Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

How does this "bump/overbooking" process work?

Old Feb 23, 10, 3:15 am
Original Poster

Programs: DL Skymiles

I am scheduled to fly to San Diego on March 04, out of Atlanta on flight 1039. It leaves at 8:20 am. I went to check on my seats and is showing that there are no available seats which tells me that they are booked, and/or overbooked. It turns out that I am pretty flexible with my schedule, and would be more than happy to give up my seat if I can get a later flight the same day. How would I go about doing this, and what should I expect in return? Should I mention this at the gate, or at the ticket counter? I am new to all of this, but any help would be great. Thanks.
Old Feb 23, 10, 3:28 am

Programs: Delta PM, Alaska
It doesn't necessarily mean that all the seats are taken. That's happened to me a few times, and when I got to the airport I discovered there were a lot of seats; they had just blocked them online for some reason. (Probably other FT-ers will have more of a clue why they do this.)

Ask at the ticket counter if the flight actually is overbooked. If it is, be first in line when the gate agent arrives. Ask if they are looking for volunteers, and if so, what the compensation is. They may take your name, or maybe your boarding pass, in case your seat is needed. You'll probably have to wait until everyone is boarded, so if they end up not needing your seat, you risk not having any space in the overhead bins; but that's part of the gamble.