Lounges: Now vs 10 years ago

Old May 4, 10, 7:56 am
Original Poster

Lounges: Now vs 10 years ago

Hey guys,
Since I am rather new to the lounges, been here for a while but never had enough for status, what would you say has changed in the lounges between now and 10 years ago?

I just wonder what have those of us have missed or rather not missed? Has there been better/more food? More/less booze?

Just wanted to hear your opinions on the matter : )
Old May 4, 10, 8:01 am

Programs: DL 2+ million/PM, YX, Marriott Plt, *wood gold, HHonors, CO Plt, UA, AA EXP, WN, AGR
Nothing. In many cases, not even the furniture.

Seriously (well, I was serious about the furniture), there's a bit more in the way of snacks, but not much. Many of the lounges are the same as they were back then. The Biz Class lounges have gone away, folded into the (now) SkyClubs.
Old May 4, 10, 8:03 am

Programs: DL PM UA PSilver Marriott Lifetime Plat, AMEX Platinum, Avis PC, UA MPPPlus
There's less booze and good food, but more travellers using the lounges.

I recall there being more of a professional business and First Class lounge kind of atmosphere inthe past, and now it's often just as casual and kid cluttered as the terminal gate areas at times.
Old May 4, 10, 8:21 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Formaldehyde Medallion DL DieMiles
... and there are fewer of them.

... and it costs you more to get less.

... and membership is no longer free for Plats (admittedly, free for Diamond, which is the new Platinum)
Old May 4, 10, 8:57 am

Programs: DL SkyMiles, MR, HH, ICH/PC, Avis Pref., Hertz Gold
Ten years ago there was less automation in the ticketing process so the lounge agents were really useful and _really_ good. These were the "old Delta" people and only the best got to work in the Crown Room.

The snacks were much worse than today.