have all 737-800s been upgraded to AVOD?

Old May 20, 11, 5:45 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DEN
Programs: DL PM, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Plat, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,816
have all 737-800s been upgraded to AVOD?

looking at DL987 on 6/28 PHL-SLC. all delta.com says is 737-800 doesnt show it as a Y or H bird...have they all been upgraded to AVOD? and if not how do i tell what this flight will have? if no avod, i plan on booking a different connection.
apolloms is offline  
Old May 20, 11, 6:10 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Programs: CRJ-200 Detester Club Diamond, :rolleyes: Platinum
Posts: 1,597
Antecdotal data point, but I have been on three 738s this year without AVOD, as recently as late March.
akonradi is offline  
Old May 20, 11, 6:29 pm
  #3  
A4K
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Programs: N/A
Posts: 590
Originally Posted by ianturner View Post
looking at DL987 on 6/28 PHL-SLC. all delta.com says is 737-800 doesnt show it as a Y or H bird...have they all been upgraded to AVOD? and if not how do i tell what this flight will have? if no avod, i plan on booking a different connection.
All of the 737 have not been fitted with AVOD. Honestly on the 737 it is hit or miss even when Delta.com tells you that AVOD is available.

I do not have any insight as to when or if all of them will be done though.

I would say over the past year I am only batting 75% of Delta.com being correct. It has also gone the opposite way for me once or twice though - dl.com said no AVOD and I got it.
A4K is offline  
Old May 20, 11, 6:31 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NYC & SEA
Programs: DL PM, SkyClub, CO, AA, Hilton Gold, SPG Gold, Marriott Silver
Posts: 125
When they are listed as having AVOD (and show up with it), would this include a power port of some kind?

I usually avoid the 737 for something else...
NYCsoundguy is offline  
Old May 20, 11, 6:36 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Programs: Delta SkyMiles, WF GoFar Rewards, AAdvantage
Posts: 1,601
Originally Posted by NYCsoundguy View Post
When they are listed as having AVOD (and show up with it), would this include a power port of some kind?

I usually avoid the 737 for something else...
No, power ports are only in F.
Delta 764 is offline  
Old May 20, 11, 6:51 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Programs: DL 1 million, AA 1 mil, HH lapsed Diamond, Marriott Plat
Posts: 28,174
Originally Posted by NYCsoundguy View Post
When they are listed as having AVOD (and show up with it), would this include a power port of some kind?

I usually avoid the 737 for something else...
If by 'some kind' you accept USB power, then yes, 737s with AVOD should have USB ports.

http://www.delta.com/traveling_check...ucts/power.jsp
3Cforme is offline  
Old May 20, 11, 7:03 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: LEX
Programs: DL Gold, HH Gold
Posts: 115
On one last week - LAS/CVG - no AVOD
lexman is offline  
Old May 20, 11, 7:07 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: On the road somewhere
Programs: DL, National, Marriott, Hilton
Posts: 4,233
Wikipedia says that 30 out of the 73 have them.

It's just a matter of what shows up at the gate (all 73 have winglets now so you can't tell by that anymore. It used to be wingleted a/c had AVOD.)
N639DL is offline  
Old May 20, 11, 8:24 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DEN
Programs: DL PM, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Plat, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,816
so should I go with a different connection and pay 365 x 2 for a U fare and hope for the companion upgrade to go through, or 440 x 2 for the Q fare and use PMUs and hope that we get the AVOD bird?
apolloms is offline  
Old May 20, 11, 8:33 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CHI/MIA/GYE
Programs: DL DM, UA 1K, AA EXP
Posts: 2,240
Pretty sure ATL-GYE tonight is going to have a 738 with no AVOD......absolutely absurd for a 5.5 hour international flight. DL chooses to fly 73Hs on domestic 45 minute-1.5 hour runs way too much. Pretty sad!
GYEWorldTraveler is offline  
Old May 20, 11, 8:40 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NYC & SEA
Programs: DL PM, SkyClub, CO, AA, Hilton Gold, SPG Gold, Marriott Silver
Posts: 125
Originally Posted by 3Cforme View Post
If by 'some kind' you accept USB power, then yes, 737s with AVOD should have USB ports.

http://www.delta.com/traveling_check...ucts/power.jsp
Don't really accept, but will take.

And was talking about F as well.
NYCsoundguy is offline  
Old May 20, 11, 9:17 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Programs: Delta PM/MM, Hertz Platinum
Posts: 1,811
"737" or "738" means a 737-800 with no AVOD.

"73H" means a 737-800 with AVOD.
"73W" means a 737-700 with AVOD.
orlandodlplat is offline  
Old May 20, 11, 9:42 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Detroit
Programs: Northwest Platinum
Posts: 1,533
As stated earlier, even when Delta.com says a flight will have AVOD, its no guarantee. Delta has shown AVOD on several of my flights to and from San Francisco, but I have yet to actually have it on those flights.
sany2 is offline  
Old May 20, 11, 11:50 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Panama City Beach, FL (ECP)
Programs: Delta Platinum Medallion, SPG Gold, Hilton Diamond, Avis First
Posts: 773
Monday - Flight on 738 indicated that it had AVOD on my itineraries page, but did not have it.
Wednesday - Flight on 738 indicated that it did not have AVOD on my itineraries page, but did have it.

So, there's still a few out there without the upgrade...
Berto is offline  
Old May 21, 11, 9:30 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: BDL
Programs: DL Gold
Posts: 247
It's a hit or miss. Fly between SEA-JFK and they use mostly 738 and often says there is AVOD when selecting flight and once I board... and I don't see AVOD on seatback- I'm not a happy traveler!
jeromyers is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread