnel you in with the masses who are slow getting through the lines. I want my precheck back!!!
DLmedalliongold is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: