FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Credit Card Programs (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/credit-card-programs-599/)
-   -   How good is the Travelocity credit card? [Originally Mastercard, now Amex] (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/credit-card-programs/978593-how-good-travelocity-credit-card-originally-mastercard-now-amex.html)

AUDirt Mar 23, 12 10:39 am

Originally Posted by maulah (Post 18254523)
Question is why are they doing this? If the benefits are too much or they cannot handle it, then they can terminate the program or introduce some "enhancements". Who is stopping them.

I don't understand it either.

As a software engineer by trade, I can see where making the worldwide Travelocity site talk with Barclay's systems would be kind of tricky and prone to errors.

What I don't understand is why they can't just give us, the Travelocity cardholders, a special portal.

If anyone here has used the USBank FlexPerks portal, you know that you log in through the USBank website and, after a couple of clicks, you are presented with a customized version of the Travelocity booking site. It looks a little different but it is obviously Travelocity "under the hood." AMEX appears to use a very similar arrangement (again with Travelocity) on their MR booking site.

I simply don't understand why Barclay's can't do something like this. Heck, at least 50% of the code has probably already been written.

coloradodude Mar 23, 12 1:04 pm

FYI- Just booked 5 nights for $1300 at a hotel with IE browser. Worked fine... 60,000 points came out same day, next day the $1200 amount was credited to my account. I have a negative amount now.

Dollar Transaction amount for $1300 hasn't even posted yet... as it is still under pending.

I plan on using my points mainly for hotels.

paramount Mar 23, 12 1:13 pm

Originally Posted by coloradodude (Post 18258895)