HHonors Amex 3/$ vs. 5/$

Old Dec 18, 07, 7:15 am
Original Poster

Programs: DL, Hilton, SPG, National
HHonors Amex 3/$ vs. 5/$

I've been using the Amex Hhonors card for a couple of years. I've searched in the various fora and have not found any information about the Everyday Spend:

Does anyone know if Amex ever indicates which purchases are earning the everyday spend bonus and which aren't? I know the basic criteria, but the statement simply lumps them all together and says the number of points.

Is there any way to check to be sure they are awarding the correct amounts?

Has anyone ever spoken with Amex about this?
Old Dec 18, 07, 12:11 pm
mia
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Moderator: American Express, Citi, Diners Club, Signatures

Programs: AA & Marriott Perpetual Platinum; HH Gold
Originally Posted by paterwdb View Post
Calculate the exact amount of points you expect to receive and compare it to the amount you actually receive? If there is a discrepancy it will most often be due to an incorrect merchant classification, and in my experience American Express will take no responsibility for altering this. You can see the calssifications by looking at your statement online and viewing the details of specific transactions.
Old Dec 18, 07, 12:16 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by mia View Post
Calculate the exact amount of points you expect to receive and compare it to the amount you actually receive?

I guess that is the problem. There would be no way to calculate it other than to literally go through and add up all purchases which *should* be in everyday spend and those which are not...

It seems to me that Amex should find a way to at least give a breakdown on the statement.
Old Dec 18, 07, 1:39 pm
mia
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Moderator: American Express, Citi, Diners Club, Signatures

Programs: AA & Marriott Perpetual Platinum; HH Gold
add up all purchases which *should* be in everyday spend and those which are not...