Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

The Definitive "Delta - TSA Pre-Check" thread

The Definitive "Delta - TSA Pre-Check" thread

Old Apr 13, 12, 1:48 am
  #166  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: TUS/PDX
Programs: WN CP/A-List, AS MVPG75K
Posts: 5,779
Apparently Pre-Check is up and running at LaGarbage...TSA press release is here

By the way, last week when I passed through LAX, the folks at the SC were very excited to tell me that April 24 Pre-Check would be up and running at T5. Not sure how accurate that is, of course...
tusphotog is offline  
Old Apr 13, 12, 10:30 am
  #167  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Northeast US
Programs: DL-PM, 1MM; HH-Gold; Avis First
Posts: 379
Originally Posted by atl runner View Post
There are three lines at the South checkpoint. The Pre-Check, an elite line to the left of the pre-check (it's in the middle), and a general one to the right. If you aren't in Pre-Check, then you are directed to one of the other two, depending on your status.
Is the line on the left solely for SkyPriority? Several other DMs and I were directed to the right side Monday around 815am and it was much longer than the left side.

If that's the case and I'm not selected for Pre-Check, I'm gonna head directly to the left.
FrontRow is offline  
Old Apr 13, 12, 11:45 am
  #168  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NYC
Programs: Delta DM, SPG Plat 100 (LT Gold), IHG Spire, Hyatt Diamond, HH Gold, National EE, Hertz Prez Circle
Posts: 470
Originally Posted by tusphotog View Post
Apparently Pre-Check is up and running at LaGarbage...TSA press release is here

By the way, last week when I passed through LAX, the folks at the SC were very excited to tell me that April 24 Pre-Check would be up and running at T5. Not sure how accurate that is, of course...
Unfortunately this isn't available at the Marine Air Terminal - TSA agent laughed at me yesterday when I asked, and pointed at the available space where the screening line began, and said there just wasn't enough room to put a separate line. Also, while at the LGA DO in March, I believe the Delta folks we met with said that Pre-Check wasn't going to be available in Terminal C for a few months at least.

Then again, at least that's better than JFK where yet another TSA agent laughed at me last month when I asked when Pre-Check would be coming to T2, and he pointed out how much of a piece of sh*t T2 was, and the available space.

At least I'm keeping the agents amused...
landeej is offline  
Old Apr 13, 12, 11:56 am
  #169  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Minneapolis and Phoenix-2 weeks per month each
Programs: Delta DM, MM
Posts: 414
The pre-check is still a pain for those with knee replacements. Although the Federal Government says my husband is not a risk, TSA says otherwise and he still has to undergo the full pat down. Moral of the story, if you are bionic, don't bother as your path is still faster with a body scanner.
FC flyer is offline  
Old Apr 13, 12, 4:42 pm
  #170  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SFO / JFK
Programs: Variety of rectangular cards with my name on it
Posts: 659
Originally Posted by landeej View Post
Unfortunately this isn't available at the Marine Air Terminal - TSA agent laughed at me yesterday when I asked, and pointed at the available space where the screening line began, and said there just wasn't enough room to put a separate line. Also, while at the LGA DO in March, I believe the Delta folks we met with said that Pre-Check wasn't going to be available in Terminal C for a few months at least.

Then again, at least that's better than JFK where yet another TSA agent laughed at me last month when I asked when Pre-Check would be coming to T2, and he pointed out how much of a piece of sh*t T2 was, and the available space.

At least I'm keeping the agents amused...
Easter weekend I went through LGA headed to MCO and a TSA agent pulled me aside from the SkyPriority line. He gave me a slip and told me this was the TSA PreCheck. Keep your shoes and jacket on and just empty your pockets. Laptop did not need to go in a bin and I just put everything through the machine. There were other SP and medallion members behind me in the SP security line as well, but they were not pulled aside like I was for the TSA PreCheck (this was the day before Easter). There was no one in the TSA Precheck area nor anyone that entered behind me. It was literally my own security checkpoint.

I did not know how I was selected nor where on my BP that said I qualified for it. It took like 2 minutes for me through security and all the other kettles and medallions took long to get through the line (holiday weekend). Then I went around the whole security area to go right to the sky club. 10 minutes later the diamond couple behind me finally entered the empty SC.

It's there in the Delta terminal, you just have to be selected I think. If you want, I can even upload the TSA PreCheck list they gave me.
KissFlyGoodbye is offline  
Old Apr 13, 12, 5:51 pm
  #171  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: AS MVP, PriorityPass, Global Entry
Posts: 748
Originally Posted by sbjnyc View Post
I flew NRT-MSP a few days ago. Went through customs using GE, picked up my bag (didn't recheck it as I wanted to change flights) but I didn't see a way to bypass TSA security. Flights into NY area were delayed anyway.
You can never bypass TSA security if going back into a secure area after passing through customs and immigration, at best you get accelerated entry, but you still have to go through security.
meballard is offline  
Old Apr 13, 12, 6:10 pm
  #172  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Enn Why Cee
Programs: DL, CO, LH, BA etc...
Posts: 1,557
I thoroughly enjoyed my precheck experience at LGA today. It worked for me even after SDC - and it took all of 30 seconds to walk through. it was amazing. I was dropped off at the curb at 9:38 for a 10:02 flight and was at the gate with 15 minutes to spare
goodandclassy is offline  
Old Apr 13, 12, 6:40 pm
  #173  
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta & San Francisco
Programs: DL 2MM DM & My Wife is a DL 3MM DM
Posts: 2,776
Originally Posted by FrontRow View Post
Is the line on the left solely for SkyPriority? Several other DMs and I were directed to the right side Monday around 815am and it was much longer than the left side.

If that's the case and I'm not selected for Pre-Check, I'm gonna head directly to the left.
I think (thought) so, but not sure why you wouldn't have been sent there. I've had pretty good luck with Pre-Check (touch wood), so that's my general sense, without being able to stake my life on it.
atl runner is offline  
Old Apr 13, 12, 7:38 pm
  #174  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NYC
Programs: Delta DM, SPG Plat 100 (LT Gold), IHG Spire, Hyatt Diamond, HH Gold, National EE, Hertz Prez Circle
Posts: 470
Originally Posted by goodandclassy View Post
I thoroughly enjoyed my precheck experience at LGA today. It worked for me even after SDC - and it took all of 30 seconds to walk through. it was amazing. I was dropped off at the curb at 9:38 for a 10:02 flight and was at the gate with 15 minutes to spare
Was this in the "old" Delta terminal or the new one?
landeej is offline  
Old Apr 13, 12, 7:47 pm
  #175  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: JFK/LGA/EWR
Posts: 1,262
Originally Posted by meballard View Post
You can never bypass TSA security if going back into a secure area after passing through customs and immigration, at best you get accelerated entry, but you still have to go through security.
I misspoke and didn't expect to actually bypass security. But I didn't see a separate security line for global entry passengers. I'd like to know if I just missed it or if there is none in MSP.
sbjnyc is offline  
Old Apr 13, 12, 8:06 pm
  #176  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Enn Why Cee
Programs: DL, CO, LH, BA etc...
Posts: 1,557
Originally Posted by landeej View Post
Was this in the "old" Delta terminal or the new one?
The old - it's the same line as sky priority - you just turn right if selected

i believe they are bringing pre-check to terminal C once the remodel completes in July or so...
goodandclassy is offline  
Old Apr 13, 12, 8:48 pm
  #177  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MSP
Programs: AA EXP, DL PM (FO soon), A3 Gold, TK Classic Plus, SPG Plat, HH Gold, Hyatt Diamond, National EE
Posts: 1,003
Originally Posted by goodandclassy View Post
The old - it's the same line as sky priority - you just turn right if selected

i believe they are bringing pre-check to terminal C once the remodel completes in July or so...
How does this work for non-sky priority people (or non-DL people, since TSA's website says precheck is rolled out for both DL and AA at MSP)?

I haven't flown too much the last month, so need to get back up to speed. Last I saw there was a precheck sign at the beginning of the sky priority lane, but the checker who was clearing people for precheck was near the front of the line and well past the DL gatekeeper. My wife will be flying without me as a non-status pax but with global entry, so curious what she needs to do.
mattsteg is offline  
Old Apr 13, 12, 9:28 pm
  #178  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NYC
Programs: Delta DM, SPG Plat 100 (LT Gold), IHG Spire, Hyatt Diamond, HH Gold, National EE, Hertz Prez Circle
Posts: 470
Originally Posted by mattsteg View Post
How does this work for non-sky priority people (or non-DL people, since TSA's website says precheck is rolled out for both DL and AA at MSP)?

I haven't flown too much the last month, so need to get back up to speed. Last I saw there was a precheck sign at the beginning of the sky priority lane, but the checker who was clearing people for precheck was near the front of the line and well past the DL gatekeeper. My wife will be flying without me as a non-status pax but with global entry, so curious what she needs to do.
Has she updated her profile on the airline in question with her GE ID number (found on the GOES site) in the "Known Traveler" field (Delta) or "Customs and Border Protection ID" (AA)?
landeej is offline  
Old Apr 13, 12, 9:31 pm
  #179  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: WAS
Programs: AMEX Platinum, Global Entry, Priority Pass, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold
Posts: 1,593
Originally Posted by mattsteg View Post
How does this work for non-sky priority people (or non-DL people, since TSA's website says precheck is rolled out for both DL and AA at MSP)?
Usually it is sufficient to tell the gatekeeper that you are PreCheck eligible. If they don't play along, your wife can show her GE card.
14940674 is offline  
Old Apr 14, 12, 10:41 am
  #180  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MSP
Programs: AA EXP, DL PM (FO soon), A3 Gold, TK Classic Plus, SPG Plat, HH Gold, Hyatt Diamond, National EE
Posts: 1,003
Originally Posted by landeej View Post
Has she updated her profile on the airline in question with her GE ID number (found on the GOES site) in the "Known Traveler" field (Delta) or "Customs and Border Protection ID" (AA)?
Yes, everything is entered.

Originally Posted by 14940674 View Post
Usually it is sufficient to tell the gatekeeper that you are PreCheck eligible. If they don't play along, your wife can show her GE card.
She applied for GE before the card existed and has not bothered getting it yet. All she has is a CBP sticker on her passport, and the data entered into dl.com. This seems like the way to go, but I'm quite curious how it works out in practice.
mattsteg is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: